Customer Reviews for

Wonderland Creek

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding!

    What an outstanding book! Probably near the top of list...if there were more than 5 stars this story would rate that.
    Alice Ripley is 22 years old and lives with her Mother and Pastor father in Blue Island, IL. When the story begins her boyfriend Gordon has just broken up with her and the ongoing Depression of the time, has caused her loss of employment. She had worked as a Librarian and had been collecting books for a poor mine town in KY. When she finds out that her Aunt and Uncle will be traveling on their next vacation through Kentucky, she brazenly asks to go along. She wants to spend the 2 weeks in KY helping that towns library, and her Aunt and Uncle will go to their spa and pick her up on their return.
    When she arrives in Acorn, KY...she has a rude awakening. The Librarian Leslie MacDougal is definitely not what she was expecting! Her ride has already left and there she is....there is not hotel, or restaurant around.
    This book has it all...stepping back in time. This little Mine Town is really a step back in time, there is no running water, electricity, or even a car for her to use! She meets Miss Lillie and ends up actually helping and taking care of the 100+ year old delightful woman! You will meet all kinds of characters, and you'll laugh and cry with them. There is a bit of Romance in the air, along with new friendships, baby being born and also some mystery. You will not want to put this book down, and you will be moving, temporarily, into the hills of Kentucky!

    I was provided with a copy of this book by Bethany House Publishing, and was not required to give a positive review.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Incredible! GREAT story line. A bit of mystery, detective work, suspense, romance, topped with an ironic ending which will knock your socks off. Another historically based fiction novel by Lynn Austin which I could not put down. The women in Lynn's novels are always feminine yet so strong because of the strength they find int he Lord. This book would appeal to 13+ and adults. If you have never read Lynn Austin, this would be a good place to start. But then go back and read her other novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    LOVED IT

    If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. One of the best I have read in a while. Didnt want it to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    My new favorite

    I was left completely wonderstruck. Wonderland Creek is now one of my most favorites books ever!




    Alice is a young woman during the depression who eats, sleeps, pretty much lives on and in her books. Alice's world is turned upside down when she loses her dream job as a librarian due to the economic pressures, and to top it all off her funeral director boyfriend dumps her. Alice, in an effort ot get away from her woes, heads to the mountains of Kentucky to deliver boxes of donated books, to a small library. Little does she know that she just might be in for the adventure of her life!




    I loved this book from the first line to the last page. It had me glued to the page, savoring every word, and laughing out loud when I found myself relating to Alice in an all-too-scary-way. Yes, Alice was very melodramic, but I loved her for it, and could hardly contain my laughter at some of her humorous musings.




    I really loved the Christy-like setting, up in the mountains without the modern inconveniences like electricity, and running water, where you're more likely to meet a person's shotgun before you actually meet the person.




    Leslie or "Mack" was in my mind the perfect hero, perfect in that he was not perfect enough to be perfect, which just ended up making him perfect! Now if you're still with me after that baffling chain of thoughts...OK! I love his sense of duty and his commitment to making things right. I could go on and on about Mack but for your sakes, I won't ;)




    I think that nearly every character had a place in my heart by the time I turned the last page, I especially loved Miss Lillie. What a woman, indeed!




    This book had everything. Excellent characters, a killer plot, sweet romance, a rediscovery of lax faith, a mystery that keeps you on your toes, evil villians, beautiful setting, and lots of books! I couldn't have asked for a better story. It completely blew me away! Especailly the suspense of trying to figure out who was behind everything and why. Oh, and did I mention buried treasure? Wonderland Creek has that too!




    If you are anything like me, this is a must-read! I HIGHLY recommend this book. It is now pretty much my number one favorite book :D Thank you for listening to my somewhat overlong ravings, I'm going to go out a buy this book as soon as I can :)




    Final Rating: 5.6 out of 5!!!!!




    I checked out this book at my local library and reviewed it just because I loved it so much :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    This is literally one of the best Christian historical fiction b

    This is literally one of the best Christian historical fiction books I've ever read! Very entertaining and unique, and not at all predictable like most other Christian romance books I've read.

