Customer Reviews for

The Woods

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

First but not my last!

This was my first Harlan Coben novel. I came across it as a B&N Bargain Book and so glad I did! I am officially putting all of his books on my list. The story itself was interesting but there was never a dull moment. Not once did I get bored. I was constantly on the edg...
This was my first Harlan Coben novel. I came across it as a B&N Bargain Book and so glad I did! I am officially putting all of his books on my list. The story itself was interesting but there was never a dull moment. Not once did I get bored. I was constantly on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next all the way to the very end, even when I thought there was nothing else to surprise me with. The characters were all likeable but flawed making them very real and easy to relate to. I can always tell when I love a book if I can't leave it alone. I got through 1/2 the book on the first day & finished it up a few days later. Even during favorite tv shows I would find myself sneaking in some reading because I just couldn't stop! Loved it & can't wait to read more by Harlan!

posted by JerseyAngel on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not This Time

Harlan's books have always been part Andrew Vachss wannabee with a suburban New Jersey twist. His heroes are not tough guys but jewish lawyers and he usually writes so dynamically well you buy all the coincidences and last minute appearances to get to some rather remark...
Harlan's books have always been part Andrew Vachss wannabee with a suburban New Jersey twist. His heroes are not tough guys but jewish lawyers and he usually writes so dynamically well you buy all the coincidences and last minute appearances to get to some rather remarkable conclusions. I've loved all his previous work. Not this time. This time you can see the end coming real early on. I won't spoil it but if you've read Harlan before you will be very surprised when you guess correctly and he does NOT whisk the answer away like a magician. Worse, the 'hero' of this tale is just a bit too much of an Alan Alda lefty for me to buy as a real he man whenever Harland decides he should have backbone. Worse, the man is hardly above being a total fraud and hypocrite, often resorting in his own investigations into twenty year old misdeeds to tactics exactly the same as those he abhores in those he is attempting to prosecute. I found this comparison both ridiculous, typically hypocritical and awful writing construction. In short the main character is an unsympathetic hypocrite who does one thing to those he chooses to prosecute but sees no problem in employing their scorched earth tactics for his OWN ends. And this time, his use of characters from previous novels seems too much a throwaway practice. I didn't give him one star because I love all his previous work and I couldn't ever give him NO stars because, quite frankly, we are not offered that choice.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First but not my last!

    This was my first Harlan Coben novel. I came across it as a B&N Bargain Book and so glad I did! I am officially putting all of his books on my list. The story itself was interesting but there was never a dull moment. Not once did I get bored. I was constantly on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next all the way to the very end, even when I thought there was nothing else to surprise me with. The characters were all likeable but flawed making them very real and easy to relate to. I can always tell when I love a book if I can't leave it alone. I got through 1/2 the book on the first day & finished it up a few days later. Even during favorite tv shows I would find myself sneaking in some reading because I just couldn't stop! Loved it & can't wait to read more by Harlan!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this was a fantastic book!

    i actually bought this one on CD to listen to at work but found that i couldn't stop listening when work was over. i had to take the cds in my truck to listen on the way home...and i was totally blown away by the end...i thought i had the ending figured out but then Harlan threw me for a loop i never saw coming

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Wonderful Mystery

    This is the first novel by Harlan Coben I have read. A friend suggested this author and what a GREAT read!! I am hooked!! I will be purchasing more of Harlan's work. I was drawn in to the story, characters, and the twists and turns that they went through. I was not able to put the book down!! The ending was a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Go for a hike in the Woods

    This is a fun read that has two stories within one. The subplot involves a rape case similar to the Duke athletic incident a few years ago. The plot reminds me of summer camp as a youth or going camping. Regardless, take the time to read this...it's a quick read. The author's style is simple and much of the book contains dialogue between characters which makes for a quick page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another very good story by Halan Coben

    I thought this was one of his best, really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Very Good!

    A fast read with surprising twists that kept me guessing. I have always liked Harlan Coben and actually found this book at a Church book sale. I was excited to buy it (a whole $2.00) and couldn't wait to read. I would definitely recommend this book. ---K---

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good Read!

    I'am a fan of Harlan Coben's books. I like his style of writing. Intriguing, thrilling, lots of interacting plots in the story. His characters take on their own personality's. The Woods offers psychological intrigue as well as a little romance, danger and murder...the book has it all wrapped into one and just when I thought I had it all figured out...surprise! That's another thing I like about Coben's books...he keeps me glued to the very end! I read this and it was passed along my family members and everyone loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book. Didn't want to put it down!

    I loved this book...I never saw the ending coming and I loved it. True suspense and true mystery. Fantastic

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Great Book

    I just finished reading â¿¿The Woodsâ¿ and all I have to say is WOW! I often get bored with books because I can never find and book that keeps me interested. This book was such a page turner I could never put it down. I found myself trying to figure out the mystery as I read on. I never even got close to what really happened in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Another Great Book!

    This was another great book by a GREAT author. His books always pull you in and force you to keep reading. I read this one in 2 days! You just want to keep finding out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    FallenScar

    He paddded out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Violetpaw

    Hey i gave you them they make you sleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    The biggest godmodder

    Runs in and kills everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Smokiefern ooc

    You cant kill a cat that is in a differnt site when you attavk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Cutekit

    "KitClan needs no fighting help!" She runs back to the rondevou.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Lightining ooc

    I already am at jayclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Stormkit

    "How?" She meowes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Rabbitkit

    Yep. I am dead remember? I am a spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Extus Moss

    Stalks a large fat rabbit before springing on it, breaking it's neck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    A. Ice

    Ice kept watching the vole die...not looking up at anyone.(gtgtb.....srry)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11