Customer Reviews for

Wool

Average Rating 4.5
( 559 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the charact...
Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the character development in these stories. The people lead whole and fulfilling lives, experience an honest range of emotions (both good and bad,) closely guard secrets in their hearts, and constantly struggle for existence, to make sense of things, to achieve...despite living in a world comprised of only 140 floors.

The world that Hugh Howey has constructed is so vast and rich, it's hard to remember that it's mainly set into the curved walls of a silo. All the systems required to have a functioning society; food production, IT, education, systems maintenance, rules on reproduction, and waste disposal, have been carefully planned out and accounted for. More importantly, the things that flesh out a society; taboos, religion, fears and hopes, the sound of children laughing are also painstakingly crafted by his words.

The silo itself becomes a character. I love how Howey incorporates the stairs into the story. They become a test of will, a graceful arc of hope, or potential for despair. Not only is it the tie that connects the levels together, but it's also the gravity that keeps them apart. A barrier and a link. The very DNA of the silo's civilization.

Just when you think this lovely combination of world-building AND character development couldn't get better, there's the writing. I especially liked how the artist masterfully weaved the metaphor of his title throughout the story. It was the element that could be crafted into a sweater that warms, but just as easily unraveled- like a lie. It's the truth being uncovered when the wool is pulled from one's eyes.

Overall, I can't speak highly enough of this collection of short stories. At the end of the Kindle Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool #1-5) there is an interview with the author. He mentions that there will be more stories told in this world; I'm looking forward to reading all of them!

posted by Janyaa on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

You'll lose yourself in this book.

My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader. ...
My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader.

posted by 9025101 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Exciting Read, extremely original

    The telling of the story was brilliant.

    I loved the author's style and the narrow and constant little mysteries complimented by a great unknown. If there were characters I could relate more with this would have been a very solid 5.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    A really great read

    I was skeptical after reading the preview of the book. But, honestly, I loved it! In fact, i am sad that i am finished! I do agree with some of the other comments in that the ending seemed abrupt. I am so excited that we will get to read Solo's story! Keep writing, Hugh, and I will keep buying!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I enjoyed this compilation volume of "Wool". I found i

    I enjoyed this compilation volume of "Wool". I found it generally well-written and interesting. I'm impressed by the quality; especially given it is a self-published work. Well done, Mr. Howey.

    I really appreciated the world-building here. I also appreciated the genius of releasing a couple short stories in the "Wool" universe and expanding on that with later novels. Great strategy.

    That said, I'm glad I bought the omnibus, because I think I would've been miffed if I'd only bought the first story alone thinking it was a full book. But as a full-length novel in five parts, the "Wool" omnibus works quite well. It doesn't have the standard slow rise until the climax that most novels have, but the final climax is big enough, and the world and characters interesting enough, that it doesn't particularly matter. Think of this more as a "Martian Chronicles" work, where five individual stories paint a larger narrative and together explore a world.

    All the stories in the omnibus are brooding, character-based stories, by the way. So if you're looking for non-stop "Star Wars" action, this isn't the place.

    Still, "Wool" is a good addition to the sci-fi genre. My only criticism would be the sparse character and place description in the first couple books. Description is important. The more foreign the place, the more description a reader needs to "see" it.

    All in all this is a fun series, though. I recommend it.

    And don't bother buying individually. Just spring the five bucks for the omnibus. It is worth it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Skeptical at first but it really is good

    There was a scene at the bottom if the silo which I won't spoil, but it was when I realized that I cared about the characters and was pulling for them as if they were real. What fun it is to be swept up, forget that I am reading, and to slip into the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    First off, Wool is five stars for an indie self-pub. Howey deser

    First off, Wool is five stars for an indie self-pub. Howey deserves all the praise he’s received for this collection and I can’t wait to read more from him. That being said, Wool is not without it’s flaws. The first book is five stars and a must-read, but the second installment meandered a bit and slogged until the surprise ending. After that, the third book rocketed back into action and the mystery kept building through the forth and fifth installments. However, an inclusion of characters in the end felt illogical and forced, as if they were only used to amp up the tension. This, along with a slightly dissatisfying ending, were the only flaws in an otherwise stellar tale. Still, don’t let this minor nitpicking detract anyone from reading this awesome series, since Wool is a terrific post-apocalyptic thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    This one will suck you right in!

    If anyone is looking for a great futuristic science fiction read, I HIGHLY recommend Wool. It had me from the very first (short) chapter! I finished reading this over two weeks ago and have read 2 other books since then, but I can't stop thinking about this one. I don't want to give anything away so I can't say anything more other than WOW! Great Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Seriously, who doesn't love a post apocolyptic dystopia?

    The premise may not be unique, but the presentation certainly is! Outstanding character development and truly unique setting. Already bought Shift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kept me up late

    Skipped paragraphs because I wanted to know what happened and too many words were in the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2014

    Well-written; captivating. Section 1, ┬┐Holston┬┐ simply sets the

    Well-written; captivating.
    Section 1, “Holston” simply sets the stage for the real story, ends as an episode of The Twilight Zone, and consequently does not seem very original. This does not make a very exciting short story. The other sections work even less well as stand-alone novellas.
    Section 2, “Proper Gauge” is symbolic in some places; philosophical in others.
    Most of the story is depressing: they can’t live outside; they can barely live inside.
    The plot of the whole book does not really get going until about halfway through section 2, Proper Gauge, but then it gets really interesting and it is very difficult to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great read, good characters, loved the little twists and the end!
    Starting on Shift today..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    I recommend it.

    Interesting world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Magnificent job Mr Howey

    Wish I had found you sooner. The characters - you loved em or hated them but you understood them. A world completely different than ours but so much alike. Read it, you'll see! Dale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Very enjoyable reading!

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    I first read Wool when it was a simple novella for only .99 cent

    I first read Wool when it was a simple novella for only .99 cents. I loved it then, and I'm happy to see it expanded. It was an exciting ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Awesome!

    This was a fabulous read! Confirming the second part of this series right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Makes you think

    Sliw to start but great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    Synopsis: In this collection of related novellas, we explore a p

    Synopsis: In this collection of related novellas, we explore a post-apocalyptic world in which everyone is living in a "silo" spanning downwards into the earth, instead of up into the sky. There, they are safe from the toxic fumes that ravage the earth's surface. However, it's not at all clear how humanity got into this underground silo, why the people of the past have revolted so many times, and...slowly...new evidence arrives to suggest that possibly the people in power are hiding something nefarious. This set of novellas follows several different characters as they independently discover secrets of the silo.




    My Thoughts: This book had a really slow start for me since I prefer novels rather than short stories. I like the character and plot development that is only possible with a novel-length story. Wool is a long book, but it is a collection of loosely connected novellas rather than one continuous story. This creates an intriguing atmosphere of mystery, and allows for different characters to discover different types of secrets of the silo - which is a refreshing turn from most dystopic literature these days in which one character manages to discover all. I guess this format is more believable in that way. But the format slows down plot and character development. The book started picking up about half-way through for me, though. This is when it started focusing on certain characters for longer. Thus, more character development. Also, about half-way through the book is when I started to realize that perhaps Wool was ideologically different than most dystopias. I began to wonder if maybe the choices the government was making really were protecting the people. Maybe ignorance - though abhorrent - was necessary in this case? I'm not going to say what my final conclusion on this subject was...you'll have to find out for yourself. And I probably still need to read the prequel, Shift, and the sequel, Dust, in order to come to a conclusion.There's still a lot of mystery to me about the silo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Loved it!

    Couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Ben

    Sighs..ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    A really creative piece of work

    This is a dystopian style world, with many twists to the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6