Customer Reviews for

Worth Dying For (Jack Reacher Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 1407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(600)

4 Star

(372)

3 Star

(241)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

super thriller

Since the mess in South Dakota (see 61 Hours), former Army MP Jack Reacher has hitched south to nowhere Nebraska. Stopping for coffee, he gets involved with a drunken doctor and a nose bleed patient. His desire to help thirtyish Mrs. Duncan who Reacher believes may be...
Since the mess in South Dakota (see 61 Hours), former Army MP Jack Reacher has hitched south to nowhere Nebraska. Stopping for coffee, he gets involved with a drunken doctor and a nose bleed patient. His desire to help thirtyish Mrs. Duncan who Reacher believes may be an abused spouse lands him in trouble with the woman's husband and his clan who own the county like terrorist despots.

The Duncan family distrusts Reacher as they await a special secret shipment that should have arrived by now. Even as lethal as this clan is, they know their impatient customers are much more deadly than they are. They call sniper Eldridge Tyler while the killer drives his granddaughter home. Eldridge will be there to kill Reacher if he lingers in town as the only reason for him to do is to intrude on Duncan family business.

Worth Dying For is a direct follow up to the cliffhanging climax of 61 Hours so in spite of Lee Child providing a good backdrop, it behooves the audience to read the previous thriller first. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Reacher forces the intoxicated doctor to look at the Duncan woman and never slows down. Although this is a stop off on his way to Virginia, fans will enjoy the non-stop action as the hero appears to have out reached his survival skills.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Hope Its Better

Lee Child's previous Jack Reacher thriller 61 Hours was not up to par with his previous books. It is because it was incomplete. Now with Worth Dying For the second part of the story it will feel finished. Is Lee Child attempting to be like James Patterson with writing m...
Lee Child's previous Jack Reacher thriller 61 Hours was not up to par with his previous books. It is because it was incomplete. Now with Worth Dying For the second part of the story it will feel finished. Is Lee Child attempting to be like James Patterson with writing multiple books a year for profit because you are doing your fans an injustice.

posted by Darth-Vader on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1423 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 72
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super thriller

    Since the mess in South Dakota (see 61 Hours), former Army MP Jack Reacher has hitched south to nowhere Nebraska. Stopping for coffee, he gets involved with a drunken doctor and a nose bleed patient. His desire to help thirtyish Mrs. Duncan who Reacher believes may be an abused spouse lands him in trouble with the woman's husband and his clan who own the county like terrorist despots.

    The Duncan family distrusts Reacher as they await a special secret shipment that should have arrived by now. Even as lethal as this clan is, they know their impatient customers are much more deadly than they are. They call sniper Eldridge Tyler while the killer drives his granddaughter home. Eldridge will be there to kill Reacher if he lingers in town as the only reason for him to do is to intrude on Duncan family business.

    Worth Dying For is a direct follow up to the cliffhanging climax of 61 Hours so in spite of Lee Child providing a good backdrop, it behooves the audience to read the previous thriller first. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Reacher forces the intoxicated doctor to look at the Duncan woman and never slows down. Although this is a stop off on his way to Virginia, fans will enjoy the non-stop action as the hero appears to have out reached his survival skills.

    Harriet Klausner

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Best author I've read since Ludlum

    Lee's character, Jack Reacher, is a great recreation of an ex Military type, and his writing style makes all 15 of his books real page turners. They make you want to read and keep reading and I'm looking forward to his next novel like a child waiting for Christmas. Just like Jason Bourne in the Ludlum novels, he is exceedingly bright and skilled in so many ways, and he has, at the same time, endearing sensibilities that make you feel his every vulnerability and root for his success.
    Simply amazing writing...thanks so much Lee Child!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really???

    Afteer reading this book I question american writers motives. It seems as though Mr. Child has nothing better to do than waste the time of countless readers. I am currently unemployed and usually spend my entire day reading. This book has turned me off from reading perhaps forever. I am now looking for employment.

    6 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hope Its Better

    Lee Child's previous Jack Reacher thriller 61 Hours was not up to par with his previous books. It is because it was incomplete. Now with Worth Dying For the second part of the story it will feel finished. Is Lee Child attempting to be like James Patterson with writing multiple books a year for profit because you are doing your fans an injustice.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Wanted to Like This!

