BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Worst Case (Michael Bennett Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 759 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(310)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Patterson & Michael Bennett deliver another satisfying, action-packed thriller!

Michael Bennett, the lead detective from James Patterson's recent Run For Your Life, is back in this equally fast-paced and absorbing thriller. In Worst Case, Michael Bennett faces another serial killer with a "larger message." While Bennett's last opponent, The Teacher...
Michael Bennett, the lead detective from James Patterson's recent Run For Your Life, is back in this equally fast-paced and absorbing thriller. In Worst Case, Michael Bennett faces another serial killer with a "larger message." While Bennett's last opponent, The Teacher, had sought to punish the rudeness of wealthy New Yorkers, this new killer targets the children of wealthy with a hidden message. As this new criminal holds New York City hostage, Michael Bennett works closely with a beautiful FBI counterpart and Abduction Specialist, Agent Emily Parker. NYC's large resources are at their disposal, but absent demands from the kidnapper/killer, can Bennett and Parker find a way to save innocent, young lives?

Worst Case brings back James Patterson's latest detective Michael Bennett and it doesn't disappoint. Michael Bennett is as witty, good humored and sharp as ever. The interaction between Bennett and Agent Emily Parker works well; they're effective partners with some underlying romantic tension. In Worst Case, Patterson delivers another satisfying, action-packed thriller. I look forward to the next installment in the Michael Bennett series.

ISBN-10: 0316036226
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (February 1, 2010), 368 pages.
Review copy provided by the publisher.

posted by gl on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Getting Stale

It seems lately all of James Patterson books are the same and predictable. As for the previous post how can you read a book one month before it comes out. I'm judging all last year's Patterson's books and the preview from Worst Case.

posted by Darth-Vader on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson & Michael Bennett deliver another satisfying, action-packed thriller!

    Michael Bennett, the lead detective from James Patterson's recent Run For Your Life, is back in this equally fast-paced and absorbing thriller. In Worst Case, Michael Bennett faces another serial killer with a "larger message." While Bennett's last opponent, The Teacher, had sought to punish the rudeness of wealthy New Yorkers, this new killer targets the children of wealthy with a hidden message. As this new criminal holds New York City hostage, Michael Bennett works closely with a beautiful FBI counterpart and Abduction Specialist, Agent Emily Parker. NYC's large resources are at their disposal, but absent demands from the kidnapper/killer, can Bennett and Parker find a way to save innocent, young lives?

    Worst Case brings back James Patterson's latest detective Michael Bennett and it doesn't disappoint. Michael Bennett is as witty, good humored and sharp as ever. The interaction between Bennett and Agent Emily Parker works well; they're effective partners with some underlying romantic tension. In Worst Case, Patterson delivers another satisfying, action-packed thriller. I look forward to the next installment in the Michael Bennett series.

    ISBN-10: 0316036226
    Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (February 1, 2010), 368 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Like the New Character

    I am a partial Patterson fan, I say partial because I like most of his books including the partnerships, with the exception of the Ladies Detective Series but I stray from the topic at hand. His new character Bennett, is an engaging and complex one, makes the audio book a fun listen. The audio-reader brings a unique life to the written word, the back story gives you a peak into a history you always want more of. the Main plot is exciting, fast paced in the style we expect from Patterson. In short I liked the audiobook and recommend you slip a disk into your CD player, Computer or download to your MP3 player,you wont' regret it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Advantage of Membership card

    When buying a book where do u see the advantage of paying $25 for a discount on the price of the books. Also, why are so many of the books priced so high. I agree eith ghe person who said the could get it from Sam's. The prices make you think about returninb the color nook, canceling trial membersnip snd getting books cheaper from Sam's or this website I know.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one of his finest

    I like the book but it felt a a litle incomplete to me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    Great, action packed read. I could do without the nanny though.

