Customer Reviews for

A World Without Heroes (Beyonders Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An intricate beginning!

Jason Walker's life as a normal American boy get turned upside down when he accidentally falls into the hippopotamus tank at the local zoo. Instead of being eaten though, he finds himself in a completely new world. Thus begins his journey through Lyria, a land run by th...
Jason Walker's life as a normal American boy get turned upside down when he accidentally falls into the hippopotamus tank at the local zoo. Instead of being eaten though, he finds himself in a completely new world. Thus begins his journey through Lyria, a land run by the evil King Maldor. He joins up with Rachel, a girl who also accidentally found herself transported to the strange kingdom, and together the two of them meet many others on their quest for a magic word. The trick will not only be to survive the enemies and treacherous landscapes, but also to find their way home.

I have to say, Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series is one of my FAVORITES of all times. I've recommended it to more people than I can keep track of. I was sad to see it end but was thrilled how the final book wrapped up so nicely. I've had Fablehaven-inspired dreams and fantasies. So Mr. Mull had some pretty large expectations to meet with this new series of his. And meet them he does, mostly. A World Without Heroes did not strike my fancy as much as I had hoped it would, but it was still a fantastic adventure and reading experience. I thought the premise of finding the pieces of a magic word was fun and clever. As with Fablehaven, there is a fun boy/girl duo pulling the story along. Rachel and Jason both brought their own skills and weaknesses to the team, but the two of them together provides all readers with something with which to identify. The story was stuffed so full of exposition, people, and places that it sometimes felt as though I would never be able to keep it all straight. But Mull is no stranger to creating complex worlds and so I found that I was never completely lost. I definitely think this series is aimed at a much older audience than his Fablehaven books were. There are some very dark moments in the plot, as well as a slew of slightly more difficult words and concepts. I loved how witty and intelligent Jason was. Plus there were so many other interesting and unique characters introduced in this first book that readers are bound to be rewarded with seeing more of their favorites in future installments. Fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart series will love jumping into the world of Lyria as well. Book two, Seeds of Rebellion, is due to arrive next year!

posted by ChelseaW on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I could even finsh this book

I thout this would be a good book becouse it by mull.i could not even get pasted the frist 100pages.

posted by 10315996 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK

    This was a page turner. I couldn't put my nook down! WAY TO GO BRANDON MULL!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    READ THIS!!!!!! ~ El3 ~

    This book is AWESOME!!! I've read all of Brandon Mull's books, and they rock! His books are so awesone, it makes me want to dance!

    o(^_^)o

    o (^_^o)

    o(^_^)o

    (o^_^) o

    o(^_^)o

    I can't wait for the third book to come out! But it doesn't come out untill nexr spring! AAAAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!!!! X(| What the heck am I going to read between now and then!?!?! Nothing else is good enough to compare to this series!

    ~ El3 ~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    The Beyonders

    Are great, but I like Fabelhaven better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like all of Brandon Mull's books, beyonders is a new series that is amazing! Jason has a normal life until everything turns upside down. He realizes he is in a magical world just like Kendra and Seth do in fablehaven in the first book. I cannot wait until the second Beyonders book comes out. I will probably finish it in 1 hour!

    PEACE OUT BRANDON MULL FANS!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I could even finsh this book

    I thout this would be a good book becouse it by mull.i could not even get pasted the frist 100pages.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    This book DRUG on and on and on

    I thought it would never end. I enjoy fantasy reading and I enjoyed Fablehaven, but this was just not good. I won't be buying the second book. Good luck, Brandon.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Has the best prologue I've ever read! Worth your time

    The plot was wonderful, the writing was exceptional, and the characters convincing. A World Without Heroes was a great read!

    Brandon Mull has, once again, crafted an enjoyable book for all ages. The only thing preventing me from giving this book five stars is the fact that it's High Fantasy. What's wrong with High Fantasy? Nothing, except that it's been done so many times that for a spectacular and talented author like Brandon Mull to tackle it is bound to give him somewhat of an unfair review. That said, I was slightly disappointed with the book because it basically followed your normal Fantasy code. Mull did cleverly combine many elements of different fantasy books together though, which I think earns him some points with the genre. I'd definitely read the sequel but not as eagerly as I would've hoped.

    The one thing I think was missing for me was that this book didn't make me want to not put it down. It wasn't horrible and hard to read. I did want to read and finish it but it just wasn't spell-binding like the Fablehaven series.

