Customer Reviews for

Wool

Average Rating 4.5
( 570 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(422)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the charact...
Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the character development in these stories. The people lead whole and fulfilling lives, experience an honest range of emotions (both good and bad,) closely guard secrets in their hearts, and constantly struggle for existence, to make sense of things, to achieve...despite living in a world comprised of only 140 floors.

The world that Hugh Howey has constructed is so vast and rich, it's hard to remember that it's mainly set into the curved walls of a silo. All the systems required to have a functioning society; food production, IT, education, systems maintenance, rules on reproduction, and waste disposal, have been carefully planned out and accounted for. More importantly, the things that flesh out a society; taboos, religion, fears and hopes, the sound of children laughing are also painstakingly crafted by his words.

The silo itself becomes a character. I love how Howey incorporates the stairs into the story. They become a test of will, a graceful arc of hope, or potential for despair. Not only is it the tie that connects the levels together, but it's also the gravity that keeps them apart. A barrier and a link. The very DNA of the silo's civilization.

Just when you think this lovely combination of world-building AND character development couldn't get better, there's the writing. I especially liked how the artist masterfully weaved the metaphor of his title throughout the story. It was the element that could be crafted into a sweater that warms, but just as easily unraveled- like a lie. It's the truth being uncovered when the wool is pulled from one's eyes.

Overall, I can't speak highly enough of this collection of short stories. At the end of the Kindle Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool #1-5) there is an interview with the author. He mentions that there will be more stories told in this world; I'm looking forward to reading all of them!

posted by Janyaa on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

You'll lose yourself in this book.

My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader. ...
My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader.

posted by 9025101 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Ben

    Sighs..ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    A really creative piece of work

    This is a dystopian style world, with many twists to the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Keep an eye on this writer

    Ultra intriuging story and wonderful character development. He even allows the reader to get to know the most important "character".......the silo itself. Can't wait to read the other two!! Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book was exactly what I was looking for. It had suspense and heartbreak and love and an amazing story. I love that it had futuristic elements but was relatable to every day life. Jules is a very strong woman who can take care of herself and those she loves. The secrets of the silos were not what I expected. This story is amazing and I loved every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Wow!

    Kept em on the edge of my seat, and kept me guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I picked this up on a whim, and it was the best decision I have

    I picked this up on a whim, and it was the best decision I have made in a while. The story is engrossing, characters fully realized, and there are enough twists and turns to keep a reader wondering what is going to happen next without feeling like a cheap plot device. I am buying the sequels as soon as I finish this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Page turner

    The hype on this book is pretty acurate. It is a great read, imaginative and well executed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Wow. Just wow.

    Amazing, the very idea of it. Solitary silos housing people instead of grain. The different viewpoints really make the story. I need more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Something Different

    This was more than I expected. Great descriptions and characters made the silos very believable. A real page turner from the very beginning. The author surely did his research homework. I look forward to more of his creative books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    The end of the world in a metal tube

    What a fascinating, interesting and unique take on post-apocalyptic story-telling. The characters are interesting, the setting is superb and the society that has been built after the world ends is engaging. Hugh Howey has started a great series with Wool and it's highly recommended. The only downside is the fact that even though Wool Omnibus contains five "books" (some are maddeningly short), this is the first in a larger "Omnibus" trilogy; meaning the questions that remain at the end of book five - and there are plenty - are left for the second (Shift) and third Omnibus books to uncover. Overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed and would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Keep reading

    This book, chapter was strange, second better. By the time I finished zi immedistely went for next book! Could hardly put them down. Now anxious for tird book Dust!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Wow

    This book is fantastic. I cannot recommend this series.more. I had a hard time putting this down. Great story and characters. Go for the omnibus edition. You wont be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At first I was hesitant about getting involved in another series

    At first I was hesitant about getting involved in another series of hard scifi books, but it was worth it. The Wool series is full of real possibilities about a possible future, and how man would adapt to this type of environment. The books are really intuitive, and I recommend Wool to others who enjoy hard scifi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Creative and intiguing storyline

    The plot and characters immediately caught and held my attention. This was one of those stories that made me want to stay up late at night to read the next chapter. There were occasions when the storyline became confusing and gaps in the events and timing seemed jarring. However, the characters were engaging and the view of this future was unique and well fleshed out. A very enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Engaging

    Great book. A page turner of suspense. People living in a buried silo, thought police alive and well. What happened? What's going on? It is gradually revealed through multiple points of view. Very original, well written, rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great book(s)

    Great read! I usually do not like these type of books but it's easy to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I couldn't figure it out...

    Very suspenseful! I could not figure out how the story was going to end & that keep me going.... I do believe book 5 ended very weak, overrall good read not dissapointed! Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Extrordinary

    Truly original. Wonderfully written . Both suspensful and emotional. Fantastic readm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Did not want to put it down!

    Wool grabbed me right from Chapter One. Hurry with the next installment! This is a movie in the making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6