Customer Reviews for

The World's Religions: Completely Revised and Updated Edition of The Religions of Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome and informative

Whether you are faith-hopping or just would like to know more about other people's belief systems, this book is for you. I read it cover to cover, but it would make a great reference book as well. Easy to read and very well researched. I was amazed at how little I actua...
Whether you are faith-hopping or just would like to know more about other people's belief systems, this book is for you. I read it cover to cover, but it would make a great reference book as well. Easy to read and very well researched. I was amazed at how little I actually knew about other religions. After reading this, I feel I am better able to understand other people around me. Does a great job of explaining different types of Christianity (Cathollic, Protestant, etc) and the other seven major religions too. Highly recommend.

posted by sandystarr28 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very informative for me. . .

But the book seems to take on a pretentious air, using obscure words that most wouldnt understand.If the author wanted this book to be informative to all reading it then he should have chosen a more limited vocabulary and not spoken above his audience's head.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awesome and informative

    Whether you are faith-hopping or just would like to know more about other people's belief systems, this book is for you. I read it cover to cover, but it would make a great reference book as well. Easy to read and very well researched. I was amazed at how little I actually knew about other religions. After reading this, I feel I am better able to understand other people around me. Does a great job of explaining different types of Christianity (Cathollic, Protestant, etc) and the other seven major religions too. Highly recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Excellent source of information on world religions

    An excellent read for anyone looking for a clean and concise explaination of the world's religions. Each section is well organized and flows well. I was genuinely impressed by the author's extensive knowledge on the topic and his ability to translate that knowledge effectively. I have read the book twice and expect that I will continue to use it as a source of reference.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A humane review of world religions

    I read this book decades ago, and recently bought a copy to refresh my memory. Unlike other World Religion books, this volume goes beyond lists of dogmata, but gets into what each religion means to its members, and how it enriches their lives. Uniquely, it does this for Hinduism, which is described very poorly in other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Basics for all religions

    This book was assigned reading for a college Eastern & Western Religion class. In fact, it was the only book chosen by my philosophy professor for required text books. My professor speaks very highly of this author and it is apparent to me why after reading this book.

    The author breaks down the the largest world religions in their most basic core form. It has given me a new appreciation for each faith. We are all victims of media perception and it clouds our judgment on faiths such as Muslim. Smith will show you the true meaning and history of the larger faiths. What is most interesting after reading this book is the common threads that run through all of the religions.

    This is a must read book for all ages! I enjoyed it very much and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    The World's Religion

    This is such an inspiring books to me to take a look inside the diff religions and cultures of southasia. There is so many insightful quotes and phrases Huston Smith has to say about. I actually learned about him in my world music class and ever since then have found an obsession about his work! If you are as curious as i am and would like to learn more about the world;s religion by all means this is where to start! It def helps to have a little background knowledge before jumping in the deep end but if you're like me go get your feet wet! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    a great introduction

    This is a great introduction to the world's religions. It's slender and reads easily. Smith has a gift for taking complex religious and philosophical ideas and making them easy to understand. I'd start with this book as a survey and then move on to more technical books. But this one may be all you need.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    A must read for any young adult seeking intellectual peace!

    A excellent read for anyone seeking tranquility in this complex world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Very informative for me. . .

    But the book seems to take on a pretentious air, using obscure words that most wouldnt understand.If the author wanted this book to be informative to all reading it then he should have chosen a more limited vocabulary and not spoken above his audience's head.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    This book is very insightful and interesting with the knowledge

    This book is very insightful and interesting with the knowledge and explanations it provides for the religions it talks of. It eliminates the source of stereotypes and judgement individuals and societies through the examination of what the religion really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Religions of Man with a new title

    An incredible book about humanity's search for God. This is a journey into religion from the beginning. You might be surprised when you find there is more to religion and faith than you think you know. "Connections" is one word to describe this book. Huston Smith is an awe-inspiring author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still a good comparison of religions

    I first used this an edition of this book in high school in the late 1950's. It was a terrific tool then, and it still is. It has taken me many years to find it again, but I am very glad I have. It provides an easily understood explanation of the basic tenets of the world's major religions. Which is just what I wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    A compassionate view of all religions

    A wonderfully written book. Smith writes from compassion and non-judgement as he explores the Great Wisdom in each of the world's religions. Basically a non-religious person myself, I began to fully value the traditions within each religion. This book challenged my prejudices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Makes you question your own religion!

    This book has information on every religion you can think of. And if you're not the religios type, than this book answers your questions and might change your mind. But personally, this book made me question my religion. It makes you think about your so called 'religion'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2