Customer Reviews for

Wounded

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Phenomenal!

I absolutely LOVED this book! It was so heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters felt incredibly real and were immediately relatable, while still being very complex. Rania was portrayed with such a vulnerable strength, and though I've never come close to what she exp...
I absolutely LOVED this book! It was so heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters felt incredibly real and were immediately relatable, while still being very complex. Rania was portrayed with such a vulnerable strength, and though I've never come close to what she experienced, the author's words made me feel as if I was right there with her, made me question what I would do in her shoes.

Hunter every girl's dream man: strong, yet gentle; passionate, but able to wait for Rania to be comfortable in their physical relationship. He was wonderfully written- it truly felt as if a man was talking and thinking.

Overall, this is one of the best books I've read in quite awhile. I wish the author would consider a second book detailing Rania and Hunter's journey after the events of the book conclude (don't want to spoil the ending!).

posted by luthergurl86 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy

I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times wh...
I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times when I found myself skimming through the words to get to the end faster. Like I said, it was a good book. I don't regret the $4 I spent.

posted by 4529302 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Phenomenal!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! It was so heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters felt incredibly real and were immediately relatable, while still being very complex. Rania was portrayed with such a vulnerable strength, and though I've never come close to what she experienced, the author's words made me feel as if I was right there with her, made me question what I would do in her shoes.

    Hunter every girl's dream man: strong, yet gentle; passionate, but able to wait for Rania to be comfortable in their physical relationship. He was wonderfully written- it truly felt as if a man was talking and thinking.

    Overall, this is one of the best books I've read in quite awhile. I wish the author would consider a second book detailing Rania and Hunter's journey after the events of the book conclude (don't want to spoil the ending!).

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    "I had no f*cking clue I could feel this way, this much. It

    "I had no f*cking clue I could feel this way, this much. It's like some deep well opened up inside me, and now all the love in all the world is being poured through me into her.”

    I finished this book several days ago but it left me completely speechless and I needed a little while to gather my thoughts for this review! To be completely honest, when I first read the book synopsis, I wasn't sure if it was for me. The blurb seemed a little vague I didn't think I would like a war story. I am so glad that I ignored my original instincts and read it because it is so much more than a war story! I am in complete and total awe of it!

    There were several writing elements in the book that stood out to me. First and foremost, the author has such a way with words that I felt like I was in the war zone, in Iraq! The imagery is SO vivid from the "hackhackhack" of the machine guns down to the "burst of pink mist" coming out of a soldier who had been shot. The descriptions draw you in and keep you engaged in the story, needing to know how everything plays out for the characters in a setting like this.

    Speaking of characters, I should mention that this story is told through multiple perspectives. It switches back and forth between the hero and the heroine and I must say that the author did an exceptional job giving Hunter and Raina separate and distinct voices that not only reflected their different personalities, but also their very different cultures. Through these different perspectives, I got to know both Hunter and Raina on deeper levels and their experiences and emotions in the book felt so much more real to me. Okay, I'll stop yammering about the writing elements and get into the juicy stuff!
    “I do not know how he even managed to do what he did. He should not have been able to, but he did. He defended my home. Me. Himself. Us.” 

    Wounded tells the tale of two very lost and despaired people from completely different worlds who end up together in a horrendous warzone setting, and learn how to live and love through one another. They do not speak each others languages, and at first they do not entirely understand each other, but as the story develops they fall in love and go through hell and back to be together.

    Our hero, Hunter Lee is an American marine fresh out of a badly ended relationship. In the beginning of the story, he doesn't seem like he has much to live for. He has no family, has been betrayed by his girlfriend, and he really has no home. He just has the weapons on his back, his good friend Derek, and this tour in Iraq to think about from day-to-day.

    “I feel like everyone who sees me knows what I am. As if it is written on my forehead in bold black ink. Perhaps it is written on my soul, now, and they can see it in my eyes, those windows to my soul.”

