Customer Reviews for

Words With Friends

Average Rating 3
( 4550 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1759)

4 Star

(550)

3 Star

(433)

2 Star

(395)

1 Star

(1413)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

710 out of 1023 people found this review helpful.

Yay!

Love this version! Compatable with your Facebook game and no waiting between plays!

posted by 10009489 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

459 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Great fun and play at your own pace!

This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room...
This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room like normal scrabble. Its also great because it allows you to play at whatever pace you want. You can take as long or as short of a time to play your word as you want. And generally people are perfectly satisfyed to wait as you can have many many games open with different people. So with lots of ongoing opponents its hard to not have a word to find in one of the games. Overall a great app and id recommend it to anyone. If youre upwet because on other androids and on ios words with friends is free, dont be because those free versions have annoying adds and this one doesnt. This version is also specifially optimized for the nook products and runs excellently. Hope you guys give this app a chance. Happy gaming!
-Silente

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 433 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Bring back the previous version

    Would be 5 stars, but the upgrade sucks! I liked the single screen portrait view. I hate this three screen view. The game board is too small and hard to maneuver around in. Don't need to see the game list while playing, don't need to see chat while playing, just need to play! At least make the old view an option. Then I'll give 5 stars.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Zyngas latest update for Words With Friends.

    Zynga your latest update was dissapointing to Me and many others on Nook devices. I have a nookcolor even though my screen is not in landscape view the function buttons such as Play, Rematch, Pass and so on are all smaller, much smaller than I like, Sometimes I hit the wrong button since they are so close together. If I were to change any thing it would be, to make the function tiles bigger, and to make the names in the bottom left corner bigger. Thank you Zynga for your time.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Ok, i was screaming at my nok just like everyone else. I tried

    Ok, i was screaming at my nok just like everyone else. I tried to update through the nook icon. I hit the apps button and searched for updates. It tried to update, but did not really update the game. So i tried again. And then the nook told me there was no updates needed, everything us apdated....... i came across a reveiw saying to archive the game and then unarchive it. It worked!!! Thank you. So try to search for updates first and if that does not work, try to archive it. So many hoops to jump through...... would have given 5 stars if easier to update game when needed. Otherwise i love this game!!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Sucks now

    After thhe update when i go on words and click on a game yhe game does not load so i cannot play i almost broke my nook because i became so frustrated

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Dont like the new look.

    Had this game on my nook. play with face book friends. loved it but needed to change password couldnt use game no more so i deleted it and bought it again now its so small dont like the look of it no more.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Love the game, hate the new update. The game and letters are so

    Love the game, hate the new update. The game and letters are so small it is hard to play it. Please change back to old style!!! I do not even want to play it the way it is now. I guess I should have bought a Kindle, it is still in full screen version.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Love this game....

    Words does NOT WORK on the Nook Tablet!!! I would love my money back!! What a waste! (scam?) the letters are too small to touch, and then when you manage to gram one, it goes wherever it wants to go!! Impossibler! (And I saw many reviews that agree. How about doing something to compensate unhappy customers, Barnes and Noble???)

    well...this doesn't work either!! Batting 100% I may have to return this thing!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Keeps crashing

    I have this app on my nook tablet. After I play a word, itcrashes! Very annoying...still a fun game so gets 3 stars

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    nook WWF

    I love it when it works. It will suddenly just stop sending my opponents plays. I can only fix it by uninstalling and reinstalling.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Some flaws

    I couldnt seem to get words with friends to work on my nook through facebook and finally decided to buy this app. It is nice that it links to fb so i can play with my contacts but...the letter tiles are so small i cannot see their point value, the tiles never seem to drop into the right square unless you are zoomed in, it doesnt show the word value until after i play i play it, and quite often it stalls and/or doesnt show my playing board. I have all the recent updates and ive often shut down my nook and restarted it to try to get the game working again. Its good (when it works) but still has some flaws. Especially for $2.99!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I brough this app for my nook. I had trouble with logging onto t

    I brough this app for my nook. I had trouble with logging onto the internet so i had to reset my nook back to the factory. By doing that im having trouble getting back on to words with friends. I even tryied buying it again and it said i already have it. When trying to log on to this app its saying not compatiable with my nook. Dont buy or reset your nook.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Crashing

    Crashing after every play. Fun when it was working.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    New words with friends

    They have given the game a whole new look on my phone. Because i paid for this game for the nook. We should be able to get the new update too. Also doesn't show leaderboard and doesn't tell me when people play. I paid for this game i think that we who paid should have ALL the features that are available on google play.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No ads!

    I paid for this game, there should be no ads forced on me. Poor business practice. Also, make the buttons a little bigger, please! I have small fingers, but they feel huge playing this game. And the score bubble covers the last letter in the word that was just played. Surely app developers are capable of finding a better way of doing that?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Finally!

    Zynga finally fixed the landscape problem WWF was having on nook tablet. Now i can play again...for those of u who have had the same problem...if u update now u will get your game back. The only reason it is not getting five stars from me now is because of the ads. I paid for this app! Why am i now getting ads?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Better------

    When I first purchased this app, I rated it a 5. Loved it!! Then after the last update, I rated a 1 - would have given it a zero if I could have. Now - thank you for listening Zynga - it's better. Not great, but better. I will start using the app again. If you could have returned it to the pre-November update that would have been best. And what's with the ads?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Fix this game!

    I've been playing wwf on my nook for over a year and recently it has had so many issues not being able to sign in for facebook friends. I am NOT the only Nook player with this issue. How do we resolve this???? Other issues are slow moves and the player name id's back and forth between zynga names and reg icons. Very frustrating. I've archived and rebooted many times!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    THANK YOU!

    Thank you for partially fixing the WWF. I can now see it to play. The ads are slowing eveything down and causing glitches. I wouldn't mind a single add that changes upon opening the game, but the constant change seems to effect the game causing it to close down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Cool but...

    Awesome and addictive but 2.99? Really i mean its free on my ipod but nook has to make money somehow!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Stopped working

    Words stopped working on my nook. Dont want to delete/uninstall/reinstall because i had to pay for this FREE game!! While it was working, it worked great. Would love some help with this... btw, thanks Barnes and Noble for charging for apps that should be free :-(

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 433 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22