Customer Reviews for

Wormfood

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

HORROR AND SUSPENSE

I don't know what book Harriet Clausner read and reviewed but she not only embellished parts of the story, she went into far too much detail, which spoils the reading experience for others. Why do people feel the need to explain the entire story line in a review? Or mak...
I don't know what book Harriet Clausner read and reviewed but she not only embellished parts of the story, she went into far too much detail, which spoils the reading experience for others. Why do people feel the need to explain the entire story line in a review? Or make stuff up?

The novel is creepy and thriling. The character build-up is excellent. I can actually picture what Fat Ernst looks like. It's about 230 pages. Not one of my favorite books but it still rates a four.

~ DO ~

posted by CAReaderDO on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LIE NOT FREE

Warning, NOT free, will try to charge credit card!!!!!

posted by 17670549 on August 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This feels like a 1950s movie

    In Whitewood, California, Fat Ernst hires the lads to do a job for him involving the funeral of affluent rancher Earl Johnson; grieved by no one as all people loathed him. Skinny Arch Stanton is the designated driver as he and his friends plan to moon the corpse. However Arch slips and knocks the coffin into an irrigation ditch with the top falling off the casket.

    From within the coffin come worms a foot long who occupy the insides of living species while eating their way out of their mortal dining facility. All hell breaks loose as the worms show up in cheeseburgers as one of their prime hosts is cows. Fat Ernst is upset because the worms are costing him customers.

    This feels like a 1950s movie enhanced or detracted depending on your perspective by a string of profanity. The plot of the attack of the killer parasitic worms is light fun and thinner than Arch's butt as stereotypes are the norm; even the worms come across as a horror film standard casting.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Horror fiction that could actually be true!

    One of the best written horror stories I have ever read and I have read everything ever written by, King, Koontz, Barker and more. Very adult and scary but also humorous.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Gory and good!

    Basically it's a plague type horror survival situation. Boy meets girl, worms infect and feed on townspeople. Overall, it's a great read... some swearing and sexual scenes, some twisted stuff. I would reccomend it highly to those over 15, due to the nature of a few scenes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Gross but great!

    I loved it! I was hooked after the first paragraph also. Its sick and twisted but so good. I loved all the charactors even Junior and Bert. Its a horror story filled with humor and heroes. I hope to find more from this writer because I really loved this book! Bare in mind it is really gross sometimes, maybe not for readers under 13. If you like horror, read this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    wonderfullu Wonderfully Totally dosgusting

    Only story i ever read thT made me nautious! Many descriptions were so well written i could almost experiance what he was describing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Funny gory n great

    This book is fast paced and descriptive. I really enjoyed it and would by more from this author. The language is a bit salty but did not detract from the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Loved this book! It had gore and suspense and the characters wer

    Loved this book! It had gore and suspense and the characters were great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great

    This book should have been a movie. The swearing made you giggle slightly and the gory scenes made it even better. Honestly if swearing and gore dont bother you then anyone can read the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Scary and creepy and wondrous

    This free book was excellent. On his way to a job, the young narrator accidently rams a truck into a funereal car. (Harriet's review is wrong. The trio was NOT hired to be in the funeral nor to wreck the funeral).

    Things disintegrate from there. Stuff happens, more stuff happens and yes indeed there are gray worm-like organisms. And a pretty girl.

    I love this book. Totally and absolutely. Not suitable for pre-teens. Definately an adult sort of book.

    I expect to read more by the author. Love the writing, characters, dialogue, plot, and gross-out factor.

    (P.S. B&N puts a HOLD on the credit card for a dollar. You are not actually charged a dollar. They do this because they have been subjected to rip-off scams. The hold is released and the dollar winds up back in your pocket, not theirs. The reviewer that claims that this free book-- or any other free book-- costs a dollar is mistaken).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved this book-didn't want it to end. Archie trying to do the right thing for grandma & Junior was trying to not do the right thing. This book does not disappoint. It has a good story to it, it has stuff to make your skin crawl and it's hilarious. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great book

    Best i have read in a while, very imressed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Love Jeff Jacobson! Think of the movie "Tremors" only in the water.

    What a great storyteller! I find myself having difficulty putting his books down. Well written, great characters and fun plot lines. As a huge Stephen King fan, I have no problem comparing the two writers' writing style. Already pre-ordered the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1