Customer Reviews for

World of Warcraft: Beyond the Dark Portal

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Another Great Adventure

    Being along time player of WOW this book really helps to fill in some of the back lore of that massive fictional world.So of the previous books are a little light on plot. But, I find the plot to be one of many stregths of this book. Highly recommended.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    This was a great book, just finished it today. As a WoW player o

    This was a great book, just finished it today. As a WoW player of 5 years, I thoroughly enjoyed getting a look into a couple of characters I wasn't too knowledgeable on. Many exciting scenes, items of note, and characters popping up through the story that keeps it fresh. Contrary to reviews and things i've heard about this book, it's accurate and not biased at all. There is no "Alliance biased drivel" to be found. The Horde are painted as savages at many points, because according to lore...they were. On the same hand, even the Alliance can be quoted in the book saying how smart the Horde is, how they're always a step ahead, outsmarting the Alliance Army. Fight scenes talk of orcs chopping through puny humans and humans gutting mindless orcs. I guess if you play Horde in the game and don't like your factions history...don't read this. But if not, don't let anything get in the way of giving this book a read. Worth the money, another great read in the WoW book franchise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    READ THIS REVIEW

    Is this the game or just the book???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rosenberg strikes again

    Once again Rosenberg attacks us with his alliance biased drivel in the form of a book. This time however his one sidedness is tempered by Christie Golden. Again and again Rosenberg has the horde being slaughtered hand over fist with very little loss of alliance life... complete and utter B.S.

    You can defintitely tell which author had written which sections of the book, as Rosenbergs sections are filled with the victorious alliance juggernaut killing orcs as if they were mentally incompetant children while Goldens sections are more even keeled.

    I thought Rosenbergs "Tides of Darkness" was an anomoly. I knew the alliance win the second war, but the one sidedness of the whole thing disturbed me... Beyond the dark portal proves it wasnt just a coincidence.

    If you want to get the real scoop on both sides during the 2nd war, buy the game "Tides of Dakness" and "Beyond the Dark Portal" packaged together in the Battlenet edition... even works on XP, not books by Aaron Rosenberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun if a Fan

    The plot is full of characters and names that engage the reader at first, curiosity leading the way. The bulk of the story is fun if you are familiar with the names and are curious to know about these untold events. While the better part is fun to read the rest leaves a bitter feeling if you have any prior knowledge of the horde. The horde presented here is insecure and on the run most of the time after promise of war. Very disappointing. Learning about different clans was fun even though quite a few significant characters were left "characterless". Flaws can be put aside if you are indeed a fan except for one. Enter the Mary Sue effect. By the end of the book you will wonder if the alliance fought orcs or cattle. Humans rolled over orcs as if they were the ones with the physical advantage. One character in fact seems to be a one man army of sort. Would only recommend to a warcraft lore fan for kicks. Immense Potential - Amateur Delivery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book

    since i play the game as well as read all the world of warcraft books im glad that the authors keep in touch with chris metzen on the lore of the game and books.i recommend this for any that follow the game or if you like the fantasy style reading like dragonlance or such this is a must pickup book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    WOW Fan

    I am a fan of the World of Warcraft series and the game. I really like the way the game and books for the most part come together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beyond The Dark Portal

    The story surrounding the second rise of the orcs is phenominal. Siding both well with both sides of the novel, Alliance and Horde, the dual-author written book pulls you deeper into the history of the Dark Portal and the destruction of the Outlands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Disappointing display of warcraft lore

    This review could be summarized in one word: Disappointing. As an enthusiast of the warcraft enterprise, I could not help but purchase this new book. However, I was soon disappointed that this book failed to capture any of the richness of the lore of Warcraft. The first obvious flaw is the unashamed biasness that the story seems to partake in this small war. If one is a firm believer of being partial while reading about war like I am, he would be disgusted to read about the descriptions of the fight. The good guys win the bad guys lose. While that may be a great message to tell the younger audience that justice prevails absolutely, it is an inaccurate portrayal of war. Contrary to what the authors suggest, the Horde is not so inept that they could not even put up a fight which was shown as part of the richness of the original Warcraft Lore. Reading about this war is similar to saying ¿The Japanese lost World War II furthermore, it was fortunate that there was no loss of American lives at Pearl Harbor either.¿ It is simply inaccurate and boring to read over and over in the story. The second major flaw is the lack of character development. Characters felt summarized as the entire story does. All in all, this was simply a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Nothing like throwing good money away...

    Aaron Rosenberg has done it again this time with Christie Golden's help. Unfortunately her help did not prevent this book from once again failing the expectations of avid warcraft readers. While it is true that the horde did lose the fight in the end, Aaron did not show enough if any at all resistance from the orcs. Even if one is a great sympathisers of the alliance, he would atleast recognize the fearsome Grom Hellscream in battle. But any reader can count Grom's kills with less than 2 hands. (Grom has killed plenty of orcs though) Another fierce warrior is Terron Gorefiend who once again was only able to cause a slight irritation to the alliance while lowly alliance soldiers can cause slaughter after slaughter of orcs. This 'war' is not only one sided and horribly predictable. The love story seems randomly inserted and can be overwhelming and slow the story to a complete halt. Unfotunately for me, I already wasted my money on yet another disappointing title. Perhaps future readers can save their money and purchase books by Richard Knakk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    excellent read

    Great book, the best part is the fact that it fills in A LOT between WC2 expansion and World of Warcraft, lot of storyline to Outlands, etc. All and all a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3