Customer Reviews for

World of Warcraft: Arthas: Rise of the Lich King

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I read this book cover to cover in about a day and a half (which is about as fast as I go) and was very pleased by it. It ties in with the video games, WarCraft 3 and World of WarCraft, as well as ties into several other books in the WarCraft lore. It stills delivers or...
I read this book cover to cover in about a day and a half (which is about as fast as I go) and was very pleased by it. It ties in with the video games, WarCraft 3 and World of WarCraft, as well as ties into several other books in the WarCraft lore. It stills delivers originality and does not feel like it's 'describing a game campaign on paper'. Accuracy was very good too, I scrutinize details and 'facts' in books as compared to others in the same universe and this was very well thought out.

Yet another example of Christie Golden's excellent work, I have quickly become a fan of hers in her WarCraft/StarCraft novels and sincerely hopes she continues to write in these universes.

posted by Ryanxia on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good story

As an avid WoW and Arthas fan, I picked this up hoping to get more involved in the storyline of the game. While it does provide a good deal of information about the game and its background, i was a smidgen disappointed in the storytelling itself. It is a book that is ...
As an avid WoW and Arthas fan, I picked this up hoping to get more involved in the storyline of the game. While it does provide a good deal of information about the game and its background, i was a smidgen disappointed in the storytelling itself. It is a book that is full of potential, but moved too fast to really tap into it. Comparing to other fantasy genre books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed in the past, I would call it a decent read at best, a well written fan fic at worse. Overall, a good book that could use more pages.

posted by 4421479 on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Lovekit

    Curld up sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow.. Really puts you right into Arthus' mind... Read as he grow

    Wow.. Really puts you right into Arthus' mind... Read as he grows, from a pure child with noble intentions, to the ruthless, cold hearted lich king.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great book

    While looking at the comments i saw a few that werent very acurate so im writing my own. This book was a very interesting and pleasureable one but did have some minor flaws. Itq was made more for WoW/warcraft players that know a bit of the backstories for dalaran and archimonde and those other demons( including illidan) the backround info really isnt needed but helps. Overall this book was a good one and kinda enlightened me about that poor bastard arthas and why the sucker is where he is now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    amazing book

    although it made me cry a couple times its still a great book and if you like world of warcraf this is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Awesome WoW book

    I loved this book. I have been playing WoW for over 5 years and this was a great look into one of the greatest, and in my opinion, the most interesting characters in the game. It is a heartbreaking story but I think it is a story that should be read regardless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    did not get item

    Ordered item never received it seller not to be trusted!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Basically fanfiction....

    Ok, let's be clear about my low rating. I'm rating this book as a fantasy book, not as a Warcraft book. If you're a fan of the Warcraft universe (like myself or clearly most of the people who've written reviews here), you'll enjoy this book a lot more than someone picking it off the shelf. That's a given.

    But even as a Warcraft fan, I think this book really fell short. Half of the story you already know (assuming you've played Warcraft 3 and Wrath of the Lich King), the other half is mildly interesting, but in my opinion, not worth the read. In fact, some parts (Jaina and Arthas' relationship, for example) are laughably bad.

    If you just want a cheap thrill to take up some time between your WoW log-ins, feel free to pick it up, but don't expect much.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greatest book ever

    I loved this book! Well written and provides a great story about the life of Arthas and his downfall to being the Lich King. This is great especially for those who aren't familiar with the game or the lore and have never played any of the old school warcraft games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    It is the greatest World of Warcraft book to be written so far.

    I loved reading this book. The characters were great and the story intertwined with several other World of Warcraft books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Arthas

    A fun read that gives nice incite into a very prominent character in the world of warcraft and his decent into darkness from the heights of light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent for WoW fans, so-so for "noobs"

    I just finished reading this book today . . . and it took me three months to read. Normally when I read a book, I would finish it pretty quickly. I feel that the reason it took me so long to read this book was that it's part of a series of video game novels.

    Normally a book based on a video game franchise is recommended for a person that knows a lot of that said game since a lot of material used in the book would have newcomers saying, "What is that? Where would it be? Who is that person?" etcetera, etcetera. While I indeed play World of Warcraft, and have become a fan, I do not know a lot about the actual in-game story; I just play the game.

    All in all, it was an alright book. If I knew more about WoW before reading it, I may of enjoyed it more.

    I guess you oould call me a noob . . . at least for this game/book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WoW fans will love.

    I have been playing since warcraft 2 and love the series, so I have read most of the warcraft books as well as the starcraft book and Golden writes epic stories for both. I have to say that reading the book made me like Arthas a little more. It shows another side to him that players have not experienced in-game. Before I read this I liked him least of all the lore villains. I always found him to be a jerk but Golden has changed my opinion. However that doesn't mean I will not enjoy killing him as a raid boss in a future patch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    W.O.W. Fans only

    Worth reading if you like World of Warcraft of Arthas inparticular

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Due to time constraints I no longer play the World of Warcraft but i'm still interested in Warcraft lore and I thought this book was pretty good. In my opinion the Warcraft novels have been a coin toss, a lot of good ones and a lot of so-so ones but this one definately wins the toss. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Arthas is the Greatest Villian

    This book is the best book for anyone who plays World of Warcraft at all, but especially for those who are very interested in the lore of Azeroth and beyond!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10