Customer Reviews for

Wondrous Strange (Wondrous Strange Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Wondrous!

It would be helpful if the celebrated Publisher's Weekly could actually get the details of the book correct before posting a review. Kelley's last name is "Winslow" not "Winston." Not to mention "naive" Kelley is one of the strongest main female characters to grace a bo...
It would be helpful if the celebrated Publisher's Weekly could actually get the details of the book correct before posting a review. Kelley's last name is "Winslow" not "Winston." Not to mention "naive" Kelley is one of the strongest main female characters to grace a book of this type in a long time. Instead of waiting around to be rescued by a contrived male "hero", she takes her destiny into her own hands and does her best to protect herself. Shakespeare himself seems to be sitting on the sidelines advancing the plot not "embellishing" it, and would be tickled by the effortless dialogue.

The errors in the review make one wonder if they got anything right.

A magical compelling read. Not to be missed.

posted by JBL on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but left me wanting.

If I had picked up Wondrous Strange a few months earlier, I may have enjoyed it a little more. Unfortunately, I read the Wicked Lovely and City of Bones series before this. It is impossible not to compare the books together because of all the similarities. My verdict is...
If I had picked up Wondrous Strange a few months earlier, I may have enjoyed it a little more. Unfortunately, I read the Wicked Lovely and City of Bones series before this. It is impossible not to compare the books together because of all the similarities. My verdict is that there are some really funny, smart, and romantic parts in Wondrous Strange, but if you plan on reading it, read it first.

posted by Sydd on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Wondrous!

    It would be helpful if the celebrated Publisher's Weekly could actually get the details of the book correct before posting a review. Kelley's last name is "Winslow" not "Winston." Not to mention "naive" Kelley is one of the strongest main female characters to grace a book of this type in a long time. Instead of waiting around to be rescued by a contrived male "hero", she takes her destiny into her own hands and does her best to protect herself. Shakespeare himself seems to be sitting on the sidelines advancing the plot not "embellishing" it, and would be tickled by the effortless dialogue. <BR/><BR/>The errors in the review make one wonder if they got anything right.<BR/><BR/>A magical compelling read. Not to be missed.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

    I loved it, I LOVED it. I love it so much I want to marry it. If you are a fan of faerie books, you'll want to read this one. If you've tried faerie books before, but didn't like them, you'll want to read this. If you aren't a fan of faerie books, you'll still want to read it. It's that good. <BR/><BR/>Incredible characters, incredible writing, incredible plot. It was really just so fantastic, it's hard to find the words to describe it. I never in a million years would have guessed this was a debut novel. The key to my heart is great characters and storyline, and this book had it all and then some. Even the minor characters stood out to me, and they were fascinating. Like Chloe - she is a siren, has a very minor role, and yet she is very memorable. As well as a few other characters..... but I don't want to give all the goods away. <BR/><BR/>Completely original plot! I figured a few things out, but other things I was oblivious to until they were revealed. I've read other faerie books about the faerie "royalty" - if you've read Melissa Marr you know what I'm talking about here. Not that I'd even compare this book to Marr's because they are at totally two different ends of the spectrum. And I don't mean that in the quality of writing, because they are both fabulous writers. Did I just write fabulous...don't you just love the plethora of "f" adj.!? Do you think I'm subconsciously doing it because of the whole faerie thing... freaking fantastic fascinating fabulous faeries! I promise I did NOT do that on purpose! <BR/><BR/>Great writers write what they know.... what movie is that from? Never Been Kissed! I think that statement definitely has some truth to it. Kelley is an actress (a struggling actress to be more specific). The theater scenes within the novel were marvelous (notice no `f' here!) so I wasn't surprised to learn that the lovely Lesley Livingston herself is at home on the stage. I wonder if she knows any faeries personally? <BR/><BR/>I think the thing I loved most about WONDROUS STRANGE was Kelley. She is an exceptional female protagonist. I was instantly drawn to her character. She's honest, she imperfect, and she doesn't pull the Bella card. When a cute guy tells her that faeries are real, she reacts like a normal person and laughs in his face. LOVED IT. <BR/><BR/>And I must mention Sonny. Ah... Sonny.. Mom, can I have one? Yeah, that's really all I'm going to say about him, because if I tell you, they you're going to want him, too, and you can't have him because he's mine. No really, I'm not going to tell you how incredibly cute he is, and how he kicks major faerie butt, because he's all about protecting the mortal world from the mean faeries.. And yet, he can still rescue the damsel in distress even if she is mean to him and laughs in his face. <BR/><BR/>I simply cannot say enough good things about this novel. I highly recommend you grab a copy of this book. It would make an awesome Christmas present! And I'm even more thrilled to mention that this novel is the beginning of a trilogy!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!