    My favorite part of the whole book is probably the prologue. I think it's the only spell-binding part I came across. I really like the character we were introduced to there but, I was kind of disappointed with how he turned out later in the book. I mean, he was a really cool character in those first 12 pages (give or take a few). I think the young Galloran was my favorite character in the whole book. I like Jason, just not as much as young Galloran.

    I guess the ending should've been predictable and I should've known that it would end the way it did, but for some reason I didn't expect it. Maybe it was because I was in denial and wanted something else to happen instead. Nevertheless, I was...I wasn't surprised but at the same time I didn't think it would end the way it did.

    I'd give this book a solid 4.5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    read

    read over and over and over

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Cant wait another second!!!!!!!

    it seems like it will be an interesting book. i read Fablehaven ( which I highly recommend!) and I hope that this will be as amazing!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    CANT WAIT

    i read fablehaven and doubt this will be better but ill give it a shot

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilled!!

    Im thrilled to read this book. The Fablehaven series was amazing so i'm positive this will be great! Brandon Mull is also the author of The Candyshop war and Pingo, but I havent read those books yet. This story is about a boy who gets lost in this world where there is no heroes. This book comes out in Spring 2011

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    mary

    Could you please ask diana or janse to call mom?
    Thanks.
    Charlie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    great sereise just love the explosive end

    great sereise just love the explosive end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    By Emilio

    It's a very cool and mysterious book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    The story is awesome.

    Buy it so funny. Arimfexendrapuse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Awesome

    Super

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    CLICKED UP, HE AIN'T TRYIN' TO BE FAMOUS.

    He's just really, really, really good at writing stuff. And he is still my favorite author, despite Eoin Colfer coming in a close second.<br>This was the first book I had read of his--I bought it at a B&N store, not knowing who he was, only that it looked different from the other books. I wasn't disappointed. Reading this made me a huge Brandon Mull fan, and I got into Fablehaven and The Candy Shop War. His imagination is seemingly boundless--heck, every mythical creature in here he made up himself!<br>The Beyonders series remains by far my favorite series. There's absolutely no language (except for one dude using "Prongs" as a curse-word), no sexual stuff, mild violence, but enormous intrigue. This is essential for books; haven't you realized how hard it is to write out complex battle scenes for fantasy or sci-fi? In the movie they do it a a that you're eyes pick it up, whereasin reading, long sentences describing a character chopping up two enemies makes the battles lose their charm and excitingness.<br>But this book is highly unlike any other. The series has battle scenes, true, but it is more adventure than battle.<br><br>To describe content, I will begin by referencing to my previous statement about language. No sexual stuff, the closest Jason gets to Rachel is thinking she's pretty. As for violence, there is about four or above straight battle scenes, but spread out in this 454 page book. Humor is alive and well in this, entwined into many scenes in ways that make me laugh even when I re-read it for the seventh time.<br>So I give this five stars overall; appropriate content, an amazing world of imagination, and for just the very addictingness reading this book has.<br>An addicting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    My crazy life part two

    Im only takeing one more charecter. Post it a lego res two next part at vespers rising. On with the story. We ran all the way to camp half blood. When we were safe ibside tge boubders of the camp we went to chiron. We found her percy said. Who chiron asked. The demigod you told us to find. Emma said. I didnt tell you to find a demigod chiron. But i got an iris message from you percy said. Theres something wrong here i said. Why dont you go to your cabins said chiron. Okay we said walking back i said some things wrong with chiron. I said he didnt ask about aqua. I stoped. What said percy. Your not thinking about sniking out again. Said percy. When the gaints had us i remember over hering them say something about a spy from our home. I said Do think they mean hear? Emma said. Just Then we herd the chong horn calling us for dinner. We ate me percy and emma were the only ones at the posiden table. After we were done eating we had our sing along. Thats when aqua got claimed. She walked to our table. And said im so happy im in your cabin. Your the only people here i know. That makes four of us now. Percy said. That night i had a very strange dream. I was back in the gaint castle. There were two gaints talking. One was the king. We have two of the six im sure our spy at camp half blood will send the rest to us. Then i saw dahia and jabob hand cuffed hanging five feet off the ground nialed to a big post there was a hook and hand cuffs for six. i woke up about seven percy emma and aqua were alredy awake. Guys need to find anabeth. When we found here i asked her about jacob and dahia. they disapered about a week a go she said i told them about my dream. All the others said they had the same dream. Thats when we agread that we were leaving. Toinight. Cliff hanger. Thanks for reading —garrett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Great book

    A very good book that seems unoriginal at first but always manages to suprise you. I would recomende it to anyone who likes fantasy and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Katrina

    So want it!8)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21