Customer Reviews for

Words with Family

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Great Word Puzzle

I love it! This game allows you to play on your own against the computer! Now you do not need to wait for your opponent to make a move, or look for an internet connection - just play and improve you skills whenever and wherever you are.

posted by Julia_SM on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fun but...

I love this game but I dont appreciate the dirty words the computer uses. It has used the F*** word and the C*** word. I dont think these are appropriate words for a family word game!

posted by 3561276 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Great Word Puzzle

    I love it! This game allows you to play on your own against the computer! Now you do not need to wait for your opponent to make a move, or look for an internet connection - just play and improve you skills whenever and wherever you are.

    48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Best I've found

    I have tried a lot of these scrabble-like games on my phone, this is by far the best one I've found and its on Nook.

    36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Love this game.

    Must have on your Nook!

    30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Warning: addictive

    I love this game! It is hours of fun for my husband and I.
    Playing against Nook is also fun. Buy it now!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Fun but...

    I love this game but I dont appreciate the dirty words the computer uses. It has used the F*** word and the C*** word. I dont think these are appropriate words for a family word game!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Words are valid, computer does not cheat!!!

    Words are valid, just checked all words some reviewers complaining:
    fixt - a past tense of fix
    zooids - an organic cells or body capable of independent movement
    HM - hmm
    EAU - water (a transparent, tasteless, odorless liquid)

    Great game, no problems at all, computer does NOT cheat!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Needs new dictionary

    The game itself is fine, but the dictionary sorely needs an update. The app does not recognize many, many words found in any dictionary. But all-in-all, it's okay.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good scrabble game!

    I love the Nook Color and never even thought it would offer more than books! Bought Words with family (scrabble) and am totally hooked! This will be a great travel companion when I want to give reading a break! It plays really well and is highly addictive! Highly recommended!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Finally I can play against computer

    I can keep my wifi off, to preserve the battery, and enjoy the game with computer.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    It is great on nook

    Playing the device is great

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    I love to play against device

    I love to play against device. Controls are great and music is so relaxing. Fun for everyone at home. No problems with the game at all.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Awesome

    This game totally rocks with words with family and scrabble I can always get my fix..

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Computer cheats???

    Rules say all words must be found in standard dictionary and the computer played "EDH". I have looked in every dictionary i could find and can't find this word anywhere. Yet i can't play "ZEN" :( wonder how many other fake words the computer has used???

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    GETTING BETTER, GETTING WISER..........

    No WiFi! How Beautiful Is That. I Can Practice With "Words With Family" So That I Can Be Better At "Word With Friends" After Reading A Few Of The Comments, And To Those Who Are Serious About This, Who Dont Mind Improving Their Vocabulary. There Is A Scrabble Dictionary That Have All Of The Words A Few You May Not Have Heard Of Or Believe To Be An Actual Word. LIKE "EDH, QI, QAT etc. KNOWLEDGE is Power, And We Should Be So Lucky To Learn Something New Everyday. One Word Everyone One Word!.......lanegracocoa

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!

    This is a great game for Nook Tablet. Perfectly formatted, great graphics and fun for anybody who loves scrabble or has never played before! You can play this game with up to 4 people.The best Nook game yet. I love it.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Highest rate!

    Great game when you're bored or want to take your mind off something. It was cool to try Scrabble on my Nook reader, but I probably won't play it unless I can charge my Nook right after because it's not battery friendly. If playing scrabble against the computer ever makes my Nook unuseable, it would defeat the main purpose I got it; so I never have to worry about battery life while reading.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hi

    Its fun with 2people but the device messed up!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Great game!

    This is very similar to Words with Friends/Scrabble. I love that you don't have to be connected to wifi to play against the computer. For .99 cents, this app is worth it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    The best kinda scrabble game so far

    It plays just like traditional scrabble as well as giving you the option to choose from several other forms of the game. You can choose your difficulty level and if you get stuck and want some help there is an another app calls Words Helper that show you what your best word should be with calculating points for each word.
    Definitely recommended if you like playing Scrabble and want to add some non-book entertainment to your Nook Color.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Love It! Although there is no dictionary - it would make the ap

    Love It!

    Although there is no dictionary - it would make the app take up way too much space, I love this game because you can play it WITHOUT wifi connection. When I play other similar type games - there is an online connection. This you can play anywhere anytime and many levels of difficulty for the new player and the pro!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4