Customer Reviews for

Words With Friends

Average Rating 3
( 4472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1739)

4 Star

(547)

3 Star

(425)

2 Star

(387)

1 Star

(1374)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

688 out of 987 people found this review helpful.

Yay!

Love this version! Compatable with your Facebook game and no waiting between plays!

posted by 10009489 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

459 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Great fun and play at your own pace!

This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room...
This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room like normal scrabble. Its also great because it allows you to play at whatever pace you want. You can take as long or as short of a time to play your word as you want. And generally people are perfectly satisfyed to wait as you can have many many games open with different people. So with lots of ongoing opponents its hard to not have a word to find in one of the games. Overall a great app and id recommend it to anyone. If youre upwet because on other androids and on ios words with friends is free, dont be because those free versions have annoying adds and this one doesnt. This version is also specifially optimized for the nook products and runs excellently. Hope you guys give this app a chance. Happy gaming!
-Silente

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    New updated version

    Ever since the update the program does not work right! Everytime I hit submit, it goes back to the start screen without playing the move! Anyone else having this problem?

    345 out of 423 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Hate the update!!!!!!!

    Just opened my app and everything is smaller, all jammed on the same screen at the same time ! Can't change it back and I can't stand it. The letters are so small it is frustrating! Put it back

    95 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Words frustration

    Did an update on this game yesterday and I hate the screen now, it is too little and hard to play. Does anyone know how to change the screen back to the way it was before?

    51 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Watch out

    I loaned my Nook to a visitor to play Words. There is no way to log her out and log in again as myself! The only way would be to set myself up as a new user! No way to reset the game either!

    51 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this game, but the newest update is horrible. When I bought this game a couple of months ago, there weren't any ads disrupting my games. However now ads pop up which I think is unfair considering this is a paid-for app. Also, the menu at the bottom is very small and hard to read. The small menu also has caused me to hit the wrong button as they are squished together. I want to be able to undo the update.

    40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    New update

    Recent update causes board to be off centered on screen and cuts off bottom row of game. In other words unable to play game. I was told that Barnes and Noble was aware of the problem and was informed to check daily for updates. After 10 days an update was finally available but did not fix the problem. Its really a shame that I paid for this game but am unable to play it without problems.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    New update

    I am not happy with this new update. The choices on bottom are so small which makes it hard to see. Also, whats up with ads now? I paid for this app so why are there ads now? Change it to the other format!!

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Update?

    Do not like the new format on my Nook. Can only access the game sideways, the screen is so small now. Need the room to advertise? I want to be able to play the game full screen. Definitely not a positive update. Bring back the former version.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Hate the new update!

    Hate the screen size since the latest update. The game never fully loads at the bottom, and the notifications are slow. Very hard to move tiles unless you increase screen size. I have been avoiding playing on my nook since the update. :(

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Was Good...

    Ever since the format was updated to all be on one screen, this game has ben horrible. You can't change the size of anything, making everything painfully small. I don't enjoy squinting to see what letter I just picked up (Now it picks up the wrong ones all too often). It won't let me play a new game, it makes me resign after a day, an dit often crashes and randomizes all the apps on my Nook. I'd pass until thos is resolved.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    The new update!

    I cant stand the new update, the screen is so small its hard to see, its off center you can not see the last row, the letter you want is hard to grab. Yucki!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Upgrade

    I recently got the latest upgrade on my nook and I totally hate it. It's to small and difficult to manage. You can't access you account to change settings. Just awful.




    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Dont like it anymore

    Loved the app until the latest update. You cant even see the whole game board on your nook at one time! And it turned so its sideways now instead of up and down. Not wanting to play anymore. Its going to be too hard when you cant see entire board...how are you supposed to know where you can place a word?!?!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    updated version of this app (updated November 2012) has ruined a

    updated version of this app (updated November 2012) has ruined an otherwise fun app. Would have given it 5 stars before the update. Now two is being very, very generous.
    Even if I get my magnifying glass out to see the tiles in the now much smaller rile rack. I can rarely get the right tile selected. As for putting it where I would like it to go, that's very hit or miss after this update. Can't even see the whole board. Friends have commented that they don't see me play any more. I would not now buy it. If they change the format to a better one (the previous version worked just fine), then do consider re-visiting your idea to purchase this game. Currently, would not recommend and certainly wouldn't buy it. (Used to be such a fan, too!)

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Version 5.5.4 still has problems

    5.5.1 was a disaster that rendered the game unusable. I was excited to see the update but unfortunately 5.5.4 is not much of an improvement. The game is still only available in landscape and you still can't see the entire board and have to enlarge the board (so that less is visible) to place letters. It's playable now if you're very familiar with the board and letter values and are willing to put up with some aggravation but not nearly as enjoyable as it was with the larger screen.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    New update is awful !

    New update is AWFUL !!! Need a magnifying glass to see the scores. Pleas fix it.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Hate the upgrade!

    This was so fun until it upgraded.....can barely see the letters now! Is there any way to go back to the old format with a bigger playing screen?

    ~ss~

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Wwf app

    New version is horrible, please return to previous version

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Bad bad

    Are u not going to reinstate the old version of WWF? The app I bought from u to begin with, although it was free anywhere else Barns and Noble? You must stand behind your customers,who have bought into the B&N stores....who liked the feel and design of their nook or other devise they bought from you.....I did not pay for a landscape tiny board , not the same lay out I signed up for one year ago. Nor did I sign up to play this game thur facebook. My ,are we beginning to lose our private decisions to big buy outs? I keep looking for my old large screen version that I log into....myself! If u Nook owners agree please....let Barns and Noble know we are not happy...Lost all games and some new friends, can't find on this joke of a game board. NO STARS HAD TO TO GET ON HERE!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Not good update

    No ads on nook color but bottom icons are too small. Board is same as before though.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20