Customer Reviews for

Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections On and Off the Court

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Wooden is true....very true.

    I have heard of John Wooden all my life but never had spent the time to see what all the talk was about. I found this book just outstanding and enlightening in the areas of leadership, family, and being true to your core belief system. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I'd give this 6 stars if I could

    Wooden is a master at not just basketball, but life itself. The wisdom here is invaluable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    This book taught me a lot about life and not just basketball. Th

    This book taught me a lot about life and not just basketball. The way Wooden writes shows he truly cares about teaching people around the world about the things he has learned in his magnificent career as a basketball coach. Who better to learn from than the best college basketball coach ever? I liked this book because it had a lot of important points in it and showed me things that I need to do to become the best person possible. This is a great book overall. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    Good morals and great lessons is a must read

    John Wooden writes about his life and lessons that he learned during many years of childhood and through out growing up. His life consisted of a ton of basketball and many different teams, and coaches that all had a different part in teaching him about good morals and lessons to making his life easier and better. It talks about his coaching careers and all the different players he had and how each individual wore off on him seperately and how each of them had a different impact on him. If you are looking for a book that is very inspirational and has a good lesson for life Wooden is the book for you. It tells many different individual stories of key parts of his life that he experienced and learned through. With a coaches perspecitive it has many key teaching tools that helped him win 11 national championships in the ncaa mens basketball tournament. This book needs to be read because it is great words of wisdom from a very smart and experienced man who knows many things about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book contains many good lessons, but i thought there would be much more about his basketball teams, and there really was not very much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Amazing

    This book has advice on nearly every situation you face in your life. Everything in here is true and will help you in the face of adversity. John Wooden is probably the wisest man in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    focus on the preperation!

    coach wooden is able to show all who read his book the value of preparing as well as one can in order to be successful. each of us are only able to the best with what we have been given. God has blessed us all with varying degrees of talent, opportunities, etc. he was able to put the focus on the journey of preparation and was able to define success in this manner. the true tangible success is obtained when an individual exhaust every opportunity and ability he may have in order to get a task done. he was able to minimize the amount of focus put on the results. this allowed those under his leadership to be shielded from unnecessary pressures and distractions. winning was simply a byproduct of the doing one's personal best. coach wooden loves the Lord and he has applied biblical truths to his prinicple of leadership. coach is a humble leader and it comes through in his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    pyramid of succcess

    John was truly a team player no matter what his tasks was in life. He taught many to understand others, but also taught people to understand actions in every different situation.Wooden shares his personal philosophy on family, achievement, success, and excellence on every aspect of life. John shares his teachings to others and guides them with wisdom far beyond sports. This book written by John Wooden himself with Steve Jamison will pull you in, as you read a lifetime of observations and refelctions on and off the court, and how great his success was at U.C.L.A as a basket ball coach. I mostly enjoyed the man's passion for being a better person in life, but also teaching others. He was a man of integrity with great knowledge and wisdom, he created success. What I like most about the book is that in a way to read about John, it is also a learning experience, because you are still learning about his teachings. I most respect on how John took lessons taught as a child from his parents and continued to take them with him in life. I also like how he had a pyramid of success faith and patience were at the top. He was a man of his word, but also the 'word,' that being the bible. I do not dislike anything about this book, because there are many different teachings to value. It makes you want to learn more from life everday and how you can make your work that much better. His benevolence is proudly displayed in all aspects of life, but most importantly he also learned from his players as he coached them everday. This shows that not everyone is here to teach, but many are here to listen. As Wooden did so, he lived his life with wisdom, success, and leading to your capabilities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Greatly inspirational book for the individual and the team player.

    In this book "The Coach" explains why and how he was a winner on and off the court. You don't have to understand or be a basketball fan to appreciate this book. He explains why winning isn't everything nor the only thing. It's the effort to succeed as an individual and team player that count. "Coach Wooden" explains the why and how to set the example as a leader, that we can all be in life - for ourselves and for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2002

    Inspirational

    This book provides so many important points about life in general. If everyone could follow this advise, what a wonderful world this would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    THE MEANING OF SUCCESS

    Great insight on life, success and what's really important... I've bought 6 copies and buying 6 more... Can't say enough good about this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    Wisdom from the great teacher.

    John Wooden is a man among men in such a humble and non-assuming way. In this great book he exudes his timeless wisdom for all of us. You do not have to be a basketball fan to appreciate this book as Mr. Wooden, who is one of the greatest coaches in any sport in all of history, considers himself more a teacher than a coach. This book belongs in every home and should be shared with all children (as well as adults). For such a small and simply written book to contain such an immense volume of life-living advice is just another testament to the fact that the best things in life are the simplest. This is a book you will delve into regularly. Thanks again Coach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    book good

    it gave a lot of interesting nuggets about life and bball

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2000

    MORE THAN JUST BASKETBALL!

    This book is great reading for those who love the game of basketball.It is also a valuable piece of literature for those playing the great game we call life. The experiences described in this book,along with the great cousel and advice from this great coach/educator is a treasure for young and old. Maybe Bob Knight should pick up a copy;I'm sure glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    life lessons

    This book talks about much more than basketball. It talks about the most important game of all life. It teaches you that hard work and determination can get you anywhere. It also teaches you life lessons that will make you a great player and a great person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1