Customer Reviews for

The Wrecker (Isaac Bell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

action on top of more action

In 1907, the Southern Pacific Railroad is constructing the Cascade Canyon Bridge in Oregon, but has deep financial problems. Bankers inform the firm's president, Osgood Hennessy that if the project is not finished by winter, they will withdraw their funding. Hennessy ...
In 1907, the Southern Pacific Railroad is constructing the Cascade Canyon Bridge in Oregon, but has deep financial problems. Bankers inform the firm's president, Osgood Hennessy that if the project is not finished by winter, they will withdraw their funding. Hennessy knows if the backers leave his company goes bankrupt.

The SPR can complete the project easily on time except for the labor unrest that has led to delays due to explosions, fires and track destruction leading to derailing and other dangerous mayhem. Hennessy hires the Van Dorn Detective Agency who sends their best sleuth James Bell. He quickly concludes that the Wrecker is causing the deadly havoc by using hobo recruits to sabotage the SPR; after the mission is done he kills his new allies and sets forth on lining up his next crony. Bell believes he is running out of time to prevent the Wrecker's next terrorist act, which will be greater than all his previous sabotage combined.

Even with an odd writing style that represents a bygone era when trains ruled distant travel over automobiles and planes, THE WRECKER travels at speeds much faster than Obama's rail proposal. The story line is filled with action on top of more action. Ironically, the audience knows which direction the plot travels and who the Wrecker is from almost the onset; yet readers will still go along for the ride expecting a High Noon showdown between the saboteur and the detective on THE CHASE to prevent a terrorist act on a scale never seen before.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

cost more than the paperback edition

enjoyed the book but I don't think the ebook should be more expensive than the paperback

posted by rexreede on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    action on top of more action

    In 1907, the Southern Pacific Railroad is constructing the Cascade Canyon Bridge in Oregon, but has deep financial problems. Bankers inform the firm's president, Osgood Hennessy that if the project is not finished by winter, they will withdraw their funding. Hennessy knows if the backers leave his company goes bankrupt.

    The SPR can complete the project easily on time except for the labor unrest that has led to delays due to explosions, fires and track destruction leading to derailing and other dangerous mayhem. Hennessy hires the Van Dorn Detective Agency who sends their best sleuth James Bell. He quickly concludes that the Wrecker is causing the deadly havoc by using hobo recruits to sabotage the SPR; after the mission is done he kills his new allies and sets forth on lining up his next crony. Bell believes he is running out of time to prevent the Wrecker's next terrorist act, which will be greater than all his previous sabotage combined.

    Even with an odd writing style that represents a bygone era when trains ruled distant travel over automobiles and planes, THE WRECKER travels at speeds much faster than Obama's rail proposal. The story line is filled with action on top of more action. Ironically, the audience knows which direction the plot travels and who the Wrecker is from almost the onset; yet readers will still go along for the ride expecting a High Noon showdown between the saboteur and the detective on THE CHASE to prevent a terrorist act on a scale never seen before.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    cost more than the paperback edition

    enjoyed the book but I don't think the ebook should be more expensive than the paperback

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Another page turner; fast-paced; recommended series.

    Mr. Cussler writes books faster than I can read them. I picked up the first Pitt adventure many years ago and found the addition of other operatives entertaining. Together with the spin on historical data, Cussler weaves a great storyline. This is true with the latest series featuring Issac Bell. I found myself immersed in the turn of the century so much so, I was forced to confirm or deny persons and events through other sources as factual.

    Detective Bell's tireless pursuit of the criminal in this latest installment with seemingly endless setbacks made for a quick but entertaining read. We all figured out who the Wrecker was early on, and gave a sigh of relief when Issac was able to pinch the criminal. My only suggestion would be to read the first in the young series "The Chase", to familiarize yourself with his methods and background. ... Now on to the next book... Thanks Mr. Cussler.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    A Good One

    As always, I enjoyed this Cussler. Not my favorite and really not as good as Isaac Bell #1 (The Chase), but I still found myself wanting to go on. I love the way you get to follow up w/Isaac and fam later in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anything but a Train Wreck!!

    The Van Dorn Agency returns in all its splendor. The authors use terrific prose in this thrilling page-turner. Character development is strong, as it was in the precedant tome.

    This is a quick read that combines the rare balance of thrill, suspense, emotion and compassion. It's amazing that Cussler and Scott draw the reader into their time period classics with such ease. Interestingly, many of the situations are loosely based on historical fact, yet the liberties taken promote a bigger than life drama that encaptures the reader.

    The Wrecker provides terrific character development, exploring the inticacies of human relationships and dynamics of love. Isaac Bell and Marion, Archie Abbott and Lillian are destined to be life partners. Kincaid, is a masterful creation, bright, articulate, and schyzo! The details of the supporting players are refined to a level rarely seen.

    This is a must read and a change of pace for the avid fiction lover. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Cussler at his best

    I am not a huge Cussler fan but he is pretty good and this is his best. Might it be that the "co-author", Justin Scott is really good?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Holy Cow! Holds me in suspense

    Clive Cussler is easy reading which is great for me. He has obviliously done his reasearch into the history of the time period he writes about. He ties that history into his story making for very interesting reading. Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2015

    Adventure and suspence

    This is a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Number Two of Eight is Number One!

    Of the 8 Isaac Bell series so far, this ranks the highest by far! Cussler and Scott are spot on from the prologue to the epilogue! A riveting read that is fun and informative throughout with an adversary that seems omniscient, omnipresent and omnipotent until Isaac Bell begins to track his man down by the Van Dorn code " Never give up! Never!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Have to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    This is one of the best writers I have read These books are a must read.

    This writer keeps your interests in all of his books. I so far have read about half of his books. They keep you wanting to not put them down. They are the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Love all of his books and this is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    Clive Cussler always delivers a good read. The Isaac Bell series is a real winner, and as most of Mr. Cussler books, they are hard to put down. If you read before you retire for the evening, plan on going to bed a bit latter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Gripping novel... A must read.

    Could not put the book down. Excellent thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Great read, Dirk Pitt is still my favorite of Cussler's characte

    Great read, Dirk Pitt is still my favorite of Cussler's characters, but I really enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great book

    This is one of my favorite series ever, the villain is learned early on, but it is still good. Cussler did a great job especially with the limited historical technology. Not the least predictable book ever, but still really good. There is something about cusslers books that really glues you to the book to the very last page. I also enjoy that this entire series is relatively free of any bad language. Overall i greatly recommend this book to all adventure readers ages 13 to 113.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Predictable

    In the Issac Bell series you learn the villian to early in the book. I would prefer a good twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Isaac Bell Rocks

    Dirk Pitt is still the best, but Isaac Bell is one of the best Good Guys out there and as usual Clive Cussler writes a good story. The idea of being in the 1900's is very satisfying. No modern tech no fancy toys just good ol detective work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Great Follow up to book 1

    I enjoyed this book. The historical mystery is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Fun Read

    I'm a Cussler fan and the new Isaac Bell series are great reads. