BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Woods Runner

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Woods Runner Review.

My Review:
I thought that Woods Runner was a very good book. It told a lot about the history of the American Revolution. This book not only told history, but it also told the story of a thirteen year old boy's life.
Samuel always brought food back for his family. He...
My Review:
I thought that Woods Runner was a very good book. It told a lot about the history of the American Revolution. This book not only told history, but it also told the story of a thirteen year old boy's life.
Samuel always brought food back for his family. He enjoyed being in the woods, and hunting. He always brought food back for his family. One day he was hunting and he saw something that he thought was smoke. He went back home to see what was going on and his parents were not there. This was the start of the American Revolution.
In my opinion, Gary Paulsen is an amazing author, he writes very good books about nature. He has showed this by writing "Hatchet," "The River," all of the Brian books, and more. I have read a lot of Paulsen's books, and plan to read many more. I would recommend this to a teenage male. This book is only around 150 pages, so it is not difficult.

posted by 4809542 on September 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hmm is OK.

We had to read this book last year, i guess if you love history and war then its not bad but personally i thought it could be confusing at times and could also get boring. I do love Gary though an you should check out some of his other books such as "my life in dog year...
We had to read this book last year, i guess if you love history and war then its not bad but personally i thought it could be confusing at times and could also get boring. I do love Gary though an you should check out some of his other books such as "my life in dog years". It is an autobiography and even if you dont like dogs i promise you would enjoy it.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    Woods Runner Review.

    My Review:
    I thought that Woods Runner was a very good book. It told a lot about the history of the American Revolution. This book not only told history, but it also told the story of a thirteen year old boy's life.
    Samuel always brought food back for his family. He enjoyed being in the woods, and hunting. He always brought food back for his family. One day he was hunting and he saw something that he thought was smoke. He went back home to see what was going on and his parents were not there. This was the start of the American Revolution.
    In my opinion, Gary Paulsen is an amazing author, he writes very good books about nature. He has showed this by writing "Hatchet," "The River," all of the Brian books, and more. I have read a lot of Paulsen's books, and plan to read many more. I would recommend this to a teenage male. This book is only around 150 pages, so it is not difficult.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    You Can Never Say To Much Nor To Little About A Book...Woods Run

    You Can Never Say To Much Nor To Little About A Book...Woods Runner Was A Excellent Book.I Was Captivated By The Title But It Turned Out To Be A Completely Different Story.I agree It Was A Great Book Very Well Put Together But It Was Unrealistic In Many Ways...1# He Just Got Lucky Theres A Slight Chance That If This Was Real He Would Live To Tell The Story.2# Chapter One Was ONLY about How His 40-caliber Rifle Worked.I Think Some Parts Where Unnecessary But A Lot Of Books Have That.3# To Many People Died If This Is A Kids Book Why Did Ole Bobby Come In He Was Digging Graves?And Singing!#4Overall This Was A Great Book I Just Expected A little more.Also The Character Samual Was A Very Good Description.I Really Loved This Book It Was A Good Example Of The Revolutionary War.I Think This Book Should Be For 9-10 AND 11-whatever.Gary Paulsen Did A Great job I Give this Book A 4 Star.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Trey

    It was good i thought it was good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good book!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book spoke to me as a human in many different ways. This book taught me to never give up
    and to keep on trying and when you fail at something keep doing it until you get. This also
    sparked my curiosity about the book and also inspired me.
    the book woods runner inspired me allot. A boy named Samuel is a forest boy this had took place
    in the revolutionary war time era. Samuel went hunting for food for his family. Samuel hunting
    had seen smoke in the distance thought to had think that it was coming from his place where his
    family was living. as he was running to check on his family he had arrived and saw his neighbors
    brutally murdered. As he saw his house he looked and there was no sight of his parents. as he
    looked around he stumbled across tracks and started to follow them as he ran he saw British
    soldiers marching along the trail. he heard gun fire come from a distance then the British troops
    started to scatter and as he looked harder he saw Indians as well. as he heard stumbling in a bush
    he turned around and saw a Indian. as the Indian charged him he pulled out his musket he shot
    the Indian and as that happened he was struck on the head by a club. this shows that he
    determination to find his parents and as that goes along he ends up finding them.
    this book sparked my curiosity because this I would of never thought that when Samuel traveled
    to New York to find his parents. this all happened when the British put his parents in New York
    harbor on a boat with other prisoners and Samuel got them off that sparked my curiosity.
    this book inspired me to never give up through anything that life brings us. this brings us back to
    the time when Samuel got hit in the head by the club by the Indian. he recovered and then
    he went looking for his parents this inspired me to never give up and keep trying no matter what
    happens.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Ok

    It was a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    AMAZING STORYTELLING!!!

    My son was given this book to read for his fifth grade historical fiction assignment. I always like to see for myself what they are having the kids read, so I purchased a copy for my nook.