    The unbelievable heroine, Raina has known a life only of struggle and pain. As a young girl she lost all of her family to war and was abandoned by her younger brother. Unable to find a job or any way to earn money she is forced to sell her body at a very young age so she doesn't starve to death and she hates every second of it. After ten years of this life, being seen as only an object for men's amusement and hating them for it, Hunter walks into her life and changes everything she's ever known about men.

    "Something shifted between Raina and me during that kiss, and I don't know what exactly it was, or what it means, but I know we can't go back."

    I absolutely LOVED the character development between Hunter and Raina. Their relationship progressed from the moment they locked eyes to the moment they made love and all the way to the very last page. I thoroughly enjoyed the scenes where they began to teach their languages to one another and it went from just exchanging a few words to them being able to converse back and forth between Arabic and English. I really felt Hunter's jealousy and guilt as his feelings for Raina grew and he had to listen to her work at the abandoned mosque with her clients in order to feed them both and care for him. It was completely heart wrenching to read.

    "I need your kisses to make the memories disappear.” 

    The love scenes in this book were unlike any I've ever read before. Despite the fact that Raina was a prostitute and had been used by many clients, the intimacy shared between her and Hunter seemed so innocent and so raw. Before him, she never knew sex could be something that she could want or even get physical enjoyment out of. It was beautiful how patient and considerate he was with her knowing her history. Hunter was amazing because he didn't see Raina for what she did but for who she was and he loved her for it. The emotions portrayed through the physical connections in these scenes of the book were so well written that I could feel the growing bond between these characters.

    "His fingers, there? Alla, I am terrified of the idea. Hands are the medium of expression, as eyes are the windows to the soul"

    Although they were from different worlds, on opposite sides of a war, there was no good and evil side in the character portrayals. It is just about two souls, trying to exist through life who find each other and finally start living it.

    For people who are on edge about the content of this book, let me put your mind at ease. There was some violence and near rape instances in the story, but the depiction was done in a way that is disturbing, yet tolerable to read and not overly graphic.

    I could absolutely go on and on in this review about many more plot points and aspects of this story, but I don't want to spoil it for anyone. I don't think any amount of words could do this book justice but I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is a sucker for a good romance. This is the type of book that will make you want to finish it in one sitting until the words start to warp together and you feel yourself getting cross-eyed. Okay, maybe that's a bit of an over exaggeration but I seriously read it until the wee hours of the morning. I applaud Jasinda Wilder for writing this extraordinary tale and I cannot wait to read more of her work!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Breath-taking! Literally! This is an amazing, beautiful story. I

    Breath-taking! Literally! This is an amazing, beautiful story. I could write pages describing the book and writing
    style and all that jazz, but honestly, it's the best freaking thing I have read in a long long time. And this comes from someone
    Who read 20+ books over Christmas break. Highly highly highly recommend! Oh, and it's extremely hot as well!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Not what i expected! But so glad i read it.

    The emotions, characters and the situations where remarkable and make you sad for what she had to go through. What a wonderful ending to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Crazy good

    Finished in one night. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Love conquers all story

    A look at love born amidst the horrors of war. The characters are unique and courageous. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Excellent story telling! This this the first Jasinda Wilder boo

    Excellent story telling! This this the first Jasinda Wilder book I've read and I will be reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Wow

    Really a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book was fantastic!!! I could not put it down. The characters worked well together and I really liked how truly pure she was on the inside. Very good writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    I absolutely love this Author. Falling into Us & Falling int

    I absolutely love this Author. Falling into Us & Falling into You & now Wounded. Wow!! You feel every heartbreak and every high. Love the characters

    I will be reading these books again. Keepers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    3.5 Stars This is a hard review. Because on one hand it is a be

    3.5 Stars
    This is a hard review. Because on one hand it is a beautiful love story, on the other hand maybe not so believable. The writing is quite good and the story flows seamlessly and without problems. For me, I had a hard time believing that anyone could fall in love the way that Rania and Hunter did. Not that they couldn't fall in love just the way it unfolded.

    You spent a lot of time with the two H/H being unable to communicate. She speaks Arabic and him not so much. Spending so much time on Rania's Job and going into detail was a little much for me.

