Customer Reviews for

A World Without Heroes (Beyonders Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 404 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An intricate beginning!

Jason Walker's life as a normal American boy get turned upside down when he accidentally falls into the hippopotamus tank at the local zoo. Instead of being eaten though, he finds himself in a completely new world. Thus begins his journey through Lyria, a land run by th...
Jason Walker's life as a normal American boy get turned upside down when he accidentally falls into the hippopotamus tank at the local zoo. Instead of being eaten though, he finds himself in a completely new world. Thus begins his journey through Lyria, a land run by the evil King Maldor. He joins up with Rachel, a girl who also accidentally found herself transported to the strange kingdom, and together the two of them meet many others on their quest for a magic word. The trick will not only be to survive the enemies and treacherous landscapes, but also to find their way home.

I have to say, Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series is one of my FAVORITES of all times. I've recommended it to more people than I can keep track of. I was sad to see it end but was thrilled how the final book wrapped up so nicely. I've had Fablehaven-inspired dreams and fantasies. So Mr. Mull had some pretty large expectations to meet with this new series of his. And meet them he does, mostly. A World Without Heroes did not strike my fancy as much as I had hoped it would, but it was still a fantastic adventure and reading experience. I thought the premise of finding the pieces of a magic word was fun and clever. As with Fablehaven, there is a fun boy/girl duo pulling the story along. Rachel and Jason both brought their own skills and weaknesses to the team, but the two of them together provides all readers with something with which to identify. The story was stuffed so full of exposition, people, and places that it sometimes felt as though I would never be able to keep it all straight. But Mull is no stranger to creating complex worlds and so I found that I was never completely lost. I definitely think this series is aimed at a much older audience than his Fablehaven books were. There are some very dark moments in the plot, as well as a slew of slightly more difficult words and concepts. I loved how witty and intelligent Jason was. Plus there were so many other interesting and unique characters introduced in this first book that readers are bound to be rewarded with seeing more of their favorites in future installments. Fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart series will love jumping into the world of Lyria as well. Book two, Seeds of Rebellion, is due to arrive next year!

posted by ChelseaW on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book DRUG on and on and on

I thought it would never end. I enjoy fantasy reading and I enjoyed Fablehaven, but this was just not good. I won't be buying the second book. Good luck, Brandon.

posted by quintin-slc on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An intricate beginning!

    Jason Walker's life as a normal American boy get turned upside down when he accidentally falls into the hippopotamus tank at the local zoo. Instead of being eaten though, he finds himself in a completely new world. Thus begins his journey through Lyria, a land run by the evil King Maldor. He joins up with Rachel, a girl who also accidentally found herself transported to the strange kingdom, and together the two of them meet many others on their quest for a magic word. The trick will not only be to survive the enemies and treacherous landscapes, but also to find their way home.

    I have to say, Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series is one of my FAVORITES of all times. I've recommended it to more people than I can keep track of. I was sad to see it end but was thrilled how the final book wrapped up so nicely. I've had Fablehaven-inspired dreams and fantasies. So Mr. Mull had some pretty large expectations to meet with this new series of his. And meet them he does, mostly. A World Without Heroes did not strike my fancy as much as I had hoped it would, but it was still a fantastic adventure and reading experience. I thought the premise of finding the pieces of a magic word was fun and clever. As with Fablehaven, there is a fun boy/girl duo pulling the story along. Rachel and Jason both brought their own skills and weaknesses to the team, but the two of them together provides all readers with something with which to identify. The story was stuffed so full of exposition, people, and places that it sometimes felt as though I would never be able to keep it all straight. But Mull is no stranger to creating complex worlds and so I found that I was never completely lost. I definitely think this series is aimed at a much older audience than his Fablehaven books were. There are some very dark moments in the plot, as well as a slew of slightly more difficult words and concepts. I loved how witty and intelligent Jason was. Plus there were so many other interesting and unique characters introduced in this first book that readers are bound to be rewarded with seeing more of their favorites in future installments. Fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart series will love jumping into the world of Lyria as well. Book two, Seeds of Rebellion, is due to arrive next year!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great job!

    This is a great book. I highly recomend this book. If in doubt read the sample, it got me hooked straight away.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Top readers list of books.

    If you loved his books of FABLEHAVEN, you have to read his new series. The different plots and characters will grab your attention, and will not let you go. All the different details are so greatly desribed than ever. I say ages 12 and up should read this. I love his writting and so should you! You shouuld also read Rick Riodan and Christopher Paolini.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    AWSOME! FANTASTIC! AMAZING! THRILLING! UNDESGRIBALY GREAT!... AWTAMILLIBGRY

    Loved every second of it and am super anxious to read the next book. This has great potential for the next books and will be a hit if it turns out half as good as fablehaven! Brandon Mull is one of my favorite author and a big part of the reason i want to be an author!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    At first glance, I passed on this novel. I was guilty of judging a book by it's cover. But then I noticed it was by Brandon Mull who is also the author of The Fablehaven series, which is a favorite of mine. Then it became a must read.

