Customer Reviews for

Would-Be Witch (Southern Witch Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An amusing urban fantasy

    In Duval, Texas Tammy Jo Trask assumes the magical DNA that every member of her family possesses somehow went recessive in her case as her witch genes are dormant. Her only magic is talking with Edie the family ghost who lives inside her heirloom locket.<BR/><BR/>When her locket is stolen, a desperate Tammy Jo is beside herself as she misses the mouth of the south who was always putting her down. She vows to find her family heirloom so that Edie is back in her life verbally ripping skin off her back. She must retrieve this fast or something dire will happen. Knowing she needs help, she persuades her former husband Deputy Sheriff Zach who spent money on a shrink for her as he does not believe in ghosts and master mage Bryn Lyons although her family warned her even as a child to stay away from the Lyons as their roar is dangerous. Nothing goes right as werewolves stalk Tammy Jo while vampires try to take over the town and the magic-less people are conjuring up the dead.<BR/><BR/>This amusing urban fantasy is fast-paced from the opening cake sale and fender bender and never stops for a breather until the somewhat low-keyed climax. The ghost gossip grapevine is fun to follow as it makes blogging look obsolete. However, this tale belongs to the title character, terrific Tammy Jo as the only dormant witch in her family and still in love with her ex (at least for the sex) even though he believes she is a fruitcake. Fans will enjoy this humorous lighthearted chick lit fantasy as Tammy Jo finds her groove fighting vampires and reanimated dead.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters are full bodied and rich, from Tammy Jo's off-kilter magic to ex-husband Zach's chivalry and macho charm to Bryn Lyon's sexy, devilish ways. Throw in a mischievous ghost, a gay hairdresser and a transvestite vampire and you have a cast of characters to whom you never want to say goodbye. This book is witty, sexy, sassy and just plain fun. Kimberly Frost is an author for your "keeper" shelf. I can hardly wait until September to see what Tammy Jo does next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Witch With a Texas Twang

    Set in a small Texas town on top of a power grid that makes magic come easily to every witch except for Tammy Jo Trask, Would-Be Witch is a great debut novel for Kimberly Frost. I loved her comic voice and the funny characters that populate this action-packed romp. Her alpha males are hot, creating a great triangle that makes me eager to read the sequel coming up this summer. I'm looking forward to it. I highly recommend this sassy witch with a Texas twang.
    Gerry Bartlett

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Loved it!

    I've been dying to find another great series to read since the Sookie Stackhouse series ended. I think I've found it! This book was fun, exciting and sexy. I can't wait to read the next one and see what happens to Tammy Jo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A MUST READ FOR SURE

    I loved this book! Tammy Jo is sweet, loyal and determined and Zach and Byrn are smoking HOT!! This book was fun and sexy and i cant wait to read MORE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    A woman with a witchful of trouble

    I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys chick-lit and paranormal romance. The main character comes from a family of witches but she never developed any abilities. Her family has disappeared. She runs into trouble and must rely on her ex-husband, an enemy of the family, and her undeveloped witch skills to survivie. I finished this book in one night and had to purchase the second book to discover what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Enjoyed this book

    Good read. Loved the story line. Light reading. Enough twists and turns to keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Very Good Read

    Very Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    The best writer I have read yet!

    I got this book from a patient were I work. It took a couple of weeks to read it I am so glad I did. I had it read in 2 days. So funny and entertaining. I have recommended it to several people and they all say the Same. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved IT!!!

    I have been putting off reading this book for a couple of months now because I got it out of the bargin bin at BOM. However, I finally picked it up this past week and I'm sad it took me this long to read it. Between magical hiccups and ghostly relatives, it's a wonder that the town is still standing. Not to mention, the amount of attention and time Tammy Joe receives from two hansome men. If your looking for a little paranormal with a country twang then this might be the book for you. I look forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Funny!!!!

    This book was wonderful. It kept me laughing the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ~*Enchanting*~

    I loved this book from start to finish. I bought it and within a day I was finished... I just couldnt put it down! Frost has such a unique style of writing and I loved how she made all the characters come to life. Its a funny, sexy adventure and I recommended it to everyone I know. I cant wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    vacation

    i loved this better than the undead series by davidson. its a great vacation from laurell hamiltons. i couldnt put the book down. i almost liked it better than sookie stackhouse.....ALMOST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Very cute

    I loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love these characters

    I just started reading the book the other day and must say I had a hard time putting it down. It start off with drama and things just take off from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Southern charm meets the paranormal. This book is great!

    The moment I picked up this book I couldn't put it down. I love the witches, zombies, werewolves and the cat too! The plot kept me enraptured and the romance factor was anything but predictable. I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a crowd pleaser.

    I really enjoyed this book. It had mystery, humor, action and the always delicious wanting what you can't or aren't supposed to have angst. The characters were great and Edie the ghost kept the story going with her antics. It was a nice break from the serious genre of witch lore and I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Wonderful!

    I absolutely loved this book! Kimberly Frost is an excellent writer and this book was a joy to read! It was funny and romantic and I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Witty romantic adventure

    Tammy Jo Trask comes from a long line of witches, but at the ripe old age of twenty-three, she¿s never manifested a bit of magical power ¿ not even one tiny spell. Although her momma and her Aunt Melanie, when not off gallivanting Lord knows where, still hold hopes that Tammy will come into her power, it¿s not like she needs lots of magic in her small Texas hometown of Duvall. <BR/> <BR/> Tammy Jo¿s hunk of an ex-husband doesn¿t believe in magic, but he loves the girl. Deputy Zach Sutton is a man who knows what he wants. Evidently he thought that meant it was okay to ignore Tammy after they said their ¿I dos.¿ But even after she gets the divorce decree that says, ¿I don¿t,¿ it¿s impossible to say, ¿I won¿t,¿ when Zach wants to give her a little of his sweet lovin¿.<BR/><BR/> So Tammy Jo moves on and becomes the best little pastry chef in town. Course that¿s before she lets her redheaded witch¿s pride overrule common sense and gets herself fired. Then things go from bad to worse.<BR/><BR/> When a strange burglar strikes and carries off Tammy Jo¿s family locket, which just happens to house the family ghost, Tammy must turn to the sexy wizard, Bryn Lyons, for help with developing her powers. The problem with Bryn is that anyone with the Lyons name is off-limits for witches in Tammy¿s family. A big no-no. Why, hasn¿t she been taught that since she was a baby?<BR/> <BR/> But what¿s a girl supposed to do when her very own ghost¿s soul is at risk. After all, Bryn did give Tammy Jo her kitten and new best friend, Mercutio. And no, he¿s not a leopard, he¿s an ocelot.<BR/> <BR/> As it turns out, vampires and werewolves ¿ and some other surprising creatures ¿ can keep a girl pretty busy. What follows is a witty and fun adventure that involves Tammy testing her powers by casting a few spells and testing her limits with two sexy, sometimes lovable, sometimes wouldn¿t-you-just-love-to-smack-`em guys.<BR/><BR/> Kimberly Frost brings a charming new voice to the paranormal world of romance. It¿s a tasty treat and I enjoyed every page. <BR/> <BR/>Reviewed by Jo Anne Banker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3