Customer Reviews for

Worth the Risk

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Robin Bielman has written such a compelling, fun and sexy novell

Robin Bielman has written such a compelling, fun and sexy novella with WORTH THE RISK! I truly enjoyed every moment of this contemporary romance, from the earliest pages where Samantha Bennett and Dean Malloy cross paths again for the first time in five years...to the f...
Robin Bielman has written such a compelling, fun and sexy novella with WORTH THE RISK! I truly enjoyed every moment of this contemporary romance, from the earliest pages where Samantha Bennett and Dean Malloy cross paths again for the first time in five years...to the final chapter where we get to see the resolution of their love story.

The pages in between are packed with both steamy scenes and the dramatic tension that comes from two hardworking, passionate people who are competing for the same job. I really had no idea which of the two would earn the contract until it was revealed, so that mystery kept me turning pages until late into the night. Plus, the "hot sauce kissing scene" was fantastic! A highly recommended romantic read!!

posted by MarilynBrant33 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This series introduced me to the whole heritage architecture the

This series introduced me to the whole heritage architecture theme - the fixing up of old historic buildings, landmarks, and in the case roads, to bring the back to life again. Samantha has a passion for the industry that seems to be unmatched. But the reason she found ...
This series introduced me to the whole heritage architecture theme - the fixing up of old historic buildings, landmarks, and in the case roads, to bring the back to life again. Samantha has a passion for the industry that seems to be unmatched. But the reason she found that passion may just cause her to lose out on the biggest job of her career (more about that later). Sam is a very fun woman with a lot of personality and I really liked her, but she was just a tad one dimensional - I didn't see a lot of development in her and I crave that in a story. 




Now Dean on the other hand was quite a character. While he was a bit too confident for my tastes, he was definitely that way for a reason. I don't think the man had ever lost in his life! Of course, Sam may just be the first thing he really wants and can't have. This leads to a very interesting weekend stand agreement - this seems to be a new trend in writing and I'm starting to like it. It's a great starting point that is more believable than a one-night stand love story. 




I also like that these two books have at least mentioned the state of some of our historic landmarks. I don't know if that was Robin Bielman's intent, but she mentions things just enough to make you think about it a little - but she steers far from banging you in the head with it. I enjoyed book two a little more, but I just bonded with those characters better. Worth the Risk is a very good place to start. 




*This book was received in exchange for an honest review* 

posted by Jasmyn9 on May 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Second chances romance

    Interesting premise - two rivals for a contract to direct the historical restoration of Route 66 meet. He's the son of the owner of the company that is awarding the contract, but broke away from his father's company and is now trying to convince his father to award the contract for his small but upcoming firm that is willing to push the envelope with new techniques. He's the adventure risk taker, and apparantly well off (despite the "my firm needs this" plotline), since he can afford rides in the vomit-commet (weightless airplane) for a spur of the moment date, and meets up with her later on a private charter aircraft.

    She's smart, pretty, but never really got over her carefree summer of adventure with him that inspired her current career choice, or her father's anger that she didn't stay under his thumb at a prestigious law firm. However,she's determined to win the Route 66 contract to cement her position as an environmentally conscious historic preservationist, and thrown off balance in meeting her competition for the contract, because he's the same guy who left her years ago, and never called.

    Lots of name dropping about interesting places and sites, but overall the story feels a bit choppy. There's not enough background on some af the dramatic angst that drives the two main characters, and minimal character development for her. As a female lawyer, strong enough to break with her father, and a strong contender for the contract, she seems too split on the romantic front -- telling herself "no" about repeating a relationship with someone who hurt her emotionally five years before, but then engaging in four-minute-long kisses with the same guy in a hotel bar, and falling into passionate sex with him back at her hotel room.

    This one's ok for a light read (only 111 pages), but not enough fascination with these characters to want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This series introduced me to the whole heritage architecture the

    This series introduced me to the whole heritage architecture theme - the fixing up of old historic buildings, landmarks, and in the case roads, to bring the back to life again. Samantha has a passion for the industry that seems to be unmatched. But the reason she found that passion may just cause her to lose out on the biggest job of her career (more about that later). Sam is a very fun woman with a lot of personality and I really liked her, but she was just a tad one dimensional - I didn't see a lot of development in her and I crave that in a story. 




    Now Dean on the other hand was quite a character. While he was a bit too confident for my tastes, he was definitely that way for a reason. I don't think the man had ever lost in his life! Of course, Sam may just be the first thing he really wants and can't have. This leads to a very interesting weekend stand agreement - this seems to be a new trend in writing and I'm starting to like it. It's a great starting point that is more believable than a one-night stand love story. 




