Customer Reviews for

A World I Never Made

Average Rating 3.5
( 689 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(246)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

WOW! I always read right before bed, and I picked up this novel with the intention of whetting my appetite through a few chapters, but I ended up reading the entire novel in one sitting. Needless to say, I got very little sleep, but the story was well worth it, permea...
WOW! I always read right before bed, and I picked up this novel with the intention of whetting my appetite through a few chapters, but I ended up reading the entire novel in one sitting. Needless to say, I got very little sleep, but the story was well worth it, permeating my dreams once the tale came to an end-it is that powerful.

In a sentence: A World I Never Made is a stunning tale of love and deception. I love this novel! LePore is a master storyteller, keeping the reader glued to the pages from the very beginning. The story is a whirlwind of mystery, spurring the reader on as the truth unfolds. The characters... the story... the suspense... everything was phenomenal! I loved the juxtaposition of the two stories: Pat's present, and Megan's past, which eventually come together to create a mind blowing grand finale to LePore's debut novel about terrorism. It is obvious that LePore put a lot of time and research into this novel, and it shows through the pages of this epic tale. This book is a must read; you will not be disappointed with LePore's sheer talent, which will hopefully make it to the big screen. Five stars!

posted by Read_A_Book on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Personal and Global Terrorism!

Terrorism rears its head in multiple forms, expected and unexpected! There are the deeply festering wounds Pat Nolan carries with him to Paris after discovering his daughter has committed suicide, wounds caused by the grief of losing his wife to death multiple years ear...
Terrorism rears its head in multiple forms, expected and unexpected! There are the deeply festering wounds Pat Nolan carries with him to Paris after discovering his daughter has committed suicide, wounds caused by the grief of losing his wife to death multiple years earlier. He and his daughter, Megan, have shut out the world to create a safe inner haven. For Megan, it's the absence of a parent figure in any sense, a supposed detachment that deludes her into thinking and feeling that she is totally in control of her own destiny as well as those she can manipulate for her own plans.

Arriving in Paris, Pat meets Catherine Laurence, a detective assigned to the case re the death of Megan. She's got a problem following orders and obeying every dictate of her superiors, and her gut instinct is telling her that something is very, very wrong with this case. For James says that the body he sees is his daughter but the lack of affect says something quite different!

So Catherine questions: As Megan has been associated with a person of interest in a terrorist group, why was the antiterrorist division of the Judicial Police not involved with Megan's death? Why were the Moroccans not interested in Megan's liaison, someone perhaps responsible for the murder of thirty Moroccan citizens? How are two high-up justice officials involved in this affair that hasn't been determined to be of significant or insignificant importance?

The plot of this intriguing, suspenseful novel is taut, moves rather rapidly and mesmerizes the reader with each new complex, mysterious detail. James LePore knows how to spin an international thriller tale that slowly reveals an inner, fascinating depth to each character and to the developing connections between each and all.

One also gets a surprise look at the world of Abdel Lahani, a Saudi businessman who controls a huge network and expects his lover, Megan, to conform to his standards when she unexpectedly becomes pregnant with his child. Suddenly Megan realizes she is locked in something far beyond her immature skills and finally seeks help through clues only recognizable by her father. His search for her and the growing, meaningful relationship he experiences with Catherine Laurence only adds more spice to this fine, exhilarating story.

Well, well-done, James LePore!

posted by literarymuseVC on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This book is okay if you are very right wing and hate Muslims.