    It's a little slow to start, but Mull has to create the background. Which I know from his previous books, he's marvelous at. I really enjoyed this world that he has created. I felt the tension between the people. Everyone is afraid to draw the emperor's wrath, and those who have his favor bask in the glory. Everyone who would challenge him is dead. Or if they've presented a serious threat, they've been given life long immunity at the ultimate palace that they can never leave. Hidden along the way are those who secretly oppose the emperor. They are just waiting for the right hero to come along with the courage to follow through and bring him down.

    Enter in Jason and Rachel. Jason was brought into this world by musicians trying to summon a hero. While he doesn't believe he is this person, he will do anything to find away back home. Even if it means taking up this impossible quest. Rachel's true roll I think is yet to be fully revealed. She provides some key support, and some of the adventures could not have been completed without her.

    It's an epic middle grade fantasy with everything you could hope for in the genre. There's a giant killer crab, frog's with teeth, mushrooms that make you forget, and berries that give you extra energy. Along they way Jason and Rachel must outwit a chancellor, run on water, escape the palace that no
    one is allowed to leave, and gain an audience with the emperor. It's really a fantastic novel from beginning to end. It's not as great as the later books in the Fablehaven series. But as the first in a new series, it has the makings to be great!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Yeah get the book

    I'll be honest with you. There were many books that catch me into the story. I plan to be an author in the future, so i guess that this is to be expected. A World Without Heros, Fablehaven, Earagon, Percy Jackson, Earagon, and The Hunger Games were all books that i found to be incredible. This book was defidently not as wonderful as adicting books that come out really fast such as manga, but manga books arent on the nook. The books listed are probably some of the best the nook has to offer. Remember, im not some adult or anything like that. Im just thirteen, so this probably wont apply to non-teans. I hope i was helpful. I would defidently recomend it. It is worth way more then it's getting sold for. Brandon, the author is a wonderful writer who inspires me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was wonderful! It is very entertaining and a page turner. I highly recomend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Beyonders

    Great book totally should read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Fantastic first installment

    I didn't think another series could intrigue me like Fablehaven did. I was so wrong! Can not wait for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great fun.

    Feels a little different from his other stuff. The characters don't have as clearly distinguishable personalities so often times you find yourself wondering who the people are that are currently speaking. With Fablehaven they just had to say one sentence and it SOUNDED like a unique person and there was never any question.

    I think other than that gripe, I loved this book. The world is very unique, the challenges the hero faces are often so random that you have to put the book down and just think. . . wowa. Spinning pubs, memory erasing tree rooms, detachable limbs. . . its so freaking cool. There is nothing in this book that feels like it is just a copy of other lore. Totally unique. Very entertaining. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    great book

    mullia great as with fablehaven he has created another world the story sucks you in and is imposdible to put down. loved it just as much as fablehaven!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Liked it very much!

    Very good book! I definitely recommend it for those 11 and up. Brandon Mull has another hit with his new series. The plot moves along well, and the characters are engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Great!

    This is a great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Beyonders

    This is the best book I've ever read!!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Beyonders!!!

    Beyonders + Fablehaven- best series ever!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    What won't be difficult is filling a paragraph with all the pros

    What won't be difficult is filling a paragraph with all the pros of the book. To be honest I could write a thesis on everything that Brandon Mull does right with his writing techniques. At first glance the story seems unoriginal and cookie cutter but Mull uses your assumptions to keep flipping the story on it's head. The dialog flows organically and never becomes frustrating even when the accents start showing up. He even manages to grow and blossom a romance between the two main characters, making it fun and awkward without forcing the reader to cringe from cheesy lines. But by far the very best part of the book is the villain. Something great has been created here, a villain with a taste for evil that is rarely seen in this genera. The evil king is such a great character that he single handedly elevates the story into something edgy, new, and spectacular...read full review at theofficebooks.blogspot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Hi

    I just started it and i love it. can't what to read more. This is way better than fablehaven. If thinking about buying do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Review by josieposie101

    Ok, this but is soooo great! I would never give this book up in a (pardon my french) million feaking years!! Im so exited! The instant i new that the other beyonder, Rachel, was a girl this image poped into my head. Rachel + Jason = love! Im kinda creepy that way. Well, get this book! -josieposie101

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is really good. The characters are awesome and the plot is GREAT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great!

    I love this book! This is a book for children around twelve or thirteen years old who crave adventure. It may get confusing at times but if you use context clues you can easily figure it out. It is surprising amd exciting. This book is something people can relate to and enjoy on a personal level.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21