Customer Reviews for

Working on Yourself Doesn't Work: The 3 Simple Ideas That Can Instantaneously Transform Your Life

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Like a flash of lighnting, my first ¿transformation¿ came when


    Like a flash of lighnting, my first “transformation” came when I heard the title of this book – “Working on Yourself Doesn’t Work”. Up until that moment, all I had read was any self-help book I could get my hands on, trying to figure out why my life was not how I thought it should be. “What is wrong with me?” was a common question that I wrote in my journal and continued searching to answer. Finally, the solution came, but in an alternative fashion; a different point of view and approach that I had never seen or heard before, and it immediately began to alleviate the discontent I was feeling with my life.

    As I read this book, there were many AHA moments (continued transformation), where I could relate either directly or indirectly with the stories shared by the Kanes. Each story illustrated the meaning and application of the 3 Principles of Instantaneous Transformation. Simple concepts such as True Listening, Awareness and “Being Here” (living in the current moment of any given experience), drove home the ideas of how the ease of transformation can bring about a wonderful completely fulfilled life.

    I am so happy to have discovered this change in thinking and a new approach to life. It’s made me realize that there’s NOTHING wrong with me; never has been, never will be. Life is completely satisfying when I’m living in the moment and not trying to work on myself!

    Thanks to the Kanes and this book for pioneering and role-modeling how to relate to life and the universe around them. Bravo!

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Before I met Ariel and Shya, I spent years reading self help boo

    Before I met Ariel and Shya, I spent years reading self help books, going to work shops on how to improve myself, listening to audio and video recordings. I was expecting things to change, to somehow be better than they were. I was always thinking that this one book is going to make a difference...and I was not very happy. Until I read this book and then met Ariel and Shya. I now allow myself to just be...in the moment. I’m not trying to “fix” myself anymore. I love who I am and life is so much easier. Now, I don’t profess to have stopped all judgement. But now, I allow it to be, and it dissolves. Being in the moment is life renewed that brings new awareness to those things around me and that enrich my life. Thank you Ariel and Shya.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Inspiring read! Simply put - this book is inspiring.  The Kanes

    Inspiring read!

    Simply put - this book is inspiring.  The Kanes present the possibility that life can be easy and it is!  I can see how before reading this book, I would spend so much time thinking about my “problems”.  What the Kanes have allowed me to discover is that my constant thinking about them was keeping them in place.  By seeing them and allowing them to be, all those “problems” have just gone away!  I particularly love their idea of being right versus being alive.  I can see all of the ways that being right kept myself and my team at work from functioning in true partnership.  By being alive and allowing for others to be brilliant, we are working together better than ever!  

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK Working On Yourself Doesn't Wo


    WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK
    Working On Yourself Doesn't Work is a powerful book that introduces the reader to the three principles of instantaneous transformation.  The book is easy to read yet profound.  Of all the brilliant nuggets, one such gem that stood out for me was the distinction between being right vs. being alive.  By being right in one's own mind, one can not listen to another person's point of view and ultimately makes the other person wrong.  Being right keeps one out of the current moment of one's life.  The cost for continuing this behavior is enormous -> one's feeling of being alive, loving or being loved.  
    Stop working on yourself, it doesn't work, but learning the three principles does.  Read this book and transform your life.
    Beth S

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I¿m one of those people who grew up thinking that you have to le

    I’m one of those people who grew up thinking that you have to learn from your mistakes and typically when I did something “wrong” I had to be hard on myself so that I wouldn’t do that again. I used to walk around completely stressed out about how I can do my life right. Since reading this book that has completely changed. Ariel and Shya say that you can’t do it wrong, that you are perfect just the way you are. And you’d think that if you stopped trying to change things for the better that life would just stop and that is absolutely not true. When you stop being hard on yourself you then have the freedom to do the things in life that bring you joy, including finishing personal and work projects. Life is perfect just the way it is and that really is a miracle.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Everyday Satisfaction!

    I always used to think that 'living in the moment' was an abstract concept that you could only achieve by meditating for years on a mountaintop. I wanted it, but couldn't understand how it could possibly work for me, with my busy life and all of my goals. Well, Ariel and Shya Kane and their incredible book have shown me that not only is living in the moment possible, but it is fun and practical! The Kane's approach to living in the moment puts the light back in enlightenment; their book is written with humor and compassion and is a joy to read. It combines simple, profound ideas with their own personal stories and experiences. After reading their book and attending their workshops, I have experienced so much transformation in my own life. So much of the stress and pain I created by "working on myself" for years has dissolved and been replaced with a sense of ease and an urgency and passion for living my life! Possibilities and opportunities have emerged that were once beyond my wildest dreams. If you are tired of living in a constant and painful loop of thoughts and are interested in experiencing more satisfaction in all areas of your life, pick up this book today!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Someone people believe they need to work on themselves because t

    Someone people believe they need to work on themselves because there's something wrong with them. Reading this book helped me see that I'm the perfect me, I can be.


    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Could it REALLY be this simple? Yes!

    Thank you, Ariel and Shya Kane, for this magical book. For years I have struggled to be consistently calm, happy, and centered. I have done yoga, meditation, various clinics and workshops, read numerous self-help books, and even gone to therapy in my quest for inner peace and happiness. Little did I realize it was always available to me if I simply stayed present and aware in each moment. Suddenly, life is fun, engaging, and easy!

    This book presents three principles for instantaneous transformation: what you resists persists and grows stronger; no two things can occupy the same space at the same time (in other words, you can only be or could only have been exactly as you are/were in any given moment); whatever you allow to be exactly as it is without judgment will complete itself. The Kanes provide information in a very accessible way, with many anecdotes to help the reader absorb the concepts presented. The book is a fast read. And I’ve reread it several times over the past year, finding new jewels of insight each time.

    Achieving transformation does not require doing anything or changing anything about yourself, which, for me, was a bit confusing after a life time of trying to “fix” what was wrong with myself. It turns out, there is nothing wrong with me. I only need to look at life with a nonjudgmental sense of curiosity and say yes to the way my life is showing up. Since discovering transformation through the Kanes’ book, my life has become incredibly expansive. All aspects of my life are fulfilling and promote my happiness and well being. Work has become easier and is enjoyable each day. I’m in a loving relationship with a wonderful person. My relationships with friends and family are enlivening and precious. Each moment brings surprising, special, and delighting experiences. All I can tell you is that life is magical, and I’ve discovered that through the Kanes’ teachings on transformation. Anyone who wants a magical life should give themselves the gift of transformation!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent and useful!

    Putting forth 3 principles for transformation, the authors provide insight and a consistent message for living a more centered life by living in the moment and stopping living based on our past or future.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1