    This book is okay if you are very right wing and hate Muslims. It glorifies violence and blasting the balls off your enemy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Not an easy read

    Couldn't get into it. But to the right person, this suspence filled book might be good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Not that great

    I have to say that I came away with a different impression than other reviewers. I found the book hard to read and follow. The story was interesting, but the dialog was stilted and the backstory of the characters was severly lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    So So

    Expected a lot more based on the reviews, but found it lacking suspense. Good storyline, but not all that thrilling overall. Very contrived characters. Each time a character was introduced, we were subject to a recap of the whole story--boring and unnecessary if you had been paying attention. And note to the editor: how hard is it to run it through spellcheck?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    terrible

    This book is poorly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Boring

    This might be great for some people. I found it boring. Just not my type of story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    O Wonderful book

    This book goes deep, captures the heart, and keeps you hopeful and anticipatory to the very end. It was a bittersweet book to read, and well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    PLOT (NO SPOILERS): This book follows our protagonist Pat Nolan

    PLOT (NO SPOILERS): This book follows our protagonist Pat Nolan who is summoned to Paris after his daughter, Megan, committed suicide. While there he discovers that his daughter could be involved with a terrorist group, and Parisian, Saudi, and American governments blame her for a resent bombing in Morocco. Disconnected with his daughter for years, Pat really doesn’t know her that well, but he adamantly disbelieves that she could be a terrorist. Turning to Paris detective Catherine Laurence for help in solving the mystery surrounding his daughter’s final days the two set off into waters unknown, both fully aware that danger could meet them at every turn, and it most certainly does.
    The story pops back and forth between what Pat is experiencing in the “present” and what Megan was doing up to the point in which Pat steps into the story, but the change between them is clearly marked so there is no confusion.
    READER TYPE: Someone who enjoys a bit of police drama, suspense, mystery and world travel, with just a dash of romance.
    WARNING LABEL NEEDED: Using a movie term rating this book would be an R for it’s violence, sexual content, thematic situations and language. This story had its far share of bombings, throat slits, gun shots, even a man being thrown off a cliff. If violence doesn’t bother you, then continue onward in reading this book, but if it does, be forewarned! As for the language factor, this site recently unpublished one of my reviews saying I had “inappropriate language,” which is grossly untrue. But I will not leave out this information for those of you who would like to know about the FULL content within this book. At the beginning of the book there were only a few words here and there, which was bad enough, but I figured it would be safe to proceed, but by the last few chapters they were saying quite a few! There were a total of 3 “s” words, 3 “a” words, and 13 “F” words. THIRTEEN! There were also 2 misuses of God’s name, 2 misuses of the word “hell” and several sexual references.
    WOULD I READ AGAIN: No.
    WOULD I RECOMMEND: No.
    CONCLUSION: The plot was an interesting one, that kept your attention and also kept you guessing as to just how the book would end, and it certainly ended on a note I was not expecting. If not for the language and sometimes cringe worthy violence I would have enjoyed the fast passed suspense novel. But when 3 strikes your out (in bad content) turns into 23, you’ve certainly passed your limit much faster than the change in plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Nothing exciting, needs better proof reading

    Several typing errors. Found b and h switched several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Fun read

    This is a fun and easy read. Not very believable in many parts,but the action keeps you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Ok for a free friday book

    This book is ok. There were a lot misprinted words and the plot was good but the story line was typical. You knew what was gonna happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Not finished yet, but loving it!

    It's very suspenseful, and well written. Is she dead? Was she part of a terrorist plot? Eek! Maybe we'll never know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Good Read.

    The book was ok, but not all that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No ambiguities here

    If you like your suspense fiction cut and dried, and morally certain, you will like this book. It is very clear from the beginning who the baddies are. The rest of the book is just setting them up for their inevitable fall. The heavy-handed religious symbolism is just a bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Couldn't get through it

    Maybe I just wasn't in the mood for this style of book at the time. It is still on my Nook so maybe I will try it again in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent mystery

    Good pace. Timely subject. Rather less than believable though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Perhaps I am too serious about what I read, I don't think so. I

    Perhaps I am too serious about what I read, I don't think so. I read the 1st 4-5 chapters and that's all I could stand. This book is very predictable and filled with error(s) ie, you can't be bare chested , then move to a window and take off your sweater.
    When I can see what is going to happen two chapters ahead of what I am currently reading, its time to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3