Customer Reviews for

Word of Honor

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

You will not regret this purchase

I always wanted to know more about the Vietnam War. Word of Honor was such a moving experience for me. I will never know how it was like because I was not there but I think I understand the veterans more because of reading this book. Also I know a few veterans of that w...
I always wanted to know more about the Vietnam War. Word of Honor was such a moving experience for me. I will never know how it was like because I was not there but I think I understand the veterans more because of reading this book. Also I know a few veterans of that war as well. I would recommend this book to anyone! It is wonderful and heartbreaking.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chrissy

Aytekin go to the next result please.

posted by Tinks_Bell on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    You will not regret this purchase

    I always wanted to know more about the Vietnam War. Word of Honor was such a moving experience for me. I will never know how it was like because I was not there but I think I understand the veterans more because of reading this book. Also I know a few veterans of that war as well. I would recommend this book to anyone! It is wonderful and heartbreaking.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    One of the Best Books I Have Read in a Long Time

    A story about unassumig gallantry and honor in a place and time where there was none. It may seem slow at times, but read it to the end. It won't disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    Engrossing and devastating

    This is a very powerful book...I first read it over ten years ago, and it was just as fresh and captivating this time around. A strongly developed character, fighting past demons and current devils, against the agonizing and dehabilitating backdrop of Vietnam. A devastating surprise ending which will take your breath away. This is current American fiction at its best.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Tedious

    Interesting bit very tedious read. Wouldn't rrcommmend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Chrissy

    Aytekin go to the next result please.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is yet another excellent and well written book by Nelson DeMille.

    Eighteen years after being shipped out of Viet Nam due to injury, a successful New York businessman is found to be the main character in a recently published bestseller. Lieutenant Ben Tyson is a young platoon officer in the midst of the 1968 Tet Offensive in Hue, V.N. He is also accused, in the book, of being a sadistic mass murderer of wounded North Viet Nam soldiers, innocent civilians and hospital staff. This young officer has carried this secret and burden which is now exposed to family, friends and community at large. DeMille carefully exposes where this leads Lieutenant Tyson; his relationship with wife, son and friends. How exposing this secret has opened wounds beyond the imagination. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to either know more about societies opinions on Viet Nam during the late 60’s or wanting to know the pain a soldier experiences in war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Gripping tale

    I was prepared to be underwhelmed, but as a true DeMille fan read it nonetheless. It became apparent almost immediately this one would be hard to walk away from until finished. The plot was very believeable and I'm sure things like that happened all the time. Lt. Tyson's character was brilliantly portrayed. At times, he was sympathetic, endearing, frustrating and heroic. The suspense built to a final ending that was touching. The emotion I felt reading the last few pages surprised me. Absolutely a must read if you have any interest in the Viet Nam era especially if you did not serve and would like an inside peak into the brutality of that war. Great book. Bravo from another LIer (age 59) now living in Burlington, VT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Highly recommended !

    Excellent book! I intend to read all his books. I definitely recommend this book for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I recommend this book highly

    This is an excellent story of the way the horrors and affects of the Vietnam war stayed with the men who fought; long after they thought it was over. Well developed characters and story line. Though the book was written 25 years ago it is still current in what the men and women in the military have to face. DeMille has been and is still one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    This is a powerful, well developed story built around an intrigu

    This is a powerful, well developed story built around an intriguing main character. I know that I will reread it. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Another fantastic Demille work

    Once again I was captivated by Demille's ability to tell a great story. One of my fav writers and he did it again, a compkex story that I couldn't put down. Read this if you grew up watching Viet Nam on the evening news, a very deep look into the horrors of what went on and the aftermath. I can't wait for the next Demille book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    One of the best books I've ever read. It tries to bring the read

    One of the best books I've ever read. It tries to bring the reader some understanding and comprehension to the horrors of
    and atrocities of war. At the same time the book, while full of brilliant dialogues, is fast paced and with sufficient humor  to keep turning page after page. Congratulations to Nelson DeMille.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Not DeMille's best work by far. Entertaining but not captivating

    Not DeMille's best work by far. Entertaining but not captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Couldn't put it down

    Excellent control over the readers interest...I loved the way DeMille did not disclose the truth until the very end of the book...DeMille needs to rethink the sex scenes, 'slam bam, thank you mam' was not my choice of what to put in this book. A little romance would have been a better choice for my liking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    Great Book

    Demille is certainly a master of the literary world. His attention to detail is commendable, but in Word of Honor, his detail tends to slow the novel down to the point of near frustration at times. Great story that is no doubt told in an accurate and awe inspiring manner. Set in the post vietnam era when the realities of war are no more than a movie or novel to most of us, Word of Honor is so well written that it is a must read if you lived throught the Vietnam War and have an interest in it. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    outstanding

    Another outstanding Book by Nelson DeMille. As always written with such impact and knowledge that can only come from someone who has been there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Gets better and better

    As I started this book I did not like the central character, but that is a device, and by the time he was fighting for his freedom I was wholly on his side. This is I think a lot better book than the other two DeMille books I have read (By the Waters of Babylon, and Cathedral)and it really caught me up emotionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    WOW!

    An adverture in each chapter and a new mystery on every page. The dialogue is the best DeMille has offered so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3