Customer Reviews for

Wool

Average Rating 4.5
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(390)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily

Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the charact...
Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline.

I loved the character development in these stories. The people lead whole and fulfilling lives, experience an honest range of emotions (both good and bad,) closely guard secrets in their hearts, and constantly struggle for existence, to make sense of things, to achieve...despite living in a world comprised of only 140 floors.

The world that Hugh Howey has constructed is so vast and rich, it's hard to remember that it's mainly set into the curved walls of a silo. All the systems required to have a functioning society; food production, IT, education, systems maintenance, rules on reproduction, and waste disposal, have been carefully planned out and accounted for. More importantly, the things that flesh out a society; taboos, religion, fears and hopes, the sound of children laughing are also painstakingly crafted by his words.

The silo itself becomes a character. I love how Howey incorporates the stairs into the story. They become a test of will, a graceful arc of hope, or potential for despair. Not only is it the tie that connects the levels together, but it's also the gravity that keeps them apart. A barrier and a link. The very DNA of the silo's civilization.

Just when you think this lovely combination of world-building AND character development couldn't get better, there's the writing. I especially liked how the artist masterfully weaved the metaphor of his title throughout the story. It was the element that could be crafted into a sweater that warms, but just as easily unraveled- like a lie. It's the truth being uncovered when the wool is pulled from one's eyes.

Overall, I can't speak highly enough of this collection of short stories. At the end of the Kindle Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool #1-5) there is an interview with the author. He mentions that there will be more stories told in this world; I'm looking forward to reading all of them!

posted by Janyaa on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

You'll lose yourself in this book.

My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader. ...
My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books.
I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader.

posted by 9025101 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 524 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is a must read! I could not put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Need more

    What a great build up! THIS BOOK HAS IT ALL. I can't wait to read more. If your looking for a great new series this is it. The author is amazing at laying the details out and developing the characters. This could be the start of an amazing series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This isn’t a genre I usually read, so it was a slow start for me, but I was glued by the third book. At first, I felt a bit claustrophobic when thinking of all these people living in a silo, but Hugh Howey’s creation is anything but. I love books that make me feel and throughout the books I felt loneliness, hatred, sadness, I even felt my own breathing become shallow during the cleanings, but best of all, I felt promise and hope when I finished the Omnibus edition.

    I thought these books were very well written, character development excellent, and the story engaging. Loved it and I can’t wait to start the next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Best book I have read in years.

    I am an avid reader of science fiction. I read this book in a weekend, I could not stop. Fantastic storytelling from Hugh Howey. I have gone on to read more than half of his other works. I have recommended this book to everyone I know, this includes a pretty diverse range of tastes. All of them have found something to love in WOOL. An excellent book that you simply must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I enjoyed this compilation volume of "Wool". I found i

    I enjoyed this compilation volume of "Wool". I found it generally well-written and interesting. I'm impressed by the quality; especially given it is a self-published work. Well done, Mr. Howey.

    I really appreciated the world-building here. I also appreciated the genius of releasing a couple short stories in the "Wool" universe and expanding on that with later novels. Great strategy.

    That said, I'm glad I bought the omnibus, because I think I would've been miffed if I'd only bought the first story alone thinking it was a full book. But as a full-length novel in five parts, the "Wool" omnibus works quite well. It doesn't have the standard slow rise until the climax that most novels have, but the final climax is big enough, and the world and characters interesting enough, that it doesn't particularly matter. Think of this more as a "Martian Chronicles" work, where five individual stories paint a larger narrative and together explore a world.

    All the stories in the omnibus are brooding, character-based stories, by the way. So if you're looking for non-stop "Star Wars" action, this isn't the place.

    Still, "Wool" is a good addition to the sci-fi genre. My only criticism would be the sparse character and place description in the first couple books. Description is important. The more foreign the place, the more description a reader needs to "see" it.

    All in all this is a fun series, though. I recommend it.

    And don't bother buying individually. Just spring the five bucks for the omnibus. It is worth it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Hidden gem

    I average about 600 pages of reading per week and I can easily say that this book was the best book for me in the past two years. It was an edge of seat page turner from page 1 through page 1257. Without any hesitation I give it five stars and will attempt to explain why it deserves it. My words however cannot do it justice. You must read it for yourself.

    First you can feel the passion and dedication from the author. Howey nurtured this story into life like the piece of art it should be. It is descriptive without being tedious or going overboard. The imagery and descriptions reflect and support the dynamic characters. One of the best world building that I‘ve come across. It consumes the reader. The silo becomes a living breathing character.

    The characters are very well developed, each with their own perspective and philosophy. The reader can empathize with their struggles and understand them. Not only that, the choices and events that each character goes through impact and develops other characters. They influence others in subtle ways and tie into one another much like knitted fabric. You become invested in each person.

    This dystopian post-apocalyptic story is realistic and refreshing. A few surprises and curve balls come at you making this anything but predictable. I particularly loved the teaser chapters that occasionally skip to the near future. It was artfully done. The plot still flowed and was never choppy. I enjoyed every minute of it and cannot wait until the story continues.

    Hugh Howey you are not a nobody but a hidden gem. Thank you for gifting us this phenomenal read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    This is seriously sooo frakking good - I couldn't put it down.

    This is seriously sooo frakking good - I couldn't put it down. Absolutely perfect. I can't wait to read #6 (First Shift - Legacy, just bought it for my Nook) and then the author's other books! Read it, now! You will be glad you did. I read CONSTANTLY and I am pretty sure this is my first ever book review - it's that good. :~)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Skeptical at first but it really is good

    There was a scene at the bottom if the silo which I won't spoil, but it was when I realized that I cared about the characters and was pulling for them as if they were real. What fun it is to be swept up, forget that I am reading, and to slip into the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Wait! What?

