Customer Reviews for

Working It Out: A Journey of Love, Loss, and Hope

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational!

    I couldnt help but to feel a kinship with Abby as I read her incredible story of love and loss. Sadly, many never experience true love but it was amazing to read her love story. It made me appreciate my own love and my amazing son more than ever. I could also identify with her on her weight loss journey. I was on this same path at nearly the same time. I, like Abby, lost 100 pounds and completely appreciate life in a whole new way. I wish Abby a life of love and joy along with the amazing memories of her wonderful husband and two sweet babies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a geniun person

    I remember seeing Abby on The Biggest Loser. She was such a wonderful, honest person on the show. It is so nice to see that she has come through this and turned her life around. Most of us would not have been that brave. Good luck to you Abby!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No perfect words to say

    This book is a true inspiration to me. When i read "being a christian doesnt mean life will be easy and it could possibly be harder" (almost quoted exactly) read into me deeply. I've questioned and wondered almost daily how God could let life constantly feed me severe happenings and complete heart devastation way more times than normal. This story helps me see that happiness is still in the midst during the worst times of our lives if we just reach for it and grab it. Thank you Abbey for putting your world on paper, which is so very hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Very inspiring!

    I felt that parts of the book were a little slow but you need this back ground info. The amount of strength that Abby has is amazing. To read how she continues her life after the accident with such faith makes up for the slow areas. It is inspiring how she stained true to her faith and realized God didn't do this but her was there for her is a great testament to Abby. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Love

    This was beautifully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Insir Inspir Verrrrry good!

    Well written and motivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    A Journey

    I highly recommend this book it is a must! You won't be able to put this book down! I give this book a thumbs up! What courage and strength it took Abby Rike to share her story. Its part of the healing process not only for herself but for others. I found this book to be very moving in so many ways. We are all on a journey where there is light at the end of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Could't Put it Down!

    An inspirational story about life, love, family and faith! Thank you Abby for having the courage to write this book and share your story with us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    A beautiful story - so uplifting!

    This book has truly touched my life - Abby Rike - one of the strongest women I have ever heard about - truly amazing. A must read - you'll cry, you'll laugh, and you'll be uplifted through a beautiful faith when you are finished. Whether you are a religious person or not - you truly will feel the "power" when finished with reading this heart-touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Sad yet encouraging!

    I was very excited to read her life story after watching Abby on the Biggest Loser. I think she is very strong in her faith and that was a huge encouragement to me. We can live through the hard times and even live a happy life. I would recommend this book but did find some areas a little slow. All of the letters from her husband were fun to read but at times I found some of the letters from students hard to get through. I would love to have heard more of her own words and advice and ultimately more on her weight loss in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend!!!

    If you want to be inspired, read this. If you want to witness pure child-like faith, read this. If you want a true example of 'hope in the darkest hour', read this. Be prepared to have your life changed, it did mine in the very best way. I am blessed because of Abby Rike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is beyond good , it is EXCEPTIONAL

    Abby's story is one that will touch the core of your very being. It is not just a book it is a message to LIVE life and not merely survive. Not many people can write about such a loss and dark place and not make it all about them selves or a woe is me plea, Abby does not once make you feel sorry for her, in actuality she motivates you to cherish life, cherish people, and to be the best you can be. IF after reading this book you do not hug your children tighter each night, top feeling sorry for your circumstances and take the steps to choose a better life and make the things that matter a priority, then you probably don't have a pulse! YOU will WANT to give this book to your friends, your family, people you see on the street who just need hope. I am forever changed and will always think of how precious life is in every moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    An Honest Look at Working through Grief and Suffering

    If you have watched The Biggest Looser you have probably heard of or seen Abby Rike. Abby competed on Season 8 of The Biggest Looser, and this book is her story. For those looking for a book on weight loss (which I wasn't), this book may very well be a disappointment because it's not about weight loss primarily. What is is about, though, is so much more - and it is worth the read. In 2006 Abby lost her husband, five year old daughter, and two-week old son in a terrible car accident, leaving hear all alone. As she tells the story, she lived in an ideal world with a wonderful family. The book is more about dealing with the loss of her family than anything else, and, as someone who has experienced an untimely death of a loved one, she very accurately explains the grieving process so many of us have gone through, and the feelings we encounter. Yes, grieving is hard and life is difficult and bad things happen - we can all accept that - and there is the whole stages of grief thing we all know about. But what Abby discusses with such honesty and openness is what she felt from other people and their failure at times to support and care for her. She discusses the struggle to make it appear as if everything is just fine when it's really not, and the almost impossibility of finding someone on whom to open up to that won't judge you, won't try to explain away your pain, won't go running when you come near, and will be willing to just listen and not say something stupid in response instead of just staying silent.

    The book does talk about her weight loss journey and her time on the show, but the bulk of the book introduces you to her family, their deaths, and her grieving process - in fact, you are 2/3's of the way through the book before weight becomes a major issue and The Biggest Looser is really mentioned (she downplays the weight issue so much that when it does come up it's almost as if it comes out of no where). Again, this is not a book about weight loss but a book about grieving, suffering, and learning to live in a fallen and broken world. She is honest in saying she's not there yet and she still has rough days - which, unless you've experienced the untimely loss of a loved one you can never fully understand - but she is willing to share her journey in an honest and open way.

    Perhaps the best chapter in the entire book is the very last one, the one entitled "A Letter to the Reader". Here she gives an update on where she is now, she overtly shares her faith in Christ, and acknowledges that we don't always understand or know what will happen. My only disappointment with the book is that it didn't feature her faith more openly, particularly earlier in the book, but it is something she remedies at the end. Overall I'll give this book 3/5 stars.

    Note: I received this book free from the publisher as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review of it. I am disclosing this to comply with FTC regulations.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2