Customer Reviews for

Words With Friends

Average Rating 3
( 4574 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1760)

4 Star

(553)

3 Star

(438)

2 Star

(400)

1 Star

(1423)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

722 out of 1038 people found this review helpful.

Yay!

Love this version! Compatable with your Facebook game and no waiting between plays!

posted by 10009489 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

459 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Great fun and play at your own pace!

This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room...
This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room like normal scrabble. Its also great because it allows you to play at whatever pace you want. You can take as long or as short of a time to play your word as you want. And generally people are perfectly satisfyed to wait as you can have many many games open with different people. So with lots of ongoing opponents its hard to not have a word to find in one of the games. Overall a great app and id recommend it to anyone. If youre upwet because on other androids and on ios words with friends is free, dont be because those free versions have annoying adds and this one doesnt. This version is also specifially optimized for the nook products and runs excellently. Hope you guys give this app a chance. Happy gaming!
-Silente

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Update screwed it up

    I just updated words with friends...it changed the format and now it won't work on my nook...it was fine before the update.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Should be free!!

    This is a really fun game. It is a free app for most other devices but not for Nook!

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Has too many Tech issues

    This app has many tech issues and NOT easy to get in touch with anyone in support, last update made screen super small and set in horizontal mode no fixes for weeks many have complained BN suggested to uninstall and reinstall but that forces another purchase.... DO NOT recommend

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Used to love

    I loved this so much better when I had the bigger game board.
    Not so since I upgraded the app and the game board is smaller and there are flashing ads. I should just play on my phone.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Words with friends

    This is agreat game,however the upgrade has left me &many others very unhappy. Please go back to the original format as the board is to small to play on. Hopefully you will do this promptly.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    New update

    The new update for the NOOK IS TERRIBLE, now it freezes up between EVERY PLAY!!!!! It will not show the tile board half the time it is a blank blue screen and you have to close it out and reopen. DO NOT GET THE UPDATED VERSION FOR THE NOOK, it also goes from being a full size tile board to a little tile board!!! VERY CRAPPY UPDATE!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Ugh!

    I had this app for a while now and it got this update and needs me to sign in with my facebook acciunt and every time I try it says, " An error has occured. Please try again later." So now I cant play! HELP! ANY SEGESTIONS? -I have a nook color.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Update

    Whatever you do DONOT update words with friends. I don't like the landscape view. The letters are sooo small and I don't like how you get see all of your world unless you zoom in the game board. Please fix this!!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Ugh!

    Do not like the newest version! Letters are hard to move, screen is in landscape mode only and too small overall. Also don't like the chat window being open all of the time. Please go back to the old version.
    If it ain't broke don't fix it.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Who thought that this was a good idea! Now the screen is so smal

    Who thought that this was a good idea! Now the screen is so small you can hardly see the letters and it is in landscape format with all sorts of info that I do not want or need while playing a game. Please change this back. Also, my name changed on my games, same game I was playing but with different name. This is not what I paid for. I gave it one star because no stars was not an option.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Love the game, not the upgrades

    The latest upgrades on Words are awful. The playing screen is now one third of the size it was, letters are so small they are almost impossible to get the correct one. Now there are ads taking up the recently limited space. This was not a free app on the Nook market, why is the game being supplemented with ads?
    I loved this app before the upgrade. I can only hope enough complaints are received so the app designers will return the game to its former glory.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Update

    The new update for the nook crams 3 screens into one making gameplay more difficult. I don't know how many times I've picked up the wrong letter or dropped one in the wrong space because they have shrunk compared to the previous version.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Was a great app....until the update

    I loved this app when I first got it about a year ago. It worked great on my nook. Then when I checked for updates and did the update just recently, it force closes all the time and then you have to log into facebook in order to access the app. Why should I have to have a facebook account to play this app? And then once I logged onto facebook, just to play, all my games were gone! Not loving it now.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Bad update!

    This latest update is terrible! Every time I try to open the chat feature, it kicks me back to the home screen! The buttons at the bottom are now so small and close together they are hard to use!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    New update

    The latest update will not let me acess my messages. Also, it is zoomed out of the screen and board somuch, at times it can be hard to see the letters without zooming in. The red circle that displays the point value is blury. You can bearly read the part that displays the usernames in the bottom left. Overall the game is great, but bring back the old update or ut out a new update to fix these problems.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I WANT THE OLD VERSION

    The new update is HORABLE why is the screen split up an horizontal realy so stupid wouldn't recomend until they fix it

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    New updates sucks for nook tablet

    Made the font size to and screen too small. I tried to change ot back before the update. However there no options to do so.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Game stalls

    Half the time my game works, the other half it doesnt. The upgrade is awful. It wont recognize my user profile or load current games.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No More Ads!!!!!!!

    Why did I start getting ads? I paid for this app so I shouldn't be getting any advertisements just because I updated. I want the ads to stop NOW!!!!! Also, the reformatted screen is a big step backwards. Used to be 5 stars. Now 2.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    My wife can not play this on the new nook tablet that I bought

    My wife can not play this on the new nook tablet that I bought her last week, it does play fine on the nook color so I'm disappointed with the tablet, it doesn't seem as good as I thought it would be. Also from the reviews I've seen I guess I'm glad not to have this app.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20