Customer Reviews for

Word Mix

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

This game really helps pass the time, it's fun, easy enough to figure out and you keep getting to learn new words. The only thing is, when you're done with a game if you want to know what a word's description is, you must have WiFi access because it needs the internet i...
This game really helps pass the time, it's fun, easy enough to figure out and you keep getting to learn new words. The only thing is, when you're done with a game if you want to know what a word's description is, you must have WiFi access because it needs the internet in order to review word descriptions. Other than that I love it and highly recommend.

posted by readrgrl on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Word mix tiring

Keeps you guessing until you have words, many unknown. You can look them up at end of level. I find myself getting tired of rearranging letters. I cant figure out the scoring, but that doesn' t really matter. The game does make it easy to find words that you haven' t...
Keeps you guessing until you have words, many unknown. You can look them up at end of level. I find myself getting tired of rearranging letters. I cant figure out the scoring, but that doesn' t really matter. The game does make it easy to find words that you haven' t guessed yet. I wish there was a enter button to use rather than just Guess. Overall it has me coming back to play even though it is not perfect!

posted by 567302 on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Love it!

    This game really helps pass the time, it's fun, easy enough to figure out and you keep getting to learn new words. The only thing is, when you're done with a game if you want to know what a word's description is, you must have WiFi access because it needs the internet in order to review word descriptions. Other than that I love it and highly recommend.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good copy of Text Twist

    It's text twist for the Nook. If you like Text Twist you will like this.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Fun and educational

    Yes, some of the words we had not heard before, but the links to the definitions are useful and help us expand our vocabulary. My 10 year-old daughter likes to play with me, and is learning new words :-) If the timed version is too fast, we can always go to the untimed one.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Text Twist for Nook

    For those of you who know and enjoy text twist or word whomp, this is your game. Clean interface, simple, self-explanatory, timed and untimed modes. Enjoy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    ADDICTIVE !

    Never boring. Never freezes up. All my adult kids and grandkids love this game. The children can find lots of the basic words, while adults will be challenged to complete the levels. Scores post and you get bonuses for good play. What more would a word lover want in a game ? It never disappoints. Never.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great brain exercise!

    Found this game because I was looking for a game like a friend's Kindle"Every Word." Really challenges you!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Lots of fun

    This is so addicting! I keep wanting to play one more game. I like to do the puzzle and try to get all the words.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Wonderful fun game....

    If you love Text Twist, then this is the game for you. Just like Text Twist, but you get the occasional reward after some rounds (ie extended timer, super hints and retries if you fail a board). Love it, love it, love it. Really worth the money. I play this game for hours (untill my nook dies). So much fun. You also get the option if looking up the definition of any words you don't know at the end of each round. Cannot say enough good things about this game.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    As good as it gets...

    If you like the Jumble puzzle in the newspaper, this is definitely the app for you. The developers seem to have put serious thought and effort into selecting the dictionaries for this game. It's definitely not perfect, but it's much, MUCH better than for most computer games, which are often ruined by bad word lists. Quibbles: the easy dictionary excludes some words I'd consider reasonably common, like the names of Greek letters; the full dictionary occasionally requires that one provide ridiculously obscure words like planche and ruddle in order to continue the game. (Entering semi-random strings of letters in hopes of stumbling upon what the game requires is NOT FUN.) PLUSES: Many options, including different dictionaries (though even the easy list is probably still hard for kids); ability to set the time limit for game mode (1-10 minutes); "last word" button that saves time in entering, say, a word and then its plural; links to look up words in the list. SUGGESTIONS: For the next version, it would be nice to add a "back" or "clear" button so that one could easily correct a wrong letter. I also agree with previous reviewers that the submit/enter button should be labeled "submit" instead of "guess," and that puzzle mode should have a "next puzzle" option, rather than requiring the solver to complete the list. SUMMARY: Well worth the 99 cents!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Word mix tiring

    Keeps you guessing until you have words, many unknown. You can look them up at end of level. I find myself getting tired of rearranging letters. I cant figure out the scoring, but that doesn' t really matter. The game does make it easy to find words that you haven' t guessed yet. I wish there was a enter button to use rather than just Guess. Overall it has me coming back to play even though it is not perfect!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Move over Text Twist!

    This is a great competitor to a fun anagram word game. If you're a wordsmith this is the game for you!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    I need help, I payed for this but ofcourse it has taken two days to insyall but it isnt

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    The game is going back to 0 points all of a sudden. It has done

    The game is going back to 0 points all of a sudden. It has done it twice today. Anyone else having problems? Takes the fun out of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Very addicting, fun and I'm crossing my fingers for it to stay t

    Very addicting, fun and I'm crossing my fingers for it to stay that way " )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not Working!!!

    I love this game! It is wonderful reminds me of Text Twist. But, for the past three days it has not been WORKING!! It doesnt even open, it FORECLOSES everytime I try to open it. Can somebody anybody PLEASE FIX IT!!! THANK YOU!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    HIGH SCORE FREEZES

    When you get in the top 25 or so the high score does not increase so the game is a huge disappointment.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great:)

    Its very fun but some of those words I dont know.But otherwise...totally fun!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Sad

    Its taking waay too long to install :( waaaaaaa i wana play!














    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Addicting!

    I bought this on a whim and now my husband and I can't stop playing it! Even on Easy Mode, it's a challenge. I recommend this for anyone who has a way with words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Works great on nook

    I bought some other aps and they dont work as well as this one. Fun game!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5