Customer Reviews for

Words With Friends

Average Rating 3
( 4510 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1747)

4 Star

(547)

3 Star

(427)

2 Star

(391)

1 Star

(1398)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

699 out of 1004 people found this review helpful.

Yay!

Love this version! Compatable with your Facebook game and no waiting between plays!

posted by 10009489 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

459 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Great fun and play at your own pace!

This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room...
This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room like normal scrabble. Its also great because it allows you to play at whatever pace you want. You can take as long or as short of a time to play your word as you want. And generally people are perfectly satisfyed to wait as you can have many many games open with different people. So with lots of ongoing opponents its hard to not have a word to find in one of the games. Overall a great app and id recommend it to anyone. If youre upwet because on other androids and on ios words with friends is free, dont be because those free versions have annoying adds and this one doesnt. This version is also specifially optimized for the nook products and runs excellently. Hope you guys give this app a chance. Happy gaming!
-Silente

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1398 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 70
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Horrible Update

    This new update is horrible. The whole reason I purchased this ap for my Nook was to have a larger screen to play on. The new update forces you to landscape mode with a tiny playing board. Definitely NOT worth the money. Please bring back the old version!!!

    348 out of 394 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Grr

    Anyone else having issues with it force closing when u makeba word on nook tablet?

    348 out of 444 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Wont be playing this ...too hard to see

    Hate the new version. We need the old one back, screen is split into three and the play board and tiles are way, way too small. Please go back!

    347 out of 411 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Update Ruined the Game

    My complaint is the same as others. The play area is much too small on the update. Nook owners should have the option of getting the old version back. What sense does it make to take the game and make it obviously worse?

    347 out of 406 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Old version please!!!!

    Why did they have to update it? It was perfectly fine the way it was with NO ADS! A paid app should not have ads on it. Hit "yes" below if you want the old version back! I know I want it!

    347 out of 355 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Hate new update

    I updated yesterday and its horrible. My screen is very small now and the only way I can get into it is by facebook. If I wanted a small screen I would buy a smartphone. I tried to email the makers but my email came back due to wrong address which is the one they had. Please fix it and give me back my big screen.

    347 out of 395 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Annonymous

    Used to be my fave but then the format changed. I can't see the whole board at once and the tiles are so small i hardly ever get the one i am trying to grab. Plus they started having ads after every play. I want the oldone back!

    347 out of 394 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Don't update!!

    New update is no good. Only displays landscape, does not even show the entire board, cannot place letters on the correct squares, can't close the chat window or game list.

    Currently this app is unusable and a complete waste of money.

    347 out of 399 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    New update ruined app

    Updated this app on November 1st....was addicted to this game. Great way to stay in touch with friends and family. BUT update has ruined this app. Screen is now in landscape and tiles are so small that I can't even see them. Plus I keep getting error message when I try to get help. Please, please, please change this app back. Game is now worthless. Don't buy.

    346 out of 396 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Please fix this version

    I wish I had read the recent reviews of the 'update'. This is horrible ! Please fix so I can see the game on the FULL nook screen again.

    346 out of 401 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Unplayable with latest update!

    Can't get out of landscape mode... Can't see the bottom row of letters... Can't place lettrers correctly... Even if it worked, everything looks too small in this "only landscape" version. Come on, Zynga, how about some testing??

    346 out of 397 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Fellow nook players,do not up-date your game!!

    This up-date is AWFUL for the nook!! You can only play the game horizontal,the screen is split into 3 sections the middle being your game board - which is soo small (I don't need glasses to read and I have a hard time seeing). The tiles are extremely hard to move and place......don't think I will be playing anymore and I have 5 to 6 games going normaly

    Please fix quickly!

    I used to rate this a 4 and 1/2

    346 out of 399 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    HORRIBLE UPDATE

    Please fix this game! This is my favorite game on my NOOK tablet and it is a useless game now with the letters so small and it being in landscape mode. I have never written a review, but I am so disappointed and frustrated, I had to. Needs new update where we can actually see bottom of the board!

    345 out of 401 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Hate new layout!

    I enjoyed playing but Not after an update! Cant see score, cant see the play buttons AND its difficult to see last letter played on word. I want the old version back!

    326 out of 376 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    ?...............

    This is a fun app but if its free on everything else why isnt it free for the nook.

    283 out of 402 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    I HATE this new update. I wish that I had read the review previous to updating.

    I want my big screen and easy touch back!

    235 out of 276 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Thought this was a free app?

    I refuse to pay for this when I can get it for free elsewhere. It's not enough that I paid for the Nook already AND buy books?

    224 out of 375 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Are u serious its free on ipods and other stuff but not this woww

    213 out of 348 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD NEW UPDATE

    New update for Nook is horrible! It forces you to play in a landscape mode with no optionsnto change. PLAY option is not there either! Needs to be corrected immediately! Has made a fun game impossible to play! Wish i could give it 0 stars.

    197 out of 219 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Please update!!!!!!!

    I absolutly loved this game until the update and now the game screen is locked sideways only, on my nook color. And now the letters are all small and i can barely play anymore!!!!! Please fix!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    192 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1398 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 70