Customer Reviews for

Words by Heart

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Words by Heart

    I really love the book.The saddest part of the book was when Tater killed papa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Not Good:(

    Words By Heart is a book about family angst and murder. I did not like this book. Figurative language was added, but the plot just didn't take my breath away. Ouida Sebystain could do better. Way better. I had to read it for class and I was not pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Great book on the Racism whites showed.

    I recomend this book for all readers of any age starting at 10 or 9 and up. This book shows how cruel the white peple were to African Americans after the Civil War evn though the bill was passed. Peple knew they couldn't be slaves but they never had to treat them kindlly, and they knew this as well as everyone. This is the plot of the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    it's Ok

    This was ok in my opinion i really didn't get that into the book though. If you like books that are about racism then you might like it. But not really into that type of stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Words by Heart

    I thought this book was wonderful.It was the best book in the whole wide world.I really think you should read this book. My favorite part of the book was when Lena took a rat to school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Words by Heart

    This book is an oustanding book. I would recommend this book to my friend. The part I like is the end because it was dramatic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Words by Heart

    I think the book was very cool, sad, and interesting.My favorite part is when Lena wins the contest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Awesome Tale

    I had to read this book for an English assignment. I thought it was moving, and it pefectly demonstrated how people, escpecially blacks, lived in thoses times. Through the details in this book, I walked with Lena to school, I sat with her in the tree, and watched her steal the books, I was there when everything went wrong, I was there with Lena everytime. Ms. Sebestyen did a wonderful job writing this book. I think it deserves four out of five stars. Read it.... it's GOOD!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Words by Heart = Words in Action

    I had to read and study this book for school. All in all it is outstanding. The figurative language is everywhere! Vivid descriptions, insights of Lena's thoughts, and much more add up to the excelence of this book. However, profanity is used, but, personally, I think that perfectly fits in the style. Ouida Sebestyen has certainly made a wonderful book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Boring

    Even though the book isn't without a plot, it is still lacking an interesting storyline. There were no parts that wanted to make you keep reading. I had to read this book for my English class. It's only got things about how blacks lived after slavery and the Civil War.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Great book!

    Words by Heart is a great book written by Quida Sebestyen for many readers. The book tells about Lena and her family's survival. Words by Heart takes place in the country. Lena is a wonderful girl helping her family. Lena is a strong girl. This book made me feel that you can do anything if you put your mind to it.I recommend that everyone reads it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Proud Papa

    Word By Heart by Quida Sebestyen is considered a good book for young readers. This book was written in 1979. This novel about a girl name Lena and she wanted her papa to be proud of her and make her white classmate notice her. The setting of this story is beautiful with lots of trees The first chaper of this story is talking about Lena's night when her 'Magic' Mind was going to matter and not her skin.This story is really talking about Lena's life. The characters are Roy, Papa, Claudie, Jaybird Kelsey, but the main character is Lena.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Words by Heart

    This book is a very interesting and a good book to read i would recommend this to book to people that like to read about old time things and slavery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Words By Heart

    Words by Heart by Ouida Sebestyen is about a girl named Lena and her family who are a black family growing up when whites think of blacks differently. There is one boy named Tater that seems like he is always watching them. Lena starts to work at Mrs. Chism, the landowner, to make more money for her family. She finds many books in Mrs. Chism's attic and asks her if she can borrow one. She is a grumpy lady and says no. Lena really wants to read those books so she steals on and brings it home. Her parents see it and they think that Mrs. Chism let her read the book. Once Lena's dad finds out that she stole them, he tells her that she needs to tell Mrs. Chism. Lena and her Papa go to her house, and Papa reasons with her and the only agreement they can get to is if Papa goes to Hawk Hill to work on a fence. Hawk Hill is a very dangerous place to go if you are black. I didn¿t like this book in the beginning because it was really slow, but once I got into it, it was really good and I couldn¿t put it down. What I liked about this book ws the suspense and the fact that you never knew what was going to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    AWESOME!!!

    I loved this book and enjoyed reading it very much. It teaches a lot about how not to seek revenge and to love your enemies. It was great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    A Treasure of a Book

    Sebestyen's novel is an amazing tale of love and forgiveness. This book is well needed in a world where retaliation is the number one goal of justice. There are important virtues to be learned from this novel. In my experience, students who dislike this novel are generally ones who cannot connect with idea of forgiving people who do not deserve forgivness. However, that should be an even greater reason to read Words by Heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    not worth your time.

    I think this book had no real purpose. The begining and the end and a few other tid-bits in the middle wre all the book was worth. I took me four tries to simply get started on this book...it just could not draw me in. It is also writen insuch a way that is hard to understand and follow. I would never suggest anyone read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    poorly written

    This book went off topic several times and ended very tragic. Under my consideration this book was poorly rated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Thoughts on Words By Heart

    I think that words by heart is a great book to,I read this in school. One thing that I have really learn from the 'Words By Heart', and that thing is that you should never give up something that you really want. I think this is a really good book to read. Thank You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1