Customer Reviews for

Worldwar: In the Balance (Worldwar #1)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just read book 4

This is a good book, mostly because it's the first book in the series. I cannot however recommend that you read it. After toiling through books 2-4 in this series it has become painfully obvious that I should have just read the last book in the series, #4. I'd say th...
This is a good book, mostly because it's the first book in the series. I cannot however recommend that you read it. After toiling through books 2-4 in this series it has become painfully obvious that I should have just read the last book in the series, #4. I'd say that about 1/3rd or possibly even less of each subsequent book is actually new material. The rest is constanting restating and rehashing of previous concepts, ideas, thoughts and conversations. Its absurd to the point that I find myself skipping 10-15 pages at a time sometimes just to get through stuff that's been repeated over and over and over and over. Another thing that is annoying is that the cover art on the books is misleading. They don't actually depict any event taking place in the book. The concept is good and the story is entertaining. Someone could probably make it alot better by editing it down to one book.

posted by Ungodly on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Turtledove hates transitions

I've keep hearing about the author and this series was recommended to me based on my love for sci-fi. I was really hoping to like his work but I can't get over how he jerks the reader around like an irate redneck mad at his junkyard dog.

I like The Race and most of ...
I've keep hearing about the author and this series was recommended to me based on my love for sci-fi. I was really hoping to like his work but I can't get over how he jerks the reader around like an irate redneck mad at his junkyard dog.

I like The Race and most of the characters but find it jarring ending one charater's paragraph and then abruptly starting another's with no idea who he's talking about or where the story is geographically until the middle of that character's paragraph. Any kind of transition would be welcome but the author likes to storytell in one long run-on chapter.

I'm glad others take delight in his writings but this will be my first and last purchase by this author.

posted by Kalten76 on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Turtledove hates transitions

    I've keep hearing about the author and this series was recommended to me based on my love for sci-fi. I was really hoping to like his work but I can't get over how he jerks the reader around like an irate redneck mad at his junkyard dog.

    I like The Race and most of the characters but find it jarring ending one charater's paragraph and then abruptly starting another's with no idea who he's talking about or where the story is geographically until the middle of that character's paragraph. Any kind of transition would be welcome but the author likes to storytell in one long run-on chapter.

    I'm glad others take delight in his writings but this will be my first and last purchase by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Just read book 4

    This is a good book, mostly because it's the first book in the series. I cannot however recommend that you read it. After toiling through books 2-4 in this series it has become painfully obvious that I should have just read the last book in the series, #4. I'd say that about 1/3rd or possibly even less of each subsequent book is actually new material. The rest is constanting restating and rehashing of previous concepts, ideas, thoughts and conversations. Its absurd to the point that I find myself skipping 10-15 pages at a time sometimes just to get through stuff that's been repeated over and over and over and over. Another thing that is annoying is that the cover art on the books is misleading. They don't actually depict any event taking place in the book. The concept is good and the story is entertaining. Someone could probably make it alot better by editing it down to one book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Prepare to be bored...

    Starts out good but the author continually repeats the same dialog over and over. No Need to reed th first few books in the series because the entire history is rehashed in each book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Best

    Cant say much awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Would have rated a 4, but needs lots of grammar editing. -Town Crier

    Turtledove does great alternate histories, and aliens invading during WWII is just too fun! Especially when said aliens have badly outdated intel. One really bad thing that lost this book a star: it is as if the analog book had been scanned into ebook format with some really poor software. This cause a lot of grammatical and spelling errors. For the money I spent, I expect professional editing. -Town Crier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Very cool

    Love most of the characters and the depth in the story is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I labored to page 141 of 562 before giving up on this thin fanta

    I labored to page 141 of 562 before giving up on this thin fantasy about an invasion from outer space by humans in every aspect but outer appearance and a few superficial quirks. The writer jumps from one set of characters and geographical locations to another without transition from paragraph to paragraph. The alien conquerors came prepared to fight stone age humans but arrive during WWII. This is the first and only plot twist that's scientifically valid given the time elapsed during prolonged space travel. I was intrigued at that point and expected more to come. It didn't.