    A young librarian named Alice loves reading books so much, that's all she does, but nothing exciting ever happens to her... until, due to the Depression, she loses her job at the library, and volunteers to deliver donated books to a small Kentucky library out in the boonies (think "Christie"). She ends up stranded there longer than planned, and gets involved in an exciting, dangerous adventure. The librarian gets shot, and in order to protect him from the shooter, they have to pretend he's dead, while at the same time, trying to find out who shot him. Meanwhile, Alice becomes a packhorse librarian, delivering books to the people in the hills. She gets to know and love many of the characters, and helps them end a 60 year old feud. It's suspenseful, and very funny in some places. The romance is somewhat secondary to the main plot for most of the book; the plot is not dependent on the romance, unlike most Christian romance books I've read. However, the parts about her and the "dead" librarian are my favorite parts of the book! Their relationship is certainly not what you'd call lovey-dovey, because they are not too crazy about each other to start out with. But that's actually what makes their interactions so amusing! It was so much fun to read these parts, and I kept wanting to skip ahead to the next "Alice & Mack" part! After I finished, I even went back through especially to read these parts again! And I almost never do that with a book, so that's saying something. The plots of most other Christian romance books I've read are almost entirely dependent on the romance, but they aren't half as interesting as this book is!

    The only complaint I would have is that Mack and Alice didn't realize their feelings for each other till the very end, although it was very sweet when they did. I wanted to keep reading about their love story, so in that way, it was a little disappointing. I would dearly love it if Lynn Austin would write another book about Alice and Mack!

    Altogether, a very enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Excellent story

    Must read,loved all books from this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Loved this book! It is written in true Lynn Austin style with pl

    Loved this book! It is written in true Lynn Austin style with plenty of
    humor as well as an interesting historical setting. Each of the
    characters are distinguishable and well developed so that you feel you
    know and love each one. I really did not know how it was going to end
    until it happened. It had many life lessons in it. GREAT Book for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great book

    I am a guy, and I loved this book. Christian fiction is usually considered girls only, but they are for guys too. Guys, don't skip this book. It is as much for you as for girls.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Lynn Austin did it again...Loved Wonderland Creek!

    Lynn Austin is one of the best Christian fiction writers today without question! Once again in Wonderland Creek she drew me into the complexities and multi-facets of each of her main characters because of her amazing ability to "show" them to us from the page. When I first started reading the book, I thought where is this going. Alice was so superficial and one-dimensional...but then Acorn, KY drew her in and forever changed her as she evolved into a young woman with character, strength and faith. Wonderful, unique story line....fantastic read! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    This was my first Lynn Austin book and I loved it. As a result,

    This was my first Lynn Austin book and I loved it. As a result, I've read most of her other works, but this book is one of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Wonderful story.

    I loved this book and hated it to end. Wholesome, a book for anyone to read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I checked Wonderland Creek out through my local library last wee

    I checked Wonderland Creek out through my local library last week--onto my kindle. I’ve read one other book by Lynn Austin—the only other one I knew to be written in first person point of view, A Proper Pursuit. And perhaps over the years I started to wonder if she’d only written that one book in first person just to see if she could do it well (which she did—an amazing job, in fact!), and stopped looking after so long.

    Well, somehow in the last month or so I found out about her book Wonderland Creek, which came out last year. It wasn’t one I needed to read to review on A Passion For Pages... but one of those books that I just simply wanted to make time for. And I am so glad I did!


    Alice Ripley is an adorable protagonist who has everything she ever wanted within hand’s reach... a steady, safe boyfriend, a job at the local library... and all the books in the world to read... and the time to read them. Only she loses her boyfriend and her job in the same day, and suddenly realizes that without them her “real” life had become rather boring... and that she’d been doing most of her living through the pages of her favorite books.

    Alice finds herself deserted in Acorn, KY—dropped off by her eccentric aunt and uncle—to deliver the boxes of books she’d been collecting for the start-up library ran by Miss Leslie McDougal. Only Leslie McDougal isn’t a miss, but a very scruffy young man who (of course) goes by the name Mack... and who is much more than he first seems.