    When i got this book for christmas, i was like 'eh, i guess i will try it even though i'm more of a vampire lover than a faerie lover'. When i started this book i couldn't put it down! I read this book all in one day, its that good! This book is so cute and sweet but at the same time action is involved. It's about this girl named Kelley and how she finds out that she is a faerie. And she finds this out from a Janus guard, Sonny that later falls in love with Kelley. This book is about them (Janus Guards) trying to stop the Wild Hunt and later finds out that Kelley is alot more important than what she makes out to be and needs to protect her as well. This book is extremely cute and anyone will love this book extremely if you loved the Wicked Lovely series, Tithe Series, and Twilight Saga. Trust me you will love this book!!!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad, but left me wanting.

    If I had picked up Wondrous Strange a few months earlier, I may have enjoyed it a little more. Unfortunately, I read the Wicked Lovely and City of Bones series before this. It is impossible not to compare the books together because of all the similarities. My verdict is that there are some really funny, smart, and romantic parts in Wondrous Strange, but if you plan on reading it, read it first.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    lacking somehow

    Though I thought that it was an okay plot and there was okay characters, somehow it didn't leave me very satisfied, I feel it's lacking something, though I don't know what, and it's is a bit dull in some parts but in others it's pretty amazing. I really also must have missed the part where they fell in love, there wasn't a moment where it became blatantly obvious or a really prominent event to justify their love. I liked the plot, as I said, it had fairytale elements that I found just childish and whimsical enough to be loveable. The book moved too slow in some parts while in others it left me questioning how the characters got from point a to b, and the motive. Also, the ending is too abrupt, I felt it needed more of a lead up. There really is no real mysterious element like the writer tried for, because the plot is pretty predictable, though that can be seen as a good thing: either the writer incorporated enough detail that it was easy to solve or the punch line was ruined because we already knew the joke. But otherwise cute story. I definitely recommend to the board readers, like me, looking for the next best thing post-twilight, but not to occasional readers looking to pass the time with a revolutionary book that will move you from the brink of merely interested in reading to addiction. (sorry for the rambling)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    So Much Potential.

    Like so many YA novels these days, this book's setup and plot idea was great, but once we get one hundred pages in, everything goes awry. The main character, Kelley Winslow, had a lot of personality, and was very strong-headed, something not seen in many YA female protagonists these days. She doesn't fall to the feet of the first guy to notice her, and she's trying to make her own living.

    Yet, once we get into the story of Kelley and Sonny, it felt like everything started moving at fast-forward speed. The author was trying to squeeze a love story into a nine-day period, which honestly is not possible or believable. The characters go from "Get Away From Me, Stalker," to "I Love You So Much I'll Die For You," in two chapters, giving it a rushed and sloppy feel. It would have been much better if Kelley and Sonny's relationship grew slowly, maybe moving to love in the second book (If I'm correct this is part of a series.) instead of jumping around so quickly.

    For some reason YA authors today seem to have the notion that all of their stories need love and sex in the first twenty chapters or their readers will toss the book away. Maybe that's true for some teens, but it's the writers who set the standards.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad

    I like when an author tells a story from 2 POV but not when it is changed every chapter-and that is my major issue with this one. Otherwise it is a good entertaining book. I can't wait to read the next one but in no rush- I also like when an author makes a romance bud rather than just say-ok they are in love now-and you get to see them kind of fall for each other.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Definitely a good read

    While I did enjoy the story, there were parts of it that I felt were rushed, and/or needed a bit more development. I liked that Kelley was not immediately accepting of her new big life change, but I felt like after she accepted her fate, things began to move at a pace that was just too fast. Some of the dialogue between characters (Kelley and her Aunt) is simply unbelievable and obviously contrived, and the relationship between Kelley and Sonny seemed a trifle forced. The perspective shifts some between Kelley and Sonny, but is done well enough that it isn't obnoxious at all. The ending was decent, though the major action literally took up around a page and I feel leaves the reader going "What? That's it?". That said, though, the story was entirely easy to read and easy to like. I'll be reading the sequel, Darklight, for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bit Dull

    There were perhaps two places in the book that interested me, two scenes that I found pleasing. But as I read, there wasn't anything different - nothing that popped out. I've seen most of the elements in this plot in other YA books. There was a girl living in the big city, struggling to make her way. Enter a strange, beautiful boy, and so on and so forth. The main character got annoying, and my biggest pet peeve: The boy and girl somehow fell in love without spending any real time together or talking. I don't want to spoil the story for those of you who are going to read this, so I'll just say this: Cliche. I wouldn't recommend this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Faeries in Shakespeare?

    I must admit I was immediately intrigued by the beautimous cover on this book. Love the dress, love the hair - it caught my attention. Then I read the teaser and said to myself:

    faeries? check
    Shakespeare? check
    shiny, sparkly wings? check, check

    ding, ding! We have a winner!