    The first Jack Reacher book I read was his last one, 61 Hours. I thought it was excellent and looked forward to his next adventure. The basic premise of this book is pretty good - a downtrodden small community under the control of a bunch of very nasty guys. Sounded like Jack Reacher territory to me; but I stopped at the fifteenth chapter - the sickening violence just got to me. I had a feeling it wasn't going to get much better as the book progressed. Not sure I'll want to read any more in the series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Worth Dying For - not recommended

    Because of the content in the final chapters I won't be reading any more Jack Reacher novels. This was way too graphic even though the criminals were killed in the end. I don't need this in my head.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Worst of the Jack Reacher Series

    Lee Child has given us great stories featuring the bigger-than-life character Jack Reacher. But in his latest installment "Worth Dying For", we follow Jack once again getting into the middle of a fight that doesn't concern him. That is how most of his books are, and that is fine, but this book lacks a few things. For one, the "bad guys" are almost toonish in their evilness. they are like supervillians in a comic book. Jack lacks any resemblance of being human, he becomes more and more of a killer rather than an avenger of the weak. One of the selling points of this book was the fact you got to understand what happened to Jack after the previous book, but it plays an almost pointless role in this book. Lee Child is a great author, but i think he has sacrificed reality for the sake of pushing out another book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Excellent

    Reacher at his best and Child at his. Great read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Lee Does It Again

    Yes, it's more graphic than past Reacher novels. My opinion...the villains' actions warrant the actions and the ends justify the means. No matter what you think might happen, Child throws in his usual curve ball. My only complaint was the number of additional characters...sometimes a little hard to follow. Much better than 61 Hours.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Recommend

    Not the best Reacher novel. I agree with other reviewers who thought Reacher was too violent. I also find it hard to believe that all of those people are killed and Reacher advises the townspeople to bury them and forget them. However, all that being said, I still enjoyed the book.

    I also agree with the people regarding the Nook e-book high prices - I paid $165.00 for the Nook with cover. You can buy a lot of books for that amount of money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    Not thrilled with this one.

    For one thing, I was disappointed that there was not more explanation about how Reacher got out of the bunker in 61 hours. But even more so, I am disappointed in Reacher himself. I know he is no stranger to killing but in this book he seems to enjoy it more and more. To me, that takes him away from the good guy personna that makes Reacher so endearing. Not only that, he is much more than a drifter in this one, he is a down right vagrant bordering on disgusting. And finally, there is no sex!! Over all I give this one a thumbs down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    A Little Disappointing.

    I have read many other Lee Child books and have really found them to be very interesting and captivating. This book, however, fell a little short. It seemed endless toward the end. It was tedious with all of the details, repeated over and over. I got bogged down in all the description of the slightest detail. Felt it was not as good as 64 Hours. Sorry, but did not love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Bad Guys

    Another enjoyable novel by Lee Childs, involving Jack Reacher. These novels are about the fight between good and evil, and Childs gives the reader enough meat to get ready to chomp on the bad guys. Perhaps they become caricatures; cartoonish figures in their all-badness. But we love it when Reacher puts them down, however improbable. Regular readers of the series know how the story ends. Who was that tall man?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    too much violance

    won't read another lee chid book . not mydstery like i thoughgt it was.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Reacher needs a mission/assignment

    Reacher popping up in random towns and getting involved in their problems is getting a little stale. I know he's a drifter but it would be nice if maybe he was asked to do another mission like with Bad Luck and Trouble, One Shot and Without Fail. Another prequel when he was an investigator in the Army would be great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    great read

    jack never fails the test.
    thank you lee for creating
    such a great hero.
    worth dying for is one of the best
    read's.
    just want more every time you finish
    wish lee could write faster.
    great story great get even no
    messing around as usual reacher
    you are the man.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Worth The Reading Time

    Okay, I admit I'm a Jack Reacher / Lee Child fan. (This makes accepting Tom Cruise as Reacher on film highly unlikely.)Even worse, I read the series out of order, because I started with an abandoned paperback from a friend in Thailand, and now I buy them on my Nook. The story in " Worth Dying For" stands alone,so you don't need to get too concerned about Jack's previous adventures. And you still need to suspend belief that a guy who looks like Jack Reacher ever gets rides hitchhiking. A good beach read. I'm looking forward to my next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    GREAT

    I loved these books. In the last 6 weeks I have flown through all of them, and have the next one pre-ordered. Waiting is a sweet torment. Jack Reacher has become my hero, large, indestructible, big heart, always on the side of his own honor, and cute for someone 6'5" : )) I very rarely read male authors. I am so glad these books by Lee child somehow made it into my path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    My Favorite

    So hooked on this series. This was one of my very favorites. I hope the author keeps writing fast because I am running out.
    Super page turner!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Reacher Review

    Another great read! I read for enjoyment, and this episode was really good...just like all the previous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1423 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 72