    I also like that these two books have at least mentioned the state of some of our historic landmarks. I don't know if that was Robin Bielman's intent, but she mentions things just enough to make you think about it a little - but she steers far from banging you in the head with it. I enjoyed book two a little more, but I just bonded with those characters better. Worth the Risk is a very good place to start. 




    *This book was received in exchange for an honest review* 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Robin Bielman has written such a compelling, fun and sexy novell

    Robin Bielman has written such a compelling, fun and sexy novella with WORTH THE RISK! I truly enjoyed every moment of this contemporary romance, from the earliest pages where Samantha Bennett and Dean Malloy cross paths again for the first time in five years...to the final chapter where we get to see the resolution of their love story.

    The pages in between are packed with both steamy scenes and the dramatic tension that comes from two hardworking, passionate people who are competing for the same job. I really had no idea which of the two would earn the contract until it was revealed, so that mystery kept me turning pages until late into the night. Plus, the "hot sauce kissing scene" was fantastic! A highly recommended romantic read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Great weekend read! This was a great weekend read! Dean and Sam

    Great weekend read!

    This was a great weekend read! Dean and Samantha find themselves competing for the same contract for their companies. Five years has gone by since the two of them shared the best summer of their lives. The feelings they had for one another have come to the surface once again and only increase after spending the weekend together. I thought Robin did a wonderful job on this story. The characters had the right amount of chemistry and guarded emotions that you would expect and it was fun to see how they were going to handle this. She did a great job with the intimate scenes making them very romantic. I also wasn’t sure who was going to get the contract at the end and that was one of the reasons I kept reading! This was a very sweet book that reads very quickly with believable characters and a happy ever after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Worth the risk

    Great read! Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Very good book

    For a short read nothing felt rushed. Well written. Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    An excellent debut, this story of reunited lovers kept my intere

    An excellent debut, this story of reunited lovers kept my interest and kept me turning the pages. While I appreciated the glimpses of the history of Sam and Dean's first encounters five years ago, I sometimes felt a little too much attention was paid to the details of the past, if that's possible. But Robin did give us our happy-ever-after and did so in style. I really did enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a quick hot read.  Sam and Dean had a great connec

    This book was a quick hot read.  Sam and Dean had a great connection.  I always love the second chance at love premise.  Theirs was one of pure gold.  The way the met five years before was young and fun.  Their reunion was grown up and mature.  The way they never lost their true feelings was sweet.  I look forward to reading the next book in this series. Ms. Bielman never disappoints in her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    Robin Bielman writes with passion and humor. This novella is a p

    Robin Bielman writes with passion and humor. This novella is a perfect example. Lovers meeting after a long absence set the stage for a passionate reunion. Their parting broke both their hearts even though they won't admit it. The hurt still remains as does the desire. The author shows us the deeply buried emotions of her characters. She has the talent to write multilayered people that the reader can empathize with. I was drawn into the story from the first page. I liked Samantha and Dean. They are delightful characters. The emphasis on historic preservation was an interesting touch and struck a cord with me. The secondary characters added to story as did the Idaho setting. This was a very enjoyable and romantic escape.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    Fun, sexy, heartwarming read that I hated to see end. One summer

    Fun, sexy, heartwarming read that I hated to see end. One summer five years ago Dean and Samantha had the summer of their life and neither one forgot the other. This is the story of when the meet again. It's a great quick read you don't want to miss. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story is about Samantha finding that ONE person, Dean, that

    This story is about Samantha finding that ONE person, Dean, that makes her heart beat just a little faster and then watching him walk away towards bigger and better things. Falling apart then pulling herself back together and five years later, seeing him again and all those feelings she thought she'd already dealt with come rushing back. After a weekend together, she has to watch him walk away AGAIN! How long will it take her to forget about the man she's fallen in love with? Does he feel the same way about her?

    It's a story about love lost and found again. It's about family and forgiveness. I loved it! A few times I was very irritated with Dean but then he'd make up for it. He and Samantha had amazing chemistry in and out of bed. The joy they experienced together, especially when they went zero-g, was so contagious that I found myself smiling right along with them. This is book one in the fantastic series Take a Risk by Robin Bielman. I can't wait to read book two.

    Received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    This was perfect Sunday morning romantic reading and I lay prone

    This was perfect Sunday morning romantic reading and I lay prone on the sofa from the moment I picked it up until I flicked the final page. Robin Bielman never fails to bring a feel-good romance, with wonderful loveable characters and a lose-yourself storyline, to life.

