Customer Reviews for

Wrecked

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchan

I received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, so here it is. This is an emotional roller coaster ride and you will be glued to each word just to see what happens. We meet Lorrie starting a semester at college. She has deferred ...
I received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, so here it is. This is an emotional roller coaster ride and you will be glued to each word just to see what happens. We meet Lorrie starting a semester at college. She has deferred the last three semesters due to unforeseen events in her life. Two years ago her mother is murdered by her stepfather and a few months ago her father committed suicide because he still loved her mother and can't live life without her in it. Now Lorrie is trying to move on and be "normal". She is on a double date with her best friend and the guy is a douche. There are others at the bar talking about something and Lorrie heads out back to see what is going on. There she sees the man who saved her from the icy waters of Lake Teewee, Hunter "The Hammer" Jensen. Hunter is an MMA fighter and he is all muscle and hard body, not to mention gorgeous. Hunter sees something in her he can relate to and wants to be near her. They both have baggage and really need to stay away from each other. But they are drawn together. So much pain for them both, ex-girlfriend and secrets are hard to hide. Love Priscilla West's writing style, I have read many of her stories and can't wait for Rescued (Wrecked book 2). This is a great story. Pick it up and enjoy the ride, I sure did.

posted by mary8808 on December 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Okay book. This is the type of book that you pick up because

An Okay book. This is the type of book that you pick up because the blurb intrigues you and you want to delve right into it and find out what the story really is about. Sadly, it was also the kind of book that doesn't live up to its hype, simply because the concept was ...
An Okay book. This is the type of book that you pick up because the blurb intrigues you and you want to delve right into it and find out what the story really is about. Sadly, it was also the kind of book that doesn't live up to its hype, simply because the concept was not executed properly.

Don't get me wrong, this story had a lot of things going for it. First, the characters were complex and interesting and seeing them come together should have made for a wonderful read. However, it was too chaotic and cagey. Add to that the fact that the pace of the story dragged in the beginning and whatever anticipation I had about the main characters getting together slowly vanished leaving in its place disappointment.

Second, the emotions and angsty level of the story was something I was looking forward to. I love watching how my characters overcome their demons and I very much wanted to see Lorrie and Hunter do that in this story. But again, it was not to be. It focused mainly on Lorrie's problems, which was fine up to a point. But I did not appreciate having to reach almost the end of the book to find out what the hell was troubling Hunter. And then not having them deal with it at all.

And lastly, the romance between these two had a lot of potential since their chemistry was palpable from the start. But really, some things are just better in small doses. It threw me off the story and whatever investment I had made towards their relationship succeeding, was squashed after Lorrie and Hunter spent a few days together. Sex does not a connection make. Not for me.

I admit to being curious about what is going to happen next, but I don't think I'll be in any hurry about it.

All in all, an okay book. Especially if you don't mind cliffhangers. It just didn't work for me.

posted by shirley_frances on December 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    88 page intro.

    Three star only because I thought I was getting the complete novel. Make sure youbuy the complete book. Other thanthat, it was a warm beginning to a fun emotional serires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    *I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN

    *I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW*

    Honestly I was a little wary before I began reading this book. I'm a fan of the college romance & I'm a fan of the athlete/fighter stories. The drawback to reading so many stories especially in the New Adult genre is that certain plot lines begin to feel redundant. 
    I was pleasantly surprised that Wrecked actually kept me interested and even smiling at a few different occasions. 
    Not so surprising is that we have the hot tattooed & muscled bad boy fighter with a reputation in the cage and in the bedroom, who becomes intrigued with the girl who does not want a relationship. They quickly develop a blurred line friendship although Hunter makes it clear that he wants more. 

    "To Snorrie and Gunther. May their friendship be filled with miscommunication and drama." 

    Once they give in to their true desire it becomes an all consuming passion for each other. 
    They both have their own secrets...private battles... and thus gives the story a twist that I honestly wasn't expecting. It something that gave this story an edge over the other "fighter stories" I've read previously. No spoilers...

    "Maybe a little pain now is better than a lot of pain later..." 

    The highlight of this story for me is Hunter. 
    How could I not feel a little swoony over a six foot two, ripped brawler, with gorgeous eyes and a tender side that makes your heart flutter a bit? (Answer: I can't.)
    Did I mention he kind of looks like Tom Hardy? **SWOON**
    But even more than his looks is his personality. I loved what he brought to the story. He has a genuine sweet side that made him so endearing. 
    The drawback for me unfortunately was Lorrie. 
    *Sigh* I hate that I felt frustrated with her most of the story. The mixed signals and jealousy began to irk me just as much as they drove Hunter nuts. I get that she has her own baggage to deal with but I hate that she seemed to use that as her defense for the push/pull going on with Hunter. Some of her reactions were a little over the top as well. 
    Though I might add that I did feel slightly more defensive of her towards the end of the book. 

