BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wounded

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Phenomenal!

I absolutely LOVED this book! It was so heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters felt incredibly real and were immediately relatable, while still being very complex. Rania was portrayed with such a vulnerable strength, and though I've never come close to what she exp...
I absolutely LOVED this book! It was so heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters felt incredibly real and were immediately relatable, while still being very complex. Rania was portrayed with such a vulnerable strength, and though I've never come close to what she experienced, the author's words made me feel as if I was right there with her, made me question what I would do in her shoes.

Hunter every girl's dream man: strong, yet gentle; passionate, but able to wait for Rania to be comfortable in their physical relationship. He was wonderfully written- it truly felt as if a man was talking and thinking.

Overall, this is one of the best books I've read in quite awhile. I wish the author would consider a second book detailing Rania and Hunter's journey after the events of the book conclude (don't want to spoil the ending!).

posted by luthergurl86 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy

I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times wh...
I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times when I found myself skimming through the words to get to the end faster. Like I said, it was a good book. I don't regret the $4 I spent.

posted by 4529302 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    3.5 Stars This is a hard review. Because on one hand it is a be

    3.5 Stars
    This is a hard review. Because on one hand it is a beautiful love story, on the other hand maybe not so believable. The writing is quite good and the story flows seamlessly and without problems. For me, I had a hard time believing that anyone could fall in love the way that Rania and Hunter did. Not that they couldn't fall in love just the way it unfolded.

    You spent a lot of time with the two H/H being unable to communicate. She speaks Arabic and him not so much. Spending so much time on Rania's Job and going into detail was a little much for me.

    I would have liked to have seen more of these two state side and falling in love rather then in Iraq falling in love. Getting to know each other outside of war and the stress that not only Rania was going through but also Hunter.

    It was still very well written. It did touch me in ways that made me sniffle a few times. I'll read more from this author. She addressed several, very ugly issues and still turned out a nicely done novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy

    I thought that the author did a good job of showing the tragedy of Rania's situation, and I was intrigued by the love story. That being said, it wasn't as wonderful as I had hoped. I gave it a 3 because I couldn't help but finish the story, but there were a few times when I found myself skimming through the words to get to the end faster. Like I said, it was a good book. I don't regret the $4 I spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    So so

    Jpw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Umm No!

    Did not like it. Not realistic. Sorry but no way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.25 stars-felt a little disconnected:  WOUNDED is a contemporar

    3.25 stars-felt a little disconnected:  WOUNDED is a contemporary storyline of forbidden love during the Gulf War.  Hunter Lee is an American Marine who finds himself severely injured and his only means of aid is a young Iraqi woman who has survived through the only means at her disposal.  On her own since the young age of fourteen, Rania has faced death, starvation, abuse, rape and more men than she ever thought possible.  And rescuing a dying American Marine from the streets of Iraq will place two would-be enemies into a relationship where they will be forced to do protect and defend each other in order to survive.
    Jasinda Wilder has written a story that will hit close to home for many people.  The US involvement in the Gulf War is front and center throughout the storyline using flashbacks from 1993 when a young Rania and her brother come face to face with an American journalist who would change Rania's life forever flashing forward to 2003 when Rania believes she is paying penance for the death of a man who was only trying to survive.
    The storyline is not all hearts and flowers, in fact, it is a story that describes the choices a young fourteen year old girl must endeavor to survive in a country that is at war with the world as well as itself.  
    WOUNDED is written from two distinctive POVs:  Rania and Hunter Lee.  Some of the POVs overlap such that we will begin to understand what goes through the mind of a woman forced into a lifestyle of her choosing to survive.  As well, we follow Hunter as he must come to terms with the possibility that he may never see America again. Because Rania and Hunter do not speak the same language, the story is mostly a narrative where the reader must follow the thoughts of two people who must learn to trust one another in order to survive.  And because of the writing style, I did not feel a connection to the characters whose lives were slowly spinning out of control.


    If you are a fan of Jasinda's novels, you will recognize some of the storyline angst, demons and heartbreaking sorrow that is familiar to the reader's of her Falling series. Jasinda writes a story about war and forbidden love; surviving by any means possible; and the ability to overcome pain and the sins of the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Ok

    Its good. Good writing. Good story line, but thats all I can really say. Its not remarkable or outstanding. It moves so slow i found myself getting bored. Most of it just seems centered in their thoughts and minds.

    Read if you want, dont expect much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Interesting....

    This book was good, but not a book I would want to keep. holds your intrest, but has slow moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1