    Samantha and Dean had a meaningful holiday romance and parted on a misunderstanding five years previously. When they discover they are pitched against each for the same business contract their feelings are instantly reignited. And I'm all for mixing business with pleasure when it's as sexy and romantic as this...

    I simply loved the romance. I like my angst but I also love my books where I can completely lose myself in a sweet sexy romantic journey that has intimacy and passion that makes me feel all tingly inside. I adored Dean and Sam and with a five minute kiss that was just exquisite, Worth the Risk is exactly all this; many shorter reads have a habit of falling a little short for me, but this has left me a happy satisfied girl.

    Well worth reading.

    I received a copy of this courtesy of Entangled Publishing for an honest and unbiased opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Meli Book provided by the publisher for review Revie

    Reviewed by Meli
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Samantha Bennett is a woman determined to make her father proud. The thing is that lot’s of things have happened since she set out to win this big account. Main thing and probably the biggest of her life is seeing the man that broke heart again. Dean Mallory was everything for her and the only guy to really understand her. I loved that even though they have been separated for years their love is stronger than ever. This is the first I have read from Robin Bielman and have to say it was really good. There is romance, sexual chemistry leaping off the first chapter and a man determined to make all the past regrets well a past. The storyline was smooth and easily kept my attention wanting to find out what will Sam do with a man like Dean Mallory getting to heart all over again. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    My first taste of this author, I read this delightful novella in

    My first taste of this author, I read this delightful novella in one sitting. I'll definitely be watching for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Cute and Quirky!

    Loved this short story... Excellent characters and very good story line... Quick read (only 100+ pages)... Held my interest and I enjoy Ms. Bielman's writing style... She writes with a flair and a sense of humor... Her characters could be my friends and while sexy her love scenes are always in good taste...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I read all 3 this author has available and really enjoyed each o

    I read all 3 this author has available and really enjoyed each one. They are not long books, but they are great stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    I am new to the romance novels, but, I have to say, I thoroughly

    I am new to the romance novels, but, I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Robin Bielman is a wonderful writer who has crafted intriguing characters and wrapped them up in a compelling story. I had a hard time putting her book down and am ready to read more of her works! I would heartily recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: "Worth The Risk" by Robin Bielman was a won



    Review:

    "Worth The Risk" by Robin Bielman was a wonderful romantic read. The author did a wonderful job presenting these two people. Wow, is all I can say for a well written romance. Certainly, Ms. Bielman knows how to bring out the plot, good dialogue, sex, and the adding other good characters.. to only present a good contemporary romance and we get a wonderful sweet read. This is definitely a page turner that was well written dialogue. These two people... Samantha and Dean had been apart for five years, but after a rush for a historic preservation job they are now back together again. Will the sexual tension and chemistry be the same as it had been before? What will come of this? ... Will they get back together? Now, this is where I say you must pick up "Worth The Risk" to find out will the guy get the girl?

    All I can say is get ready for 'steamy scenes and the dramatic tension that comes from these two hard working, passionate people who are competing for the same job.' Just who would get this job...again you will have to get this read to find out!

    If you are a romance lover you will simply enjoy this quick short read. I like this novel because it was fun and sexy and I would recommend "Worth The Risk" to you as a good adorable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A rated

    My Review:
    I really enjoyed this book. Sam and Dean were an item for a summer filled with adventure and love five years ago. Both were devastated when it ended and never expected to see each other again. Since then, things have changed a lot for both of them. Sam left her law practice. Dean started his own company. Now they are both competing for a contract to work on revitalizing Route 66 and they both want this contract really badly. For Sam, it's a chance at financial security with a full-time job. For Dean, it's a chance to reconnect with his father.

    What neither one of them ever expected was to run into each other in the lobby. Now they have to wait the entire weekend to find out who got the contract, which gives them a chance for some time together. For both of them, this weekend is a time to reconnect for old times' sake, but soon they find that leaving their relationship at only a weekend may be harder than they thought.

    I enjoyed this book a lot. Sam and Dean are both passionate about revitalizing and environmental issues. For Sam, that is entirely from Dean's influence for that incredible summer, which I thought was an interesting twist. Everything she does now is because of the influence he had that one summer. He's left an indelible mark on her heart and her entire life.

    I liked the part that Dean's family played in the story and the contrast between them and Sam's family.

    These are both fun characters who enjoy adventure and each other. It makes the book really fun to read and highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Enjoyed this book!

    Makes me long for room service...... :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2