    Be aware this book does leave on a cliff hanger but because the second book is already available you don't have to wait too long to find out what happens next. 

    I'm giving this book a solid 3.5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Ok

    Not enough emotional insight into characters just kept moving without personal story fullfillment to grab reader by the heart. Just a this happend then this happens then this happend kind of read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Judging by other reviews, Wrecked by Pricilla West is a love it

    Judging by other reviews, Wrecked by Pricilla West is a love it or hate it book. Personally, I’m on the liked it side. Okay the story plot line was a bit predictable but it there were definitely some aspects that really endeared me to the story. Namely Hunter. 




    The bulk of the book is told from Lorrie’s first point of view. There were a few moments when I did want to reach out and tell Lorrie to snap out of it. However, as her story was revealed, I beginning to have more empathy for her. As her relationship with Hunter evolved, I couldn’t help but think was it really healthy replacement for all the pain she had experienced. Seemed to me she still had to deal with the death of her parents more on an internal level before she got involved with someone. As for her and Hunter together, WHOA can you say hump like bunnies! I do have to say I started to skim through all the sex parts. Not that they were bad, I just wanted to get to the meat of their story. 




    Now to Hunter! OMG…any guy who rescues kittens is ok in my book. RAMPAGE!!!! Can I adopt you please? There were moments when I had my doubts about him. Hunter not Rampage. I thought he was seriously sexy and smart but I was feeling like I was going to be bored once his issue comes to play. That whole “He was too damaged. I was too broken.” Thing was yet to be revealed and frankly I had placed bets with myself what it was. BOY WAS I WRONG! Chapter 28 Secret. Now it’s time for Hunter’s POV and story. Here is where I really sat up and paid attention. YOWZA! No spoilers here but let me say this. That I did not see that coming. Not in a million years. I have to know what happens to Hunter. It’s a must. 




    The book ends on a fairly intense cliffhanger which has lured me in. So at this point I would say, yes this is a book worth reading. I will most definitely be reading the next book, Rescued as well if nothing else to find out what happens to Hunter and all the kittens. 












    I received this book from Net Gallery for the express purposes of an honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.




    Stars– 3.5, Flames – 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Hunter. Mmmmm. Tattooed. A fighter. A guy with a hard outer shel

    Hunter. Mmmmm. Tattooed. A fighter. A guy with a hard outer shell and warm gooey center. I mean, he adopts kittens. Kittens. Kittens so young they need to be hand-fed. I officially heart him. He's not a heart and flowers guy - he's a fighter and he's more comfortable boozing and womanizing - but he really tries with Lorrie. He tries to be the person she needs, to be a good boyfriend, but he still holds back. He's got secrets. And when we learn his secrets it's harsh.

    Lorrie. I struggled with liking her. Why? I was annoyed by how she treated Hunter; all the suspicions and doubt. Some of it was warranted, his womanizing past kinda guaranteed that, but she didn't give him enough credit for how he treated her. I cut her some slack because she's got issues. God knows after what she had endured she earned those issues but it felt like that's all the book was, rehashing her issues - she can't trust, she jumps to conclusions, she can't move forward, etc. Despite all that, I think she's a redeemable character and we get to see a glimpse of that. I hope that in book two we get to see her heal and be able to move forward.

    Yep, book two. That means that Wrecked ends on a cliffhanger (I hate cliffhangers) and things are bad - but I have hope that Hunter and Lorrie will get a happy ending. -- ebook provided in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

      This book was different for me. It started off great but then

      This book was different for me. It started off great but then got a little draggy. I love the way Hunter is portrayed at the beginning of the story but he seemed to soften a little too much as it went on. It was nice to see he did have a soft side though. He is so very gentle and sweet and takes his time, I know Lorrie has past issues but she is so cold and annoying. 
    The push and pull is frustrating lol, I can't believe Hunter has such patience with her! 
     I really enjoyed the amusement park scene and the bantering between them, how they became closer friends. I actually thought that was really neat and something I would love to do - pretty cool idea!.
     I'm not sure what it was but there is a scene with kittens and as this scene begins the story seems to change from here on out. The kittens played a big part in this story and I loved the details about them lol (I love kitties). Love the part where Hunter names them :)
    We find out about Lorrie's past and although it is tragic it feels like we are missing something - it just doesn't seem "enough". I wonder if that will come out in book 2. We also learn about Hunter's hidden past in the end of this first book and I must say it caught me off guard. As the story goes on I was beginning to figure it was something similar to that but not that.  A bit of a twist there and I look forward to hearing how that plays out and hos Lorrie reacts
    *Copy provide for honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    3.5 Stars This story starts with Hunter saving Lorrie's life. L

