Customer Reviews for

Words With Friends

Average Rating 3
( 4479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1742)

4 Star

(547)

3 Star

(426)

2 Star

(388)

1 Star

(1376)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

692 out of 992 people found this review helpful.

Yay!

Love this version! Compatable with your Facebook game and no waiting between plays!

posted by 10009489 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

459 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Great fun and play at your own pace!

This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room...
This is a great game for any nook owner. Its basically scrabble but with you playing with either your friends (as the name states) or with a random opponent from anywhere around the world. There is an option to pass your nook back and forth to another person in the room like normal scrabble. Its also great because it allows you to play at whatever pace you want. You can take as long or as short of a time to play your word as you want. And generally people are perfectly satisfyed to wait as you can have many many games open with different people. So with lots of ongoing opponents its hard to not have a word to find in one of the games. Overall a great app and id recommend it to anyone. If youre upwet because on other androids and on ios words with friends is free, dont be because those free versions have annoying adds and this one doesnt. This version is also specifially optimized for the nook products and runs excellently. Hope you guys give this app a chance. Happy gaming!
-Silente

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 547 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    If you pay for it, there's no advertising.

    I know everyone says they'd rather get the app for free, but if you pay for it, there's no advertising. I find advertising annoying, and am glad to have paid for it for no ridiculous interuptions.

    67 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    :)

    Awesome! So glad there is finally a verison on my nook!

    60 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Go to your aps page and hit update.

    There are severalposts on this already! Just go to your library hit apps andon the top right is a choice to update any apps that have updates available. Youdo not have to re-buy the update.

    45 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Worth it

    This plays so much better than on facebook. No ads and smooth.

    38 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    HATE UPGRADE

    I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS UPGRADE... CHANGE IT BACK OR FIX IT OR RETURN MY MONEY. VERY DISAPPOINTED! IM A DAILY PLAYER AND I CANT PLAY!!! HOW DO I DOWNGRADE???? NOT EVEN WORTH ONE STAR AT THIS TIME! BEFORE UPGRADE IT WAS A FIVE!!! FIX.....

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    New version

    Hate this. I can't see the whole board. It force closes when you try to play. Don't like the landscape mode. Please fix soon.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Latest update 11.8.12

    Dont know why u did an update. U made the screen font too small and the play and recall buttons r way too small. Have this swirl going on next to two new games for purchase. Please make buttons and screen bigger. I bought this app because i could see iy better than the one on facebook.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    New update...unlike

    The game board is tiny and most of the screen is taken up by notifications. In zoomed out view, the screen doesn't even take up the entire center box. Please fix! I miss my fullscreen! Previous version? Used to be great, 4 stars til fixed...

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Newer version...

    Love love this game but....just had it updated and its smaller on my screen! I like the older version...please fix this!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    I really love this game!

    I would like to see a feature added that told you your score before submitting. Also, it would be helpful to add a contact list where we could keep up with user names we play with if we're not on facebook. Lastly, it would be great to have a button at the bottom of the nook like where the open book is to make it easier to switch between apps while waiting for someone to take their turn....

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Need Help Fla.

    I loved playing this game when the gameboard took up the whole screen. But now the gameboard is in the middle of the screen with players on one side and texting on thr other. So you have a very small board. Does anyone know how to switch back?

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Terrible upgrade!

    I love to play this game with my friends and family however, the latest upgrade only lets you view sideways. Viewing sideways,you cant see the bottom of your screen without zooming in and I dont know about everyone else,but I like to view the entire screen to find a word. Also viewing sideways makes it hard to move the letters becaise the screen is so small. I sure hope they do another upgrade and/or change back. Still love the game though, just more difficult to play now.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love it!

    Love the fact that I can connect with my own friends! The only drawback is when you are forming the word, it doesnt give you the amount of the word? Scrabble does :)

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    ....

    Overall, I really do enjoy this game. But Barnes and Noble, please could you try to get Hanging with Friends and Scramble with Friends on the Nook Tablet. Thanks. Hit yes if you agree!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    I was playing the game fine until it was time to update now my g

    I was playing the game fine until it was time to update now my game does not work right. I hit submit and it goes back to the start screen without playing the move. I went to Barnes and Nobles and they are saying it nothing wrong with my NOOK COLOR it is the game. I paid $2.99 and love the game I would like to know what can be done to solve this problem. I miss playing my game.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Help! This crashes on me every two months!

    I love this app when it works, but after about two months, it starts getting very fussy. It freezes a lot, and then after about a week of that, it just does not work! What is up with this?? I have had to reinstall three times!! Please fix this! I am addicted to this game.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Finally back in portrait on Nook tablet

    Still not as good as before the November update, but at least it is playable again.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    For those looking to upgrade, press the nook 'n' then 'apps' and

    For those looking to upgrade, press the nook 'n' then 'apps' and in the upper right of the page is 'check for updates' in blue. Finally, upgrade all. In a few minutes it should be up to date.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    No need to pay for the upgrade

    Thank goodness (and the reviews that clued me in). Instead of using the upgrade prompt in the game, go through the Check for updates link on the library page.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG ADDICTED! OK

    This app, omg, is awesome! I play it all the time! Its really fun, but dont use the chat bubble! When you chat, it costs 30 CENTS PER TEXT, SO DONT USE THE CHAT BUBBLE! And, If Emma Watson is reading this, Im your biggest fan!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 547 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28