    The book was very good at the beggining but took an unexplained turn after Houston died. It shouldn't have been put in the science fiction section

    2 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Excellent Series

    Hugh Howey has created a complete and rounded society in a dystopian future. I have read all three of the books in this series. Just finished DUST, the third book. I have enjoyed them tremendously. Great characters, a plot that often keeps you on the edge of your proverbial seat, and an addictive story that caused me to often stay up waaaay past a reasonable bedtime. I gave this book (and the other two - SHIFT and DUST) five stars. They deserve that rating. Do not miss this great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    A real downer of a read

    First of all, I want to state that this ebook IS very well written, it is just not a light, enjoyable story. If I had only purchased the first story by itself I would have never bought 2-4. I also do not care for a book where each chapter features different characters. If you are into depressing, post apocalyptic tales it is a great book though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    I first read Wool Omnibus last summer on my Nook while camping


    I first read Wool Omnibus last summer on my Nook while camping at the beach with my grandkiddies. I read with many distractions of little kids huddled in my tent, fireworks going off, people talking loud all around my campsite, etc. In other words, it was very LOUD. It didn't matter. I was enthralled and flipped from Wool 1 to 2 through to 5 within a few days even with all the noise. Hugh Howey's talent as a writer has put him in the big leagues going from working at a bookstore to traveling the world doing TV shows, interviews, book signings, you name it! When his book was published in hardback a few weeks ago, I snatched up a 1st edition and have spent the last week rereading this amazing book, this time in the quiet and comfort of my home! It was even better the second time around!

    Set in a, hopefully, distant future, the descendents of survivors live in a silo deep beneath the earth. The characters, the world building and the story is absolutely amazing and I devoured it again!!

    My signed copy of Shift Omnibus Edition just arrived and I plan to reread each story continuously just as eagerly as I did when each was released. I cannot get enough of this world of Wool that Howey has created. Well done, sir! Very well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    GREAT READ

    This wasn't my usual genre, but once I got into the story and the characters it was hard to put down. Give it a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Insightful

    Wow. This post-apocalyptic world confined to a silo shaped underground city is fascinating and amazingly believable. Juliette, our main character, is strong and inspiring. I read the omnibus in 2 days. The questions after the epilogue were a cherry on top :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    First off, Wool is five stars for an indie self-pub. Howey deser

    First off, Wool is five stars for an indie self-pub. Howey deserves all the praise he’s received for this collection and I can’t wait to read more from him. That being said, Wool is not without it’s flaws. The first book is five stars and a must-read, but the second installment meandered a bit and slogged until the surprise ending. After that, the third book rocketed back into action and the mystery kept building through the forth and fifth installments. However, an inclusion of characters in the end felt illogical and forced, as if they were only used to amp up the tension. This, along with a slightly dissatisfying ending, were the only flaws in an otherwise stellar tale. Still, don’t let this minor nitpicking detract anyone from reading this awesome series, since Wool is a terrific post-apocalyptic thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great Book

    Wool is a great page turne which I wholely recommend. I stayed up far too late just to see what happens next.

    I look forward to reading the next one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Wood is very well written and I liked the characters, but it lef

    Wood is very well written and I liked the characters, but it left too many unanswered questions. Just when I started to get into it and really engaged it was over and left me feeling unfulfilled. I think reading the whole Wool series or the omnibus would probably take care of all that but Wool on its own is just OK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    This one will suck you right in!

    If anyone is looking for a great futuristic science fiction read, I HIGHLY recommend Wool. It had me from the very first (short) chapter! I finished reading this over two weeks ago and have read 2 other books since then, but I can't stop thinking about this one. I don't want to give anything away so I can't say anything more other than WOW! Great Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Amazing!

    I was actually a bit unsure of this book and started by only purchasing the first Wool- which turned out to be a waste of a dollar and precious time since the very instant I finished it I just *had* to have the rest! I promptly ordered the Wool Omnibus and was enthralled and delighted by this really quite grim book/series.
    Though I understand this is a collection that was originally published as 5 short story to novella length works I know this only by other reviews and writings. The story flowed effortlessly and the Omnibus truly feels like a book and not any sort of collection.
    The basic story is easily enough found elsewhere so I won't repeat it here other than to say that the outline really doesn't do it justice. The story is intriguing, faced paced dispute multiple layers of plot, and rich with details. Though the story is never bogged down by description the Silo, its people, and the slowly touched upon outside world come to vibrant, if sometime desolate, life within these pages.
    The characters in Wool, and in someways the Silo with all its history is a character too, are incredibly rich. You can't help but love the good guys and hate the bad guys but even more impressive is that you can't help but feel at least some sympathy with *everyone*. In some ways, as will become clearly only toward the end, no one is purely a 'bad guy' in this story. Even the people who commit the worst actions have genuine motivation and are even arguably correct in their choices when considered against the greater background.
    If you enjoy end of the world, dystopian or character driven writing you can't miss this book! There are very few books I recommend without any caveats but this one is worthy of that honor. Buy it. This one, not the individual ones. You won't regret it. Then when you get done, read the Shift Omnibus which is both prequel and sequel to this one and join me in the impatient waiting for the final trilogy , Dust, which has yet to be released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    A fantastic book

    This is a fantastic book -- well-written and well-edited. It's long but builds fairly quickly. Good for fans of "dystopian future" SF, but plenty of hope & positive personalities keep it from being as brutal & sad to read as many others are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 524 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27