    3.5 Stars

    This story starts with Hunter saving Lorrie's life. Literally and I think later, figuratively. She has started back to college after a horrible double tragedy struck her family. She has not only lost one parent, but two. My heart ached for her. I wanted her to pull out of the depression and fight for a real life despite her hurdles. My heart strings were definitely tugged by her tragic tale.
    "That's what normal people did right? In the movies, whenever someone read their father's suicide note they cried afterwards."
    Lorrie knows she should stay away from Hunter and type of guys he stands for and I will admit, I admired her will power. I am not sure if I had a man like Hunter around me that much that I wouldn't just throw caution to the wind. She did however remain strong in her vow to remain friends with him for a very large part of the book.
    "Hunter was the first person at this school besides Daniela to treat me like a real person-not a victim, object of pity, or some freak in a circus show."
    So that sort of sums the basic of the story up. I mean Hunter of course has a bad past and they kind of make each other complete. I loved their playful banter and I loved that Hunter wasn't afraid to tell Lorrie his feelings even though he was a big bad MMA fighter. I did however have some problems with the book.
    I was warned this one had a bad cliffhanger so I was prepared for that. What I was not prepared for however was Hunter's story finally being told and then it just kind of ends. I mean, to me that isn't really a cliffhanger. It is sort of like she just decided to split the whole story into two books although I think it could have been combined into one. The other issue for me is probably just a me thing. The story wasn't very memorable to me. I finished it about 5 days before writing this review and have only read one book since then. I sat down to write this today and honestly couldn't recall what the book was about. I had to go through my notes and read the synopsis to put it all into place. Then I didn't even remember the ending. I had to go back and re-read it. Due to that fact alone, I doubt I will be reading the next book in this series. It wasn't anything to do with the writing style (which I really enjoyed), the editing, the plot (I recall really enjoying the book at the time I was reading it), but for me, it just honestly wasn't a book that will stick with me.

    Reviewed by Mystery Reviewer for Crystal's Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Overated

    The storyline is original but the characters reactions are unrealistic. Lorrie is all over the place it is very annoying..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Read from January 01 to 02, 2014 Wrecked (Wrecked #1) by Pri

    Read from January 01 to 02, 2014




    Wrecked (Wrecked #1) by Priscilla West 




    Kindle Edition, 243 pages
    Published December 12th 2013
    ASIN B00HALMAEG
    edition language English
    series Wrecked #1
    other editions (2)
    Book Synopsis 
    “There would be no happy ending for us. He was too damaged. I was too broken.”




    Two years ago, Lorrie’s mother was murdered. But that wasn’t the end of it. Reeling from the tragedy, Lorrie’s father spiraled into alcohol, depression, and finally suicide.




    The two most important people in Lorrie’s life are both gone but she’s still alive.




    Trying to recover from the tragedy, Lorrie returns to campus, ready to pick up the pieces of her life. All Lorrie wants is to get back to “normal.”




    Then she meets Hunter. The man, the legend, “the Hammer.”




    Hunter is a cage fighter who takes on every fight like he’s got nothing to lose. His life is a tangled mess of girls, booze, and fist fights. And while it may seem like he’s got a devil-may-care attitude, he’s fighting a private cage-match with a monster he can’t defeat.




    Lorrie knows that Hunter is the exact type of guy she should stay away from, especially in her fragile state, but Hunter has other ideas.




    As Hunter and Lorrie grow closer together, will they be able to overcome their pain and heal each other? Or will they both end up wrecked?




    WRECKED
    RESCUED (WRECKED BOOK TWO: Coming Early 2014)




    ebook, 286 pages
    Published December 11th 2013 by Blackbird Publishing
    ISBN 139781494244385
    edition language English
    series Wrecked #1 
    other editions (2)




    My Thoughts 
    Wrecked not only aptly describes the MC's relationship it also portrays the readers state of mind when finished with the book.




    This is another one of those books with the main male character, Hunter, being portrayed as the "tattooed, muscular badass fighter" who is actually a "sensitive, caring and vulnerable" young man whose past is full of angst as well as a family that would in no way qualify as good role models much less loving examples of parental figures. If the family drama is not enough add in a major "health issue" that Hunter has kept hidden from almost everyone in his life and things just go from complicated to pretty much out of control at times.




    Lorrie, the main female character, has just as much if not more of an emotional load of baggage. Her mother was murdered by her stepfather after which her father chooses to commit suicide. This in turn leads to Lorrie having mental issues which cause her to withdraw from college in order to get her life back on track. Now after a period of time she decided to reenter college life and continue her education without any relationship entanglements to cause further drama.




