Customer Reviews for

World War Z (Movie Tie-In Edition): An Oral History of the Zombie War

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    With the movie coming up I figured I'd see what the book was all

    With the movie coming up I figured I'd see what the book was all about first. Let me tell you it's a short book, but wow a great read and almost a spot on recount of how the world would truly react in the event of some kind of pandemic. Uniquely written in the form of an interview process. There is no main character, only interviews with people across the world and their account on what happened to them. Very Very Interesting and a MUST READ!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    This is a very good read, especially if you enjoy reading or wat

    This is a very good read, especially if you enjoy reading or watching zombie related things.
    The way the author chose to have many different characters instead of just main character really helped
    to make this book more interesting. And the way the author did this was by having interviews with different
    characters throughout the story. For me it was kinda confusing the start but once I started to
     understand when these transitions happened I realized what a great organizing 
    tool it was for this kinda book.  And the way the author shows how the zombies affected different 
    countries depending on the country and how it might react to this kind of apocalypse. Also the ending
     (without spoiling anything) was very well done and quite a realistic outcome if something like this ever 
    happened in today's world. If you have already seen the movie and wanna read the book its ok! I feel
     the book and the movie were quite two different stories. And if I had to give my opinion I would
    definitely say that i enjoyed the book more than the movie. I would say this is a must read even if you don't like zombie
     related books you should try and give this one a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    For a side reading assignment for my honors ELA9 class I read Wo

    For a side reading assignment for my honors ELA9 class I read World War Z by Max Brooks. There is no real setting or main character as the entire book is played out as interviews from people all around the world on how they fought/survived the zombie apocalypse. The main story of the book is how humanity itself survived this disease that wiped out millions in a matter of days then continued to eat the remainder of the human population. I really enjoyed reading this book because there are really no others like it, I would recommend anyone to read this if they like survival scenarios and at the same time a science aspect to how it all happened. The relevance of this book is somewhat realistic because we have yet to find a disease that brings the world together to fight it, now I’m not saying that the walking dead will show up at our door but it could be any kind of pandemic that would bring the world leaders together in fear of it. There is lots of suspense all throughout the book, it would sometimes make me look behind me to make sure nothing was creeping up one me. It really had you on the edge of your seat throughout all of the interviews, whether the person was discovering how the disease worked or was abandoned all alone in a highly infested area. There is really no specific point of view due to the different accounts from survivors. I would say that the book is a pretty simple read, but that doesn't mean it is boring. Max Brooks really is the best at these kind of stories, his imagination is put through all of his books and that is what makes it such an interesting read. The language is relatively easy although there are some science words that had me reading them a few times and some paragraphs that you had to reread to really understand. The imagery of the book is truely amazing with the in depth descriptions of the places around the people and the close encounters with the undead. Over all I thought this book was awesome, I really enjoyed it and I will read it over and over again.








    Ryan C. (Mrs.Cleland) 1st hour--- (Sign up required for pen name)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

               I read this book as an outside reading assignment for

               I read this book as an outside reading assignment for my Honors English class. I
    would recommend this book because as the reader I loved how the book was broken into
    separate short stories about the war. The story was told with short narratives from different 
    interviewees, which served to be very engaging. The novel took an interesting approach 
    on the zombie apocalypse. The content was well written and it was evident that it had 
    been well researched. World War Z gave an accurate portrayal of humans of all 
    nations coming together under extraordinary circumstances. For example, the American 
    government responded by declaring Martial Law in most cities across the country. To the 
    modern audience, the idea of zombies carried undercurrents of AIDS, biological warfare, and 
    terrorism. Brooks is one of the first to recognize and tap into this in an intelligent manner. He 
    catered the novel towards the audience which I appreciated. I felt as though I was a part of 
    the story-line as it progressed, and this was highly entertaining. However, I feel that it could 
    have been made longer because the story ended rather quickly. Ironically, the author shared 
    the same thought as he mentioned this himself in the introduction. All in all, readers will not 
    put this book down once they start reading it. World War Z is a worthwhile read and one of the 
    best novels I have read.


    -    Aadil Ali (From Mrs. Eastman Class)+(Pen Name doesn't work)  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    World War Z an Oral History Of The Zombie war was a great book.

    World War Z an Oral History Of The Zombie war was a great book. This action filled horror will keep you on the edge of your seat, and keep you guessing on what's to come next. I would definitely not recommend for a younger audience, do to the of the great deal of gore and death. The visualization in this book was excellent you could almost picture the dark gloomy hospitals where the infected were held during the outbreak. Although World war Z is slow at times, it definitely makes up for with all the action and horror. If you read and enjoyed this book i would definitely prefer reading Dan Brown's Angels And Demons. It also was a great action packed thriller. Again i would recommend this book to any older audience looking for a classic horror novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    It's a fun book to read. Very entertaining. can't wait to see t

    It's a fun book to read. Very entertaining. can't wait to see the movie. I don't like this kind of fiction but its an awesome book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! Not being a fan of horror and eschewing anyth

    I loved this book! Not being a fan of horror and eschewing anything related to zombies, I shocked myself when I not only bought World War Z, but read it. I don't read these types of books for a reason--my mind likes to replay scenes over and over while I sleep, giving me nightmares. I Am Legend gave me nightmares for a week and I had to walk out of Warm Bodies.

    I can hear you laughing from here....

    Surprisingly enough, I loved this book, and as long as I didn't read it before bedtime and "cleansed my brain-palate" with another book, I didn't have too many zombie dreams.

    World War Z is a well-executed and thought-out book, which appealed to my scientific side that craves exploring every scenario and leaving no stone unturned. Presented in interview format, it tells the story of the Zombie apocalypse through firsthand accounts of those who fought and/or survived the war. I particularly enjoyed how Brooks gave us a realistic view of what would happen to the world if the walking dead were a reality and how the living would react upon first hearing the news. How many of us would actually believe that zombies were real? How many governments would take the threat seriously if someone tried to raise the alarm? And how many mistakes and lives would be lost before we started to get something right? It is a chilling tale. And while it does highlight mankind's dependence on technology and the belief that our government will bail us out, these are the issues that cripple mankind in the fight against the zombies. Eventually the living figure out a better way to fight, but not before we are brought to the brink of near extinction and the loss of most of the civilized world. What is left is a planet that is a mere shadow of what it once was and yet not all the changes are negative.

    I particularly enjoyed the socio-economic shift of the United States. The prize jobs went to the blue-collar worker with the skills to rebuild a country while the white-collar worker with little skill outside the boardroom became the janitors and labor crews in the war against the zombies. It's almost enough for me to hone the skills I learned growing up on a farm.... Maybe I'll take up welding as a hobby.

    For the record I refuse to go see the movie. My husband and son saw it, and I know the movie and the book aren't very similar. But either way, I cannot do zombie movies (unless it's Shawn of the Dead, which I found hilarious and not the least bit scary). Do I plan to carve out room on my bookshelf for more horror books? Probably not. But I might be willing to give I Am Legend a try. It's been on my Kindle for a year. Haha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1