    This is a very exciting action packed adventure packed full of historical facts and the true horrors of war. The story generates lots of topics for group discussions about how war brings out the best and worst in people. I love the way the author starts each chapter with facts about the atrocities that occurred during the revolutionary war, and how strong the people of this country were in standing for their beliefs and just how far they would go to achieve their goals. In the meantime, the author also tells the story of a boy whose parents were captured off their frontier land by the british and his journey to find them. It is a harrowing yet triumphant tale of what people may have faced at any given time during that period of history. Though fiction, it could have easily been the true story of any number of people that lived then.

    My son loved this book. He said it made the revolutionary war seem more real to him. He kept wondering how the main character kept getting out of trouble. I think he finally got in the end that he always got out of trouble because someone was always there to help. That in times of trouble, people tend to come together.

    You may need a tissue or two during parts of this story, as the author pulls no punches concerning innocents who lost their lives during the war; but when concerning history, I feel it best not to sugar coat things so we will not forget our history and what made this country great. It was not an easy road and this author doesn't let you forget it.

    My compliments to the author for a wonderful action story my son loved to read for school. Now he wants to find more from this author to read for enjoyment -- the best kind of read.

    -- SPeeD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Hmmm its ok

    I like allthe staff u put ok youtube

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Zachs stories

    I loved this enthraling book. Love the time of history it is in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Good

    I liked it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Gary Paulsen

    How come his books are always about 13 year old boys slowly going insane in the wilderness?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    DARK CASTLE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Emily

    I thought u were a boy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Rice

    Runs back to ac

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Love the Gabrini men

    can you get passed paying 5.99 for 134 pages? Well if you can its as hot and intriging as the rest of them. I love me some SAL.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Woods runner

    Good book.i read it twicwe and it was awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Midnightstar of midnightclan

    She ponced on a rabbit and killed it(we are located at 'night dream')

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    A great read!  Well researched, and filled with graphic details

    A great read!  Well researched, and filled with graphic details of life during the time frame that exceeds the usual historical facts presented in history lessons.  Life on the frontier was seldom easy, and conforntaions with hostile groups like Indians, red coats, hessians, and the creatures and hazards of mother nature were often faced by those living on the edge of wilderness.  Mr. Paulsen captures these details with his telling of the story of a young lad who grows quickly as a hunter of game, a trakcer, a woodsman.  Includes notes that tell the details of life during the American Revolution, that go beyond the usual heroics and history book knowledge.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Woods Runner a Gary Paulsen novel about a life during war and th

    Woods Runner a Gary Paulsen novel about a life during war and the things it can effect. A boy who never knew about the city, grew up with the woods, and never thought something so far could affect him so soon. Supporting his parents who grew in the city unaware of how to get through the woods, hunt, or handle a gun. It was just another day for Samuel, 13 years old, out around 5 miles from his house aiming at a bear threw his .40-caliber Pennsylvania flintlock rifle, watching its every move. The bear unaware of what is happening lazily walks away, another missed kill, he looked up and saw a cloud of smoke; thoughts raced through his brain when he stopped at the thought of an attack. When he reached his house he found his dead neighbors, and friends, and the village on fire. Samuel goes on an epic adventure to find and save his parents while getting help on the way. The thrilling, detailed, gruesome, bloody, gory, novel will keep you hooked and ready to read more. Overall Paulsen has done an incredible job, I enjoyed this book and I recommend it to all ages above 10 with an appetite for action, mystery, and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

      This book kept me entertained from start to finish. It¿s obvio

      This book kept me entertained from start to finish. It’s obvious that Gary Paulsen put some feeling into this book. You start out by hearing about this thirteen-year old named Samuel that moved out into the froniter with his parents. His parents not exactly the woodsy type (still completely confused as to why they moved out there in the first place.) Samuel decides that he will provide food for his family. Until one day he is tracking a bear when he sees smoke in the distance wondering what happend he headed home fast. Finding his town village thing in ruins he looked around seeing that his parents and a few others are the rest dead he burys the dead and finds clue leading him to think it was Indians. This book tells a tale of not only a boy have to traverse the contenient of America to find his parents. Woods Runner also tells of the cruelty of the hessians to the colonists and of the orphans of the revolutionary war. The book also has a few chapters of imformation on different facts about colonial America and the Revolutionary war. The only thing that kept me from rating this book a five was the fact that the ending seemed to be sort of rushed like he wanted it to go down quickly and end it, over all the book was stupendious and I would recommend it to anyone who has the slightest intrest in the Revolutionary war.
                                       DT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    The book woods runner by Gary paulsen is somewhat a overall good

    The book woods runner by Gary paulsen is somewhat a overall good book, this book has a good amount of historical knowledge. It shows many things happening in the timeline of the American revolution. i is a pretty fast passed type of book. It will make you want to keep on reading it even if you are not a book reader type of person. there is a few moments of sadness, death. i probably would recommend this book to a person who likes books that are a historical fiction type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2