    My feelings are mixed, think that the best thing for both Hunter and Lorrie is to call it quits as they both make me wish sometimes that they had never met. At the same time though would like it to work out between the pair as they seemed to find a measure of peace with each other that was sorely lacking in their lives prior to them becoming a couple.




    This was a perplexing read for me as though finished it easily and fairly quickly it left me feeling flat as even though there is a hopeful note at the end it just seems to me that the issues both main characters are working through will never lead them to connect fully with each other. To be quite honest they probably should not but that would not make for interesting reading for fans of the genre.




    With the way the story ended we are left with the knowledge that there will be long hard road ahead for Hunter if he finds Lorrie again, getting her to accept that his love is real is only one of the many obstacles he faces as he still has to share the secret that caused them to disconnect from each other due to miscommunication in the first place.




    Both he and Lorrie’s emotional fragility leads me to hope that book 2 finds them able to finally make peace with their problems, otherwise there is no future for them together.




    [EARC from Netgalley for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    ARC provided by NetGalley.  I read about 68% of the book and

    ARC provided by NetGalley. 




    I read about 68% of the book and I found it interesting. I thought it was going up be like Beautiful Disaster and Mine but aside from the fights that's where the similarities end. The beginning was really good and interesting. Lorrie is broken and we're told Hunter is also. But he seems more put together than Lorrie. 




    Lorrie got on my nerves. She wanted to be just friends with Hunter but she heard one rumor and she started acting like a jealous girlfriend. She didn't like when people talked about her or started rumors but still she listened to what was said about Hunter. She kept her secret from Hunter, even after becoming friends with him. She kept him at a distance but was very possessive of him. 




    Hunter has a secret that is never hinted at. I was surprised by his secret. Once Hunter and Lorrie become a couple they become bunnies who just go at it and don't stop to talk. That's what turned me off to the story. After that I just started skimming the story. It was all about sex and no real feelings for one another. They didn't talk to try to get to know each other better. It's like all they cared about was sex. 




    The cutest thing about Hunter and Lorrie's relationship were the kittens he took in. They took them in and bottle fed them. Their interaction with the kittens was sweet and cute. 




    I started reading again when Hunter's point of view was presented. That's were his secret is revealed. It's horrible the secret he lives with and I'm intrigued by the next book. I would love to read the next book but I hope changes. I can understand why Hunter wants to keep his secret. 




    It's a good book with the potential to become better in the next story if Lorrie grows and stops shutting down. I would recommend it. It's a new adult book with some cursing and lots of sex once Lorrie and Hunter get together. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    290 pgs

    Another cliffhanger story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So, this wasn't my favorite. At times I enjoyed it, but others i

    So, this wasn't my favorite. At times I enjoyed it, but others it seemed to fall a bit flat or maybe the characters seemed too naive. I like the beginning. It held some mystery, was very engaging and highly entertaining. The same with the very end. It was highly enjoyable, captivating and definitely made me want to read the next book. It was the 65% in the middle that had me wanting to skip ahead. 

    Wrecked is the story of two very scarred college students, Lorrie and Hunter. They meet under abnormal circumstances, that ends in Lorrie running off. When they meet again, while Hunter is in the middle of a MMA fight, he ends up pursuing a friendship with her. They strike up their friendship and end up spending more and more time together. They have a lot of secrets though. From previous mentions we know Lorrie's story. Hunter's is a bit more shaded and sketchy. I could just tell that he had is own heartbreaking story. But, the real root of his troubles is never eluded to until the author shocks readers with the announcement near the very end of the book. Before we even get there though, it is a tip toe dance between Lorrie and Hunter. She refuses to be anything more than friends, and he usually doesn't press the issue. Along the way their are major turns in both Hunter's and Lorrie's life. It ends up being a screwed up disaster on both their parts. I ended up with my heart breaking for them both. My biggest beef came from when they actually got together. First off, it was like Lorrie did a 360 and completely changed her mind. Which I get, you can only old out on a stud like Hunter for so long. My other problem though, was their dialogue and interactions. It seemed very forced and cheesy at times. However, there were the uber cute and super steamy moments too. So, its really a toss up with which scene you're reading at the moment. 

    Overall, not Priscilla's best, but definitely not terrible either. I have a feeling that the second book is going to redeem the few negatives I felt about the first. Just in general though, I had a majority of positive feelings about this book. I just wish Hunter and Lorrie's reactions hadn't been on the kid-ish side. This series has a potential to go great places and Wrecked was definitely a stepping stone to get there. I just don't think the series or the author reached their full potential with this book. 

    Happy Reading!
    *ARC provided by the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2