    I would have liked to have seen more of these two state side and falling in love rather then in Iraq falling in love. Getting to know each other outside of war and the stress that not only Rania was going through but also Hunter.

    It was still very well written. It did touch me in ways that made me sniffle a few times. I'll read more from this author. She addressed several, very ugly issues and still turned out a nicely done novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Book! blog*** Wounded by Jasin

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Book! blog***

    Wounded by Jasinda Wilder
    Publication Date: December 16, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Ecopy provided by the author

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

    The one impossibility in my life is love.

    And then I meet HIM.

    War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man's very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven't been through it, there's no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you're dead.
    Now the only thing that can save me is HER.


    What I Liked:

    This book... this book was so powerful and emotional. You might see me use two words in particular throughout this book: bittersweet and heartbreaking. I almost cried so many times throughout this book, because of the story and its content.

    This book deals with prostitution. Rania is forced to become a prostitute in order to survive. She was abandoned by her brother, when their parents died, at a very young age. I cannot imagine what I would have done in her situation, and I really cannot imagine having the strength to do what she did. I know in society, we tend to look down on prostitutes. I am in no way condoning prostitution, but this book really brought out the other side of prostitution: the side of the prostitute. My heart really went out to Rania, because everything that she felt, all the disgust, self-loathing, and anger, it was so real. We all cannot imagine being in her place, but what she did took courage.

    The romance in this book is simple, but complex. It seems straightforward: soldier is taken in by prostitute, and they fall in love. But it is so much more than that. It goes deeper than that, on a level that goes past lust and love. I really liked Rania and Hunter's relationship. They really did have a love relationship, and more.

    I really cannot say more about this book - it is so intense and powerful. I do not know if I have the heart to read it again, but I enjoyed it when I did.


    What I Did Not Like:

    There is not anything in particular that I did not like. But when I finished the book, I felt sad and morose, yet happy for the couple. This book did a number on my emotions. This book felt like a 4-star book for some reason, but it is really, really well done.


    Would I Recommend It:

    I am going to say yes, but not if you do not like books that go deep. This book, while very steamy and filled with adult-approved romance, contained some heavy themes, such as prostitution. That being said, this book is not for everyone. But, give it a try!


    Rating:

    4 stars. This book is so heartbreaking, and bittersweet, but at the same time, it is touching and memorable. The truth of this book is stunning and amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Best book in a very long time!

    This book brought out so many emotions in me thst i truely felt as though i was one of the characters. The love and depth of that kind of love is a once in a life time gift and i am so happy that Rania and Hunter were the ones to receive it. Great job well done by a great author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy

    I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times when I found myself skimming through the words to get to the end faster. Like I said, it was a good book. I don't regret the $4 I spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Good read

    Interesting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    At first I was like, not my type of book, It was too depressing

    At first I was like, not my type of book, It was too depressing seeing the world thru Rania's eyes and sharing her pain. I couldn't put the book down. It sucks you in and makes you view people who are different with compassion.
    i truly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Wow

    I read Falling into you and was completely blown away. The author really capure hearbreak pain hopelessness and in the midst of it all love is discovered. This story really shook me to the core. Both Hunter an Raina we lost souls damaged and yet compassionate. The war detailes were well written. Although i would liked for a more reasonable time to have past for Hunter injuries to have healed. A month come on dude was shot multiple times...all in all great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Beautiful and emotion. And very HOT. I loved it!!!!

    Beautiful and emotion. And very HOT. I loved it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Different read for me but glad I read it

    One of the reviews I read on here or Goodreads said that this book was slow at times. I found that to be very false. This story flowed, moved and even pushed forward. I enjoyed Hunter and sympathized with Rania. I loved the story from beginning to end and was sad to see that it was over when I turned the last page. Though I did get closure...I wanted more. I am a fan of Paranormal Romance so this was not what I am used to but it rocked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Amaaaaaaaazing!

    This book is one for the records! It has everything you need; pain and passion. Raina's story makes you want to help her and you are so relieved when Hunter comes along. He does not come crashing in like a knight in shining armor, which is definitely a relief. But they save each other. This story is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6