    The aliens get here with weapons exactly the same but slightly better than Earth's. How could there have been such a vast discrepancy between their advanced scientific ability no navigate the cosmos with a large military organization and their Earth-mimicking weapons technology of the early 1940s? And why would they have needed such overwhelming firepower and nuclear weapons to wage war against the sparse, thinly spread Stone Age population they expected to find? I find this scenario contrived and unlikely.

    Beyond that, the stereotyped characters, human and alien are only briefly depicted. I felt frustrated by never getting to know anyone beyond the obvious and mundane. Maybe this shallow fantasy takes a turn for the better later on, but somehow, I doubt it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great start.

    Very good story from the master of alternate history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked this book. The premise behind it (aliens invade

    I really liked this book. The premise behind it (aliens invade earth to unexpectedly find us in the middle of WWII using weapons that are nearly the equal of theirs) was fun, the writing was good. I liked the characters. Unfortunately, the story doesn't end with this book, and the others in the series weren't quite as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Excellent book!!

    Harry Turtledove is a master!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Awesome series

    My first turtledove series. It was love at first read. I wish that a movie would be made of this series. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Turtledove Doing What He Does Best

    Mix a little sci-fi, a bit of history, and some intrigue, and you get what folks would call a crackling good 'what-if' yarn. As always, Harry Turtledove does a good job with military battle scenes and political manuevering, but the characterizations depend a bit too much on the reader's familiarity with the historical figures. Still, it's a good read and there's no better way to get young adults interested in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    this is my review of in the balance

    The book reads fast it is a page turner. the only thing i wish mr. turtledove would have contuied with the story line from "the guns of the south" to me as a us history teacher it would have been interesting to see what side the north and the south would have allied themselves with. also to see how the two counties would have grown. it would have been interesting to see how manifest destiny would have played out between the two countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Amazing a work of pure genius

    If WWII had taken the turn it had in this book. I would be probably sitting next to a lizard in class. Great writing, great moving of the storyline. It keeps a nice pace, the battle scenes move a breakneck pace keeping the action good. And I love the storylines and how they seamlessly go from one to another. And its weird to read about Hitler and Molotov in the same room and not trying to strangle each other, heheh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Clausing Reviews The First in Turtledove's Worldwar Series

    I enjoyed this book tremendously. Turtledove's stories offer so much that we are not accustomed to reading, that it cannot help but capture and hold your attention. Harry Turtledove uses the perfect mix of futuristic fiction and historical nonfiction to captivate his reader's minds. The strikingly realistic characters and dramatic plot give the story depth and meaning. You cannot help but be moved by its events. I strongly recommend this story to anyone who wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Best Turtledove novel yet

    The plot is somewhat original, due to the fact that the aliens(known as the race) invade during worldwar II when humanity is most divided. This forces the nations of the world to work together which proves to be a difficult task. This novel has one of the most interesting storylines I have ever read and allows you to see several sides of the conflict. The only bad thing is that the race do not seem to be as powerful as the book makes them sound. Read the book and you'll know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Imaginative!

    I love Turtledoves philosophy! The aliens are taken right down to the chemistry, making a very imaginative and rewarding experience. The best part is that the aliens are not invicible, while staying fairly advanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    Excellent view of the 'could have been' past!

    Turtledove does an ecellent job of re-sculpting the past in a way no one else ever has. He is a brilliant 'alternate' historian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Promising But Fails to Deliver

    Aliens invade Earth during WWII, forcing the Axis and the Allies to join forces against them. Sounds promising but the book starts to break down when the aliens are shown to be not that alien. Instead of incredibly devastating weapons they have slightly more advanced technology than the humans. Their tanks are a little better, their machine guns a little more advanced. Turtledove really drops the ball when it comes to the aliens, with one of the lowpoints being when the aliens become addicted to the spice ginger in the same manner that humans become addicted to cocaine. The strengths of the novel come through his human characters, which are on the whole excellent. But these do not save the book from sinking in its own unimaginativeness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    The Best Alternate History Yet

    This is by far the best alternate history novel (and series) ever, surpassing even Turtledove's other work. While he seems to get caught up in his own characters and sub-plots (often extraneous) in his more recent novels, 'Worldwar: In the Balance' offers the perfect balance between plot and action, historical characters and his own characters. Read it. (NOTE: His sequel series, 'Colonization' is not nearly as good. The first of that series was pretty bad, but the second is more promissing. Hopefully he can return to 'Worldwar' quality to end the saga.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3