Customer Reviews for

World War Z

Average Rating 4.5
( 2607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1563)

4 Star

(611)

3 Star

(233)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(98)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

116 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

The Dark Years...

I know what your thinking, zombies , seriously zombies???

Max Brooks did an outstanding job on this book!

I picked this book up at the bookstore because of the title "World War Z", once I realized that meant World War Zombie, I threw it down. Next trip to the book...
I know what your thinking, zombies , seriously zombies???

Max Brooks did an outstanding job on this book!

I picked this book up at the bookstore because of the title "World War Z", once I realized that meant World War Zombie, I threw it down. Next trip to the bookstore, this time I read the back of the book, read all the rave reviews there and inside. Still not fullly convinced, I flipped through it, I liked the format Mr. Brooks used and decided to give it a try.

This book is a fun read! It's a WHAT IF ? book, what if zombies were attacking the world and killing everyone or it could be a massive worldwide plague that is making people sick enough to kill?? Any worldwide event, something big enough to affect everyone, what would you do, how would we all survive??

The book is an oral history of World War Z, A narrator goes back and interviews people about their roles in the war. What they saw as it happened, what they thought when they first heard about it, how they survived. The interviews are conducted worldwide.

The book is very, very creative. It took me awhile to read, but it was worth it.

Max Brooks is a good story teller and will definitely keep your attention in this book!

posted by SavageBS on February 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Where is the suspense

First of all I really wanted to like this book, unfortuantely Brooks uses a writing gimmick of stringing together numerous unrelated vignettes of 3-6 pages that utterly fails to allow the creation of characters we will ever have a chance to care about. Brooks does a fin...
First of all I really wanted to like this book, unfortuantely Brooks uses a writing gimmick of stringing together numerous unrelated vignettes of 3-6 pages that utterly fails to allow the creation of characters we will ever have a chance to care about. Brooks does a fine job in the opening 'chapters.' The discovery of patient zero is horriffing and compelling. However, does he really need to jump to the International Space Station and then to the frozen landscape of Antarctica and then over to a K9 training unit all in the matter of about 15 pages. I would not have minded this as much if Brooks had chosen to revist these scenes but Brooks I believe takes the easy way out by writing simple short short short stories tied together in the same theme. There is no chance for suspense to build. The closest he comes is a fine piece about a Japanese internet shut in trapped on the 19th floor of a high rise. That works. The rest comes close at times but just falls flat.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    It had potential

    There were some parts that I found original for the whole zombie genre. However, after a while the stories began to sound repetitive and the numerous characters share a common voice. If you love zombies read it, if not, skip it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay Book, No Suspense, Poorly Formatted eBook

    One problem I have with a book like this is that it starts out with the premise of "Here's how we almost got destroyed." So you know out of the gate that the zombies were vanquished. No suspense there at all. And, being set as interviews with people, they all lived, too. This is like reading interviews with Civil War survivors: you know how it turns out.

    The "interviews" are all fairly one-sided. So if you like dialog, forget it. There's also very little change in voice from one interviewee to another.

    Additionally, this has got to be one of the most poorly formatted e-books I've read on my Nook. Bad line breaks, poor endnote formatting; all of the endnotes are on the same pages, so if you tap a "1" in the text and are taken to the endnotes, there are maybe five "1" notes on the endnote page; which "1" am I supposed to be looking at?

    Here's an example of the awful formatting in a chapter title:
    Province Of Bohemia, the E
    uropean Union

    That's on a small-ish font size. It gets worse if you make it larger.

    I'm not sure how you screw that up, but they managed. Bravo.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Finished reading World War Z last night. It was one of those boo

    Finished reading World War Z last night. It was one of those books that I just had to finish, though I'm not sure why. In the end I was really conflicted whether or not I even liked it. It is written as a collection of interviews with people who lived through the Zombie war. I couldn't help but feel that every voice was the same. Their stories were each interesting and different so that kept me reading though. And in the end, when he revisisted each person for final thoughts post war, I was confused who was who since so many people were interviewed. I should have gone back to try to figure it out, but I really wasn't that interested by that point. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    After watching the movie, which was great, I wanted to read the

    After watching the movie, which was great, I wanted to read the book for comparison. It was definitely a let down, it was a good book, but I thought it would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    decent, but slow

    i don't like not hearing a person's full story, it was too scattered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I had high hopes for the book. It just didn't live up to what I

    I had high hopes for the book. It just didn't live up to what I hoped. It wasn't scary. I was hoping for a scary zombie apocalypse book. It just didn't deliver. I finished it, but I lost interest along the way. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    maybe I'm an awful human being but the whole concept of zombies

    maybe I'm an awful human being but the whole concept of zombies is just hilarious to me . I Knew I wouldn't the WWZ seriously but I have a strict rule that I have to read the book before watching the movie, hence the fact that I read WWZ. I'm not much of a "dyotopiC" hook reader even though it seems that I read a lot of them.

    The book reads very much like watching a documentary and I think that is where it loses some people.

    I didnt find the book entertaining in a suspenseful way, I found it entertaining in an all-encompassing way. Since I fInd Zombies hilarious, and the fact I'm a veteran in the us Army, I found the book witty and funny. Mr Brooks did a great job at portraying how a military mind set might be during a Zombie Apocalypse.

    The part of the book that really killed Me though, and I actually shed some tears, was the heaviness of losing the sea life...the whales. The description Of losing the orcas, the blue whales, dolphins, gray whales, even the fish that sustain ocean life, killed me.

    I kind of wished he would have gone more Into patient zero; where the virus Came from, what did they find,etc. That would have been very entertaining for me.

    Overall, it's a good read And I would recommend it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Interesting

    I watched the movie first but the book is nothing like the movie. It's an interesting read and I'm intrigued with the premise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Loved the perspective and flow -- great book!

    I really enjoyed this book... The idea of writing it post-event from the perspective of dozens of different people, but organizing those interviews into a chronological sequence of what happened, when, and where was wonderful. It captured my attention from the very beginning and didn't let go until the final page. Even now, more than a week after finishing it, I'm still thinking through some of the various elements of the story. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Its ok.

    Not great, but if you like zombie books you will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was a good beach read

    The author has an easy to follow writing style and the chapters stand on their own. This makes it a good book to travel with or take to the beach. Put it down and you can pick it up again to continue reading without confusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Good Story

    Good story but got old about the last couple of chapters. Same words written differently in every chapter. The movie was 100 times better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I did not care for this book at all, could not hold my interest,

    I did not care for this book at all, could not hold my interest, I kept thinking it would get better, but it did not. After three quarters of the way in to the story, I gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Question

    Is there any cussing in the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Had higher hopes

    3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    A

    Kind of srupid at parts but good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Loved it

    I havent read it but the movie was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Skylark

    "See ya!" She called over her shoulder, before tearing a swamp lily leaf from the dirt and bounding to Demi's hidden den.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Just ok

    This book could have been better if the author would have focused on a few of the interviews and followed those characters. As it is, you never really get into any of the characters. It just jumps from one interview to another. I was disappointed because I think with more character development this book could have been great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Kelissa

    Great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12