    Great, action packed read. I could do without the nanny though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    great read

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great read

    Once you pick it up, you will NOT put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    A great read

    If you follow Patterson, you won't be disappointed. All the bells and whistles you've become accoustomed to. Was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Another great read

    Interesting read. AS AALWAYS James writes a book you ddont wabt to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Page Turner

    A disturbing crime with few leads is the basis for this fast-paced thriller by fan favorite James Patterson and new writing partner Michael Ledwidge. The son of a wealthy, New York family has been abducted, but this is no ordinary case where ransom demands are only a phone call away. It's a final exam where the answers mean everything and only the worthy students survive.
    Detective Michael Bennett has a lot on his plate. As a widowed father of ten rambunctious kids and carrying a full caseload, the newest investigation on his radar is hitting extremely close to home. When another student disappears and the FBI sends in their top specialist, Bennett swallows his NYPD pride and forms a fast friendship with this attractive agent.
    Blindly following the lead of this criminal sends the authorities into dangerous and unexpected locales, the neighborhoods abandoned by the wealthy and affluent. As the pace quickens the criminal's deeper agenda soon begins to surface.
    With the introduction of a surefire star to the mystery scene in Detective Michael Bennett, "Worst Case" is a definite page-turner not to be missed.
    Reviewed by Shannon Raab with Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Another great read

    Was a page turner, just confused about where the nanny relationship is going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Wonderful mystery/adventure story!

    James Patterson is one of my favorite writers, especially his mysteries. Worst Case is an excellent read - fast-paced and set in New York City, a great city. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Easy Read

    This was an easy read. There were a few twists, but you could guess the ending. I do enjoy this series, but not as much as the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series. The book did not have to much depth, easy beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Patterson can be counted on for another thriller

    I was intriqued when I saw the title of the book. Getting into the book was immediate. I am addicted to Michael Patterson and his characters. Just goes to show that life is not fair has twists and turns you would not expect. Toward the end I was wondering what the right thing to do was? The rich are really not much different than the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    CANNOT GET BETTER THAN PATTERSON

    I HAVE READ AND PREORDERED MOST OF HIS BOOKS AND AS OF YET, HAVE LOVED THEM ALL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Recommend highly.

    Super book. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Just finished

    This was a good story and a nice follow-up to Bennett's handling of his beloved wife's death. Some of the writing was predictable, but overall it was entertaining. That's all I expect and I got what I wanted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Fast Read...didn't want to put it down

    I like the Bennett series more than the Cross series, so far that is, I mean 3 books in isn't a lot in comparison; it's promising start for sure though. I personally have always liked the short chapter format, I believe that contributes in general to the quick pace and addiction to the page-turner. I think this was the fastest I ever read a book but not because I read the words any quicker, I found myself up til early morning not wanting to put it down. So much was happening I didn't want to leave the story. The wonderful balance of story and characters is masterful. My only complaint was what felt like a flaw in the writing that I fell in love with in this book, I didn't like being ahead of the detective and wondering why he didn't catch what was going on. Especially at the end I wanted to skip ahead to see if they were going to leave off this particular detail...it kind of annoyed me. I won't go into detail and ruin the story-line for anyone who has not read it, being the people most likely to read a review.

    Enjoy this one and if you haven't read the other Bennett books, pick them up.

    I do agree with the other reviewer about the price of e-books. I borrowed it from the library in e-book format. Maybe if they have a sale some day I'll buy them for future enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise Ending and Great Read.

    I gave up on James Patterson about 1 year ago when it seemed as if he was putting out a book a week and writing them in his sleep. But recently I had nothing to read so I bought this book because I like the Michael Bennett character. I know it is impossible to raise 10 children alone and have them behave so well, but I don't hold that against Patterson. I was surprised this book flowed so well and kept my interest, and the ending was terrific. I recommend this book to anyone who has given up on the Patterson books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Watch out for Mike Bennett

    I'm really enjoying the stories that revolve around Mike Bennett and his clan. The stories have a good balance between the mystery, releationships (romantic and family), and action. Worst Case actually had less to do with the family but the story was so good that it didn't matter.
    The chapters were short, well written, and left you hanging--wanting more. I found that I continued to read well past the time I should have been asleep due to this technique.

    The story is not so complicated that it bogs down the story. A nice light read for those who enjoy thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10