    I really liked the whole aspect of Alice being lost in Wonderland—only to find that she wasn’t really lost at all, but constantly finding herself and a real living faith in God past the Sunday School verses she’d had memorized. There was also a very sweet romance involved in the book—however the main story was about Alice learning that life wasn’t all about her and her books.

    I give Lynn Austin's Wonderland Creek 5 Stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    This is amazing, its my favorite book I read it over and over, w

    This is amazing, its my favorite book I read it over and over, wish there was a continuation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Goldfeather

    Hello

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Pebbletheslash stole leafkit

    And took her to annoying.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Cherrykit

    Licks her hurt paw

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Rockheart

    Sits on the ground

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Loved This Book!

    Another great book from Lynn Austin. Was very inspired by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If I could, I would give at least 6 stars out of 5!

    I know I¿m suppose to include a summary, but you can read the book description yourself! Let¿s get down to business... I have heard of Lynn Austin, but had never read any of her¿s books. (That will soon change!) I picked this book, because I would finally get to read Mrs. Austin and because I share the main character¿s love of books. Honestly, after reading this book, I feel like I should lower some of my ratings of other books because I want this one to stand out! So, if I could, I would give Wonderland Creek at least 6 stars out of 5. However, since I can¿t, I can highly recommend it to all! Wonderland Creek was sooooooooooo (I could go on!) much more than I expected! The characters were multifaceted. The plot was excellent and enjoyable. The descriptions in the book - of the mountains of Kentucky, the people, the emotions - completely brought everything to life. The writing was full of wit and charm. Here¿s a small example from the beginning of the book: ¿Mrs. Beasley [the head librarian] looked staid and unsmiling, but that wasn¿t unusual. Librarians are serious people, seldom given to idle jocularity. The reason for this, I believe, is because we are overwhelmed by the enormous number of good books waiting to be read, leaving little time for frivolity. My personal list of must-read books presents a daunting challenge; I can¿t even imagine the pressure that our head librarian must be under.¿ (I could share more, but it¿s not quite the same as reading it in the story.) You want action? Mystery? Drama? Murder? Romance? Silly librarians who mature in so many ways? 100 year old ladies who still know how to use a gun? This book has it all and more! It is not a book you want to pass by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All Around Excellent Read!

    Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin What an excellent book! The first chapters I could not help but laugh out loud and towards the end the tears came. Between than there was mystery and suspense as well. The story is told from the view of Alice Grace Ripley, a twenty-two year old woman who is lost in her world of books. Her boyfriend of one year, Gordon, breaks up after he catches her reading during a funeral at his parents funeral parlor. He tells her she lives more in her world of fiction than the real world. And the next day she loses her job at the beloved town library because of the depression. After moping around she has the choice of going with her Pastor father to help the poor or with her mom to see her somewhat deranged Aunt Lydia. She chooses to visit her aunt, and that opens the door to where God leads her next. Alice has been collecting books to send to Kentucky. When her aunt mentions going to a spa in Kentucky, she asks to go along. So they pack up and go. Alice is sure Uncle Cecil is running from gangsters and it makes quite a funny story from Blue Island, Illinois to Acorn Kentucky. They drop her off at the library where she plans on staying with the librarian Leslie MacDougal. A scruffy bear of a man helps unload her books and Uncle Cecil takes off immediately. Problem one: Leslie is a he not a she. Problem 2: Acorn has no motel let alone anything else. And those are only the start of her problems. Alice has not choice but to stay at the house/library even though Mack is not happy about it. After he is shot the next day she meets the house other inhabitant, Lillie the 100 year old woman. She ends up staging Mack's funeral, learning to ride a horse to deliver books so she can help bring things to Mack while he hides out until they find his murderer, tries to help end a sixty year feud and those are just some of the things that happen on Alice's adventure. She finds herself in town with no electricity or inside water so her work load is heavy. She has no time for reading but quickly finds out real life can be quite different than the books. This is just a well rounded book, humorous at times and sad a others, there are mysteries and adventures. All in one. **Received from Bethany House for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3