BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

World of Warcraft: Wolfheart

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Malfurion is my hero

I play the game and that is what started me reading all the books, since there were previous warcraft games I never played. Malfurion is in the War of the Ancients trilogy, but he really isn't a talked about much afterword. This explains it all, lots of detail about the...
I play the game and that is what started me reading all the books, since there were previous warcraft games I never played. Malfurion is in the War of the Ancients trilogy, but he really isn't a talked about much afterword. This explains it all, lots of detail about the power of druids, his relatiuonship, and hints upon the next chapter of the world of Azeroth a bit but not too much. Good book.

posted by RainyReader on March 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Terrible at best

Setting aside the Warcraft universe, Knaak's work is long, drawn out, bounces around, and doesn't hold the reader as well as other fantasy writers do. If you're a fan of the Warcraft Universe, be prepared for a huge disappointment. Knaak is known for turning heroes that...
Setting aside the Warcraft universe, Knaak's work is long, drawn out, bounces around, and doesn't hold the reader as well as other fantasy writers do. If you're a fan of the Warcraft Universe, be prepared for a huge disappointment. Knaak is known for turning heroes that already exist and downplays them so that Knaak's own characters outshine existing characters that are already crucial to the story. These suddenly created characters are so ridiculously powerful that it doesn't even make sense or flow with the rest of the Warcraft Universe. Stick with Christie Golden. At least she (as far as I know) plays the Warcraft games and is familiar with the characters and the story and builds upon what already exists with her own books.

posted by Jadjuka on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible at best

    Setting aside the Warcraft universe, Knaak's work is long, drawn out, bounces around, and doesn't hold the reader as well as other fantasy writers do. If you're a fan of the Warcraft Universe, be prepared for a huge disappointment. Knaak is known for turning heroes that already exist and downplays them so that Knaak's own characters outshine existing characters that are already crucial to the story. These suddenly created characters are so ridiculously powerful that it doesn't even make sense or flow with the rest of the Warcraft Universe. Stick with Christie Golden. At least she (as far as I know) plays the Warcraft games and is familiar with the characters and the story and builds upon what already exists with her own books.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Malfurion is my hero

    I play the game and that is what started me reading all the books, since there were previous warcraft games I never played. Malfurion is in the War of the Ancients trilogy, but he really isn't a talked about much afterword. This explains it all, lots of detail about the power of druids, his relatiuonship, and hints upon the next chapter of the world of Azeroth a bit but not too much. Good book.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Good plot, bad style

    First off, I've read all the warcraft novels to date and I have to say this is probably not the best one by Knaak. The plot was good, but I'm not sure how credit I can give him for that since he probably received some ideas from Blizzard to begin with. <BR/><BR/>I used to enjoy Knaak's earlier works such as The Day of the Dragon, even though they were slightly less epic in comparison. The problem I had with this one is the repetition/motifs. I understand that he's trying to establish the gravity of the situation, but repeating the same line about Black Rock Mountain being mysterious 30+(it really feels more than this) times in a novel is not going to work. What more? He uses nearly every character to process this same thought so ever 2-3 pages, you see the same idea again, The mountain is mysterious, dangerous, does not make sense, etc. Time and time again, our heros are about to meet their doom...(-_-)really, you can do better than that.<BR/><BR/>Besides that, the language has been refined very nicely by now. Props to that. As I said, good plot and character development, but the craft is lacking in this one. I want to say I enjoyed reading it, but I can't if each page after halfway through the book makes me want to chuck it at the door for bad writing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    decent but not the best wow book

    it was a good book but the writing could be simplistic at times and could drag on

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    stormrahe

    Its an ok book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    An okay book for a lore fan.

    I love the warcraft lore (story) so I try to read every book possible, but reading this, I had to give it a 3/5 because it's just another fan fic.
    The way it was written, **YOU NEED TO KNOW ALL THE CHARACTERS**. This isn't a book for people that want to learn about lore. There is no developing of the characters or any creative imaginative feeling. However, I did get into it because I am a die hard fan for Warcraft. I was able to stay a tuned and there was a lot of thrilling & exciting parts where I could not put it down.
    It's good to know that I read the real story line, but the author, but I know Knaak could have done a lot better with his words. It feels like he tried too hard with his words & trying to get into the head of the Warcraft characters instead of enjoying his piece.
    In other words, I would recommend this to any Warcraft fan.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book about leaders

    If you are a Warcraft fan and have read some of the other books and comics, then this is a must read. Varian Wrynn is a dynamic character in this book and readers can see the conflict he is having within and how it affects his judgement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Couldn't Stomach Another Chapter

    As an avid fantasy reader, I've come to enjoy many well-written novels that have held me spell-bound from start to finish. This isn't one of them. "Stormrage" is a disappointing tale about strong characters who've become lost and clouded. Through the first half of the novel, almost every character is just as confused as the reader in the overall plot. Pace is sluggish at best with little need to resolve any tormenting moments, save for the torment of actually reading the book itself. Terrific shelf-warmer for a much better writer in the future. Remember to dust regularly; I know I won't pick this up again.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    Here we are

    I recently finished this novel and it was very good. I tend to agree that this was not Knaak's best work though. Many aspects of the story felt rushed and more shaken out than having a more creative way put on them. The characters' development and scope were a bit lacking although there were some neat twists developed. This book also tended to be a bit thick on the side stories for my taste, normally I enjoy the side stories and glimpses into other books/games/etc. but either I missed a book or 3 (doubtful) or there were some stories thrown in there that were made up for the sake of 'character history' that really brought the book down a bit.

    All and all Knaak is an exceptional author, and does very well with this universe. As you can see by my rating this book is still definitely worth the read and ties in pretty well with it's predessesor "Day of the Dragon".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Terrible to the extreme

    Disgusting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    TERRIBLE I WOULD GIVE IT 0 STARS BUT I CANT

    SEARCH UP MINECRAFT IF U WANT TO SEE AN EPIC GAME

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Love his book

    I play wow and have 10 lvl 85s

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Yomama

    I play wow and I have a level 21 worgan rouge

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great story

    A cool story of the nightmare that overtakes the emerald dram, a good compliment to the War of the Ancients trilogy. Brings back stories of old characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    good

    I like it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Gnail

    Enjoyed it. However not as adventurous as Day of the Dragon, it was still exciting with action and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Reveiw

    This book is interrsting cool and informative. I recommend this book to fantasy readers world of warcraft playees warcraft players or bored people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    This book is fantastic!

    Richard A. Knaak has made another outstanding book to add to his resume. The characters are all very well-rounded, and the plot's twists and turns keep the reader guessing whats going to happen next. Although there are some subjects that people who aren't familiar with the lore may get confused with, it's still a very good book! A definite buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Where's the wolf

    The whole story is set around the night elves and split between Darnassus and and Ashenvale. The book finally introduces Worgens. The named it wolf heart but that's miss leading since nothing happened to Varian until the end of the book!!! He popped his head in every now and then but that was fighting with the Greymane and dealing with Anduin. I was really looking forward to this book because Varian story is one of the most interesting and this book was a big disappointment!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Woot!

    Wold of warcraft books rule

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9