Customer Reviews for

The Wrecker (Isaac Bell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

action on top of more action

In 1907, the Southern Pacific Railroad is constructing the Cascade Canyon Bridge in Oregon, but has deep financial problems. Bankers inform the firm's president, Osgood Hennessy that if the project is not finished by winter, they will withdraw their funding. Hennessy ...
In 1907, the Southern Pacific Railroad is constructing the Cascade Canyon Bridge in Oregon, but has deep financial problems. Bankers inform the firm's president, Osgood Hennessy that if the project is not finished by winter, they will withdraw their funding. Hennessy knows if the backers leave his company goes bankrupt.

The SPR can complete the project easily on time except for the labor unrest that has led to delays due to explosions, fires and track destruction leading to derailing and other dangerous mayhem. Hennessy hires the Van Dorn Detective Agency who sends their best sleuth James Bell. He quickly concludes that the Wrecker is causing the deadly havoc by using hobo recruits to sabotage the SPR; after the mission is done he kills his new allies and sets forth on lining up his next crony. Bell believes he is running out of time to prevent the Wrecker's next terrorist act, which will be greater than all his previous sabotage combined.

Even with an odd writing style that represents a bygone era when trains ruled distant travel over automobiles and planes, THE WRECKER travels at speeds much faster than Obama's rail proposal. The story line is filled with action on top of more action. Ironically, the audience knows which direction the plot travels and who the Wrecker is from almost the onset; yet readers will still go along for the ride expecting a High Noon showdown between the saboteur and the detective on THE CHASE to prevent a terrorist act on a scale never seen before.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

cost more than the paperback edition

enjoyed the book but I don't think the ebook should be more expensive than the paperback

posted by rexreede on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Issac Bell, the Dirk Pitt of the west

    I really enjoyed this book even though I read this first before The Chase. Cussler is very predictable in character's though but it's not a bad thing. Glad they all have a sidekick and glad they have a strong beautiful woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Excellant book! Clive Cussler does it again..as usual

    Great book, very exciting and the characters keep you in suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Isaac Bell leads the way....AGAIN!!!

    What a rush. Isaac is the 1910's version of James Bond! He gets the girl and gets the crook. With a wild train ride through out!

    What a fun read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very good book different from cussler's sea novels

    this was a great book and a change from cusslers sea novels very informative you could almost bielieve that this was a true tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Great Book

    I really enjoy Clive Custler. He has a great writing style and I like the little twists he throughs in. It keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Not his best

    Not as good as his NUMA books with Dirk, nor as good as the Oregon file books, but enjoyable for all Cussler fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Loved Chase ; this one just not quite as good

    That sort of sums it up; somehow The Wrecker just missed the mark. It was good but a bit too predictable; not as historically intriguing as The Chase and the character development not as in dpeth or developed.

    By the way, I don't care much about book covers...esp. since it can vary based on the version of the book you buy. Not sure why they ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Wrecker historical fun

    This is a great book. I actually listened to this as an audio cd narrated by Scott Brick. It is a great story with interesting characters. The villan is almost super-human in his evil intelligence. This is a sequel to The Chase which is also a great book. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good old adventure entertainment.

    I have only recently discovered Clive Cussler books and am glad I did. For all round fun adventure stories, these tales cannot be beat.

    No real downer situations, though people do die and have issues. Historical and geographical factors are well investigated giving the reader a true sense of the times and places of the stories. I especially enjoy the audio versions because I am on the road a lot. Scott Brick has a very entertaining and engaging way of portraying the characters of these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Clive has another successful story line

    I have enjoyed Clive Cussler's sea stories for years. I didn't realize that he has started another non-sea line of stories. Isaac Bell is to this series what Dirk Pitt is to his original stories. He is able to take events from our countries past and put them into an exciting, riveting story. Once started, I found it hard to stop. I understand that a new story of this line is coming out this summer. I look forward to adding it to my Cussler collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Another excellent Tale

    A gripping, exciting, well-developd story of suspence, intrigue, and fascinating plot complexity mixed with a bit of romance. Reading this story of greed and power being sought by the antagonist at any cost being countered by the fast-thinking, dedicated, and resourceful protagonist was easy. How could I put the book down when something new was about to happen seemingly on each page.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Wrecker

    I have enjoyed Clive Cussler's Dirk Pitt novels, but this new series involving Isaac Bell as a detective for the Van Dorn Detective Agency at the turn of last century is a bit of historical brilliance. Together Cussler and co-author Justin Scott takes one back to when the railroad was the major mode of transportation across this vast country of ours in "The Wrecker". And yet, there is someone out there intent on destroying these great railroads. Although, the reader knows who the antagonist is, it takes Bell and his cohorts a while to discover who it is. In the mean time, the reader is entertained with much action and historical details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Detective Isaac Bell captures the "Wrecker" aka US.Senator Charles Kincaid

    Clive Cussler and Justin Scott's second book about the Van Dorn Detective Agency pursuit of the "Wrecker" from 1906 to 1934 has one thrill after another. At the final showdown in Nazi-occupied Austria, Detective Bell finally is able to say, "Charles Kincaid, I arrest you." However, Kincaid had an ace in the hole, Emma Camden (a long-time companion/lover of Osgood Hennessey, the railroad magnate) had been Kincaid's agent and spy from the beginning. She shot Kincaid because she did not want to see him brought to trial and hanged for the mass murders of railroad personnel and passengers.Knowing the plot is secondary to the action, one death-defying event after another.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    The return of western railroad detective, Isaak Bell.

    This book is the successor to The Chase, which introduced a western railroad detective, super-hero, Isaak Bell. An enjoyable read about the travails of building railroads across the continent. I did not feel the story was as strong as the first one, but very enjoyable, nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    tYPICAL cUSSLER - GREAT

    Different setting but a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    ALWAYS GREAT

    I have never found one of Mr. Cussler book that I did not like and enjoy. He has to be one of the greatest story teller of out time. You will not be disapointed with this book. The story line is great, it"s hard to put down. JUST SIT BACK AND ENJOY THE WHOLE BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Clive does it again!

    I love this style of book. Set back in the late 18, early 1900's, Isaac Bell, detective for the fabled Van Dorn detective agency, follows the path of The Wrecker; a scheming and quite successful railroad destroying villain. We follow the action across the country from coast to coast where Bell is not quite a step behind (as he manages to thwart some high end destruction along the way). However, like other villains of Bell's acquaintance (read "The Chase"), his actions, although devastating, are temporary in history.

    Quite an enjoyable read. I couldn't wait to get back each time I put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Spellbinding

    Lots of twists & turns in the plot and characters. A really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Cussler does it again

    A little different than the usual Cussler adventure. But I found it a very good read. It follows well behind the previous book in this series The Chase. The writing style was a little different with Mr Scott but I am looking forward to their next book together coming out in the spring. If you are a die hard Cussler fan you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Not up to standards

    Meneer Cussler needs to return to writing his own books !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15