Customer Reviews for

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My son loves this book

This is a good book for kids who like Roald Dahl, and especially for this time of year when we are always running around because it has short stories so he can read small sections -- good for his reading log every night for homework.

posted by mbdono on December 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Stories, however

This book has six stories and all are very good and entertaining. The last story I am unsure is meant for children. In my own personal opinion the last story, A Piece Of Cake, teeters on the edge. I recommend this book of stories but I also suggest parents of a young re...
This book has six stories and all are very good and entertaining. The last story I am unsure is meant for children. In my own personal opinion the last story, A Piece Of Cake, teeters on the edge. I recommend this book of stories but I also suggest parents of a young reader read the book first.

posted by Anonymous on October 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    I Want to Be Henry Sugar

    The story of Henry Sugar feels different from many of Dahl's more popular works, like Matilda and James & the Giant Peach, but it's feeling of being set in the 'real' world does not detract from the sense of magic that Dahl gives all his work. These stories were touching and amazing, so much so that I want to believe they're true. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Dahl's other works. However, if you want to read something else in the vein of the aforementioned Matilda et. al., I would not say this is the one to go for. But it is an excellent, EXCELLENT book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Best book ever LOVE Roald Dahl is a must read!!

    You should so read this book it has so many wonderful charaters, they are so good love all of Roald Dahl he has so many amzing books!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Long Live Roald!

    This book is delightful! A must read for any Roald Dahl fan. I especially enjoyed the hitchhiker and of course, Henry Sugar. Go read it now, ok?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    SOUNDS GOOD

    This book sounds good but why are rewiws 9-13 adult rewiews? Shouldn't we want to know what OTHER children think of this book? HUH? P.S. I put 5 stars even though I have not read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed this book i read all the roald dahl books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2001

    On my top ten list of books

    The Wonderful story of Henry Sugar is one of the best collection of children's short stories out there. In fact, it's one of the best collections of short stories, period. 'The Swan' is particularly memberable as a touching portrait of the struggle of man against beast, a story that is both beautiful and humorous as it is maddening and sad. A treasure for any Dahl fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Absiloutely amazing

    MiCHELLE OBAMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    How many books HAS he written?

    I mean........wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Also i was the kid who wrote the one before this

    Yup

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I like it so much!!!

    I wish i could i could see without my eyes open lets start training

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Ft

    Best book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Good

    elephant tiraffe jagura gorilla

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Funny U Fantastic

    There is a friut called stinking toe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1