    Kelley has come to New York, fresh out of high school, ready to meet the acting world head-on. She's found the perfect apartment (even if her roommate is a little OCD) and has finally landed a huge role in A Midsummers Night Dream at the Avalon theater - a very off, off Broadway theater - but hey, theater is theater, right?

    Sonny on the other hand, is a changeling - taken from his parents at birth and fated to live in the faery realm forever. He has been raised to become one of the elite Janus guard who protect the human world from the nasties that might try to slip through the gates from the faery kingdoms and just happens to be pretty dang good at his job - which explains why when Kelley is almost killed he is right there to play knight in shining armor.

    What Kelley doesn't realize is the closer she gets to Halloween - when the gates between the faery and human world will open - she will get one up close and personal meeting with the faery kingdom in all its beauty and cruelty. Sonny will do anything to protect Kelley against the fae; even if it means losing everything he loves.

    The Shakespeare references really made this a stand-out read for me. That combined with Kelley's descriptions of the stage mixed with the machinations of evil and benign faery creatures constantly drew me in. Sonny and Kelley's characters were so blindingly real to me - Sonny can fight, is loyal and is officially my new dream boy. ::sigh::

    One thing I really liked about this story is although it uses known fairy creatures and themes, the plot is entirely original. Some of the revelations weren't a surprise, but most caught me totally off guard - just like a real fairy bargain perhaps? It comes as no surprise that I totally ate up this story and am very, very delighted to read Darklight this December.

    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Strangley Wondrous!

    I found the book to be Strangley Wondrous! It had a very good and creative plot!! It was very differnt from what i'm used to reading but it was still a great read! I enjoyed it and recommend it to everyone who loves reading about faeries!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Cute

    Story line has a lot of potential. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Recommend

    Not the most "exciting" book but defiantly enticing. I liked it...I hear the next 2 are even better so I'm defiantly going to finish the series. Kelly & Sonny have me wondering what makes them so special/interesting. What does fate have in store for them? Since there is no such thin as coincidence as Sonny pointed out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I Highly Recommend It To Any Faerie/Fantasy Lovers!

    Wondrous Strange is different from a lot of the other faerie books I've read, and at the same time very similar. The minute I started reading Wondrous Strange I didn't put it down until I was finished. It was very entertaining. I highly recommend it to any faerie/fantasy lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Wondrous Strange

    I expected Wondrous Strange to be another typical, predicable teen romance. However, I was pleasantly surprised that there was actual content and a story line behind the romance. I enjoyed the story itself, but I found certain parts predictable and cheesy, as well as a couple of plot holes and inconsistencies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wondrous, yes, Strange, not necessarily

    I did like this book quite a bit. It does contain some original ideas and a solid basis in Celtic legend. That said, I had one major complaint that made this less than a four star novel; it didn't have enough whining.

    That's an odd complaint, I know, but when Faerie intrudes on your life unexpectedly, as a reader, I would assume that the characters would resist the new reality a bit. But that's not what happens here. Perhaps because this is such a slim novel, and it is fairly action packed, Ms Livingston chose not to slow things down by having a character fight against her new truth. As a resisting reader, though, I fought back for her.

    I really do wish that I could have given this four stars--especially for the kelpie. It may have been my favorite character in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dreamy

    I constantly wish that we lived in a fictional world such as the one portrayed by Lesley Livingston. I felt as though I was watching a movie the entire time I was reading. I had to know what happened next... just one more page.... This book is beautiful and the emotion is contagious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    I enjoy all fantasy books...vampires, werewolves, zombies, faerie! Although this is no where near the best faerie book I've read, it was an enjoyable read! It was fun & I really like Sonny. I will read the rest of the series & can't wait to find out what will happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :D

    This book is up there with my top favorites of all time (Harry Potter, Tithe, A Great and Terrible Beauty series). The combination of romance, fantasy, and action was PERFECT, and the main characters are very believable. Livingston did a great job with choosing a narrator that most people can relate to (unlike some other books, that will remain nameless, because I don't want to be attacked by rampaging fan girls), and she wrote the book beautifully. The details were vivid, but not overly so, and her style of writing is wonderful! It all seemed very real, and boy, do I wish it were! <BR/><BR/>I'm hoping and praying for the second book to come out soon, because I don't know if I can wait a year or two to find out what happens! I definitely recommend this book to everyone who loves suspense, romance, and fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking for a great fantasy read?

    This is a book for those who have read and enjoyed books like the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. This book takes you dierctly into the world of Fae. The intelligent and tricky creatures are captivating. The story is of a young girl trying to make it on her own in New York City. When she happens to fall into a power struggle between the most powerful Fae. Her crazy boss, and high maitenence room mate quickly become the least of her problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13