Customer Reviews for

The World to Come: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Imaginitive, but....

    On one level, I liked this book very much. I enjoyed the Yiddish, the Jewish folk tales and legends, and became interested in the story of the real characters. And then, just when the story seemed to be reaching a resolution, what? The description of the world to come was interesting and very imaginative, but I would have liked to know more about the real characters. . Yes, as the author says, life doesn't always giveyou endings, sometimes you don't know what happens, but this is a work of fiction, and you do expect some ending, some resolution. Ultimately, I found this to be like a tasty, creative meal that was, in the end, unsatisfying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A unique story and a unique look at life

    Dara Horn takes a real incident, the theft of a Chagall piece of art and blends a multi-generation story of life, love, death, and birth. Using this incident as the framework, the story takes a spiritual journey as it explores the antisemitism of Russia of the early 20th century. The story travels from Russia to a museum in New York exploring the real life impact of the Chagall work of art. This is an exciting and thought-provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Unique

    I found this audio book very entertaining and unique. Dara Horn has quite an imagination.

    SPA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read and a meaningful gift!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It can be enjoyed in so many ways: as a mystery based on the theft of a work of art, as a family saga, as an examination of the meaning and purpose of our lives, on the nature and sources of art. And yet Horn's novel has a unique integrity of its own. A great read and a meaningful gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Interesting and thoughtful

    I sat on the fence for almost the entire book, mostly due to the fact that it skipped around and I had trouble seeing how certain story lines related to the main one. However, the characters were so interesting that I had to keep going. For me, the last section of the book really brought it all together and made the book worth my while. The author's interpretation of paradise before birth (vs. after death) was absolutely fascinating, her vision regarding what happens to loved ones when they die (they become the ones who shape their future, unborn descendants' souls before birth), should be a comfort to anyone who has lost someone. Apparently the author pulled from a lot of Hebrew folklore and literature, and it made me want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Mystical!

    The World to Come is a facinating book, great stories. I was able to get involved in the characters and their lives inmidiately, I was sorry to when I got to the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Wonderful Read

    There are times when I find a book that has taken me to a world I'm happy to be in and this was one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    A Richly Rewarding Read

    Dara Horn is to be thanked for a truly outstanding work. 'THE WORLD TO COME' is a reflection of remarkable insight ... moving, inspiring as well as informative. A book that is as imagiinative and revealing as a painting by Marc Chagall (one of its real-life characters).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    A masterpiece of great historical fiction!

    Wow, this is the best book I¿ve read in months! The writing is masterful and so imaginative. The plot revolves around a piece of art, a¿sketch¿ for the well known Chagall painting, Over Vitebsk, and how it was an integral part of the history of the Ziskind family. How they came to own it, how it was ultimately stolen from them and how present day Ben Ziskind, remembering the painting, steals it from the museum. There are stories within stories but the author is so skillful it all fits together in a patchwork of a family¿s history, loves and losses. The characters are unique and well drawn. Glimpses of the artist Chagall as well as a legendary Yiddish author bring more interest to the story. The brutality of the Russia soldiers in the early 1920¿s and an inside look at a bleak orphanage enlighten as well as shock the reader. A definite 5, great for any lover of literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Magical and brilliant with so much philosophy and truth!

    I learned so much about Marc Chagall's art, Yiddish literature and life in Stalinist Russia from this book. All this, while thoroughly enjoying Dara Horn's imaginitive prose, colorful and quirky (but realistic) characters and suspenseful plot. For those who would be disappointed by the ending, remember Der Nister's words on p. 38, 'How is that not a 'real ending'? There are no real endings in life, either. Since when do things end?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1