Customer Reviews for

Working Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A NICE SURPRISE

I LOVED THIS BOOK. THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR, BUT IT WON'T BE MY LAST. THE CHARACTER MATTIE WINSTON WILL DRAW YOU IN FROM THE FIRST PAGE, AND HAVE YOU ROOTING HER ON IN THE LAST PAGES. THE SUSPENSE, ACTION, AND ROMANCE IS GREAT. I LOVED EVERY TWIST AND TU...
I LOVED THIS BOOK. THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR, BUT IT WON'T BE MY LAST. THE CHARACTER MATTIE WINSTON WILL DRAW YOU IN FROM THE FIRST PAGE, AND HAVE YOU ROOTING HER ON IN THE LAST PAGES. THE SUSPENSE, ACTION, AND ROMANCE IS GREAT. I LOVED EVERY TWIST AND TURN. THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN MYSTERY AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL. ENJOY.......

posted by DarleneGinn-Hargrove on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved the book.Being an R .N I especially enjoyed the shop talk.To decrease on idenity theft nurses are now finger printed.

posted by 892267 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A NICE SURPRISE

    I LOVED THIS BOOK. THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR, BUT IT WON'T BE MY LAST. THE CHARACTER MATTIE WINSTON WILL DRAW YOU IN FROM THE FIRST PAGE, AND HAVE YOU ROOTING HER ON IN THE LAST PAGES. THE SUSPENSE, ACTION, AND ROMANCE IS GREAT. I LOVED EVERY TWIST AND TURN. THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN MYSTERY AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL. ENJOY.......

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good first story

    I finished reading this mystery and found myself wanting to read the second (Scared Stiff) one right away. It is a good start to what looks to be a good series.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fun investigative tale

    She thought she had the perfect marriage and perfect job working at the same hospital as her husband Dr. David Winston as he was a surgeon and she is a surgeon's nurse. However Mattie Winston's world collapsed when she caught him with another nurse Karen Owenby. Without a word, she rushes home, packs her bags, and visits her best friend medical examiner Izzy, who gives her a home in his guest cottage and hires her; training her to be a deputy coroner.

    When Mattie learns that Karen is at the home she once shared with David, she cannot stop herself from peaking through a window. What she observes horrifies her as the pair argues heatedly until David throttles her. Later that same night, Izzy and Mattie are called to a homicide scene where a female corpse has two bullets in her head. The victim is Karen. Suspicion falls rightfully on David, but though she is angry and acrimonious with him and knows what she saw at their house, Mattie refuses to believe he would kill anyone. A second murder implicates David further as Detective Steve Hurley finds evidence hanging Mattie's soon to be ex at a time the cop and the trainee are attracted to one another and he realizes she should be a prime suspect as a betrayed wife.

    The story line is fast-paced from the moment that Mattie realizes her spouse is a womanizing cheat, but not a killer and never slows down as the heroine risks her life (to the chagrin of her boss and the detective) to catch the culprit. Fascinatingly though she is a WORKING STIFF as an apprentice deputy coroner, the enjoyable story line reads in may ways like an amateur sleuth as she has little experience on homicide investigations. Fans will enjoy Annelise Ryan's fun investigative tale, the opening act of a new series.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Amusing

    Getting this series. Loving the characters and plots. 280 pages.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I had a very hard time putting this book down ... Mattie and all

    I had a very hard time putting this book down ... Mattie and all her friends made it very enjoyable

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Fun read

    A very amusing read. Thoroughly enjoyable and looking forward to more from this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Loved the book.Being an R .N I especially enjoyed the shop talk.To decrease on idenity theft nurses are now finger printed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Love it!

    This book has everything. Drama, humor, mystery, romance, its a real page turner!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    very enjoyable

    Good read, kept you guessing. Did not expect the ending until the very end
    which is good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Dialog seemed forced

    No one I know speaks like the characters in this book. I can't imagine having to endure so much idle chatter all the time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Excellent story

    Great series. I am on the third book now and have a hard time putting it down. Highly recommend. The touches of comedy help move the story along. Great characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Great series

    Loved reading these books, can't wait to read more about mattie and hurley!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great book, couldn't put it down

    I really enjoyed this book. It goes from serious to Keystone Cops in one paragraph. I had many a good laugh in reading. Nice to see I'm not the only one not named Grace for a reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good first book!

    This book was good, considering this is the author's first one. I really enjoyed the character development, and it has some really funny moments. The middle of the book was a little slow, but the last 100 or so pages were very exciting. The mystery was predictable, but not everyone is John Grisham! I look forward to more stories about Mattie -- we need to knwo more about the infamous nipple incident!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    EXCELLENT START TO THE SERIES

    A thoroughly enjoyable book. Annelise Ryan has a style reminiscent of the Janet Evonovich books, an interesting story, with some comedy thrown in. After reading this book, bought two more of her series. A good way to relax and forget your troubles!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Great book!

    What a great book! Murder done with a huge dose of fun. I loved it so
    much I'm buying all the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    I enjoyed reading all 5 of the books in this series

    I enjoyed reading all 5 of the books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    I totally enjoyed this book. Mattie is a likeable character who

    I totally enjoyed this book. Mattie is a likeable character who may get into some predicaments but she is not stupid. The reactions she has to circumstances is real and believable. The other characters in the book are likeable, especially the detective who hopefully shows up in the other books. The mystery was one that kept me guessing with plenty of twists that kept me turning the pages. I will definitely read the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Great Read!

    I read lots of mysteries. My favorites being women as the detective/investigator. This series looks to be a new interest for me. Really enjoyed the first one, looking forward to more of Mattie Winstons adventures. She seems to be a little clumsy at times and gets herself in some silly predicaments, but overall, I really enjoy her adventurous nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Would not recommend.

    Nonsense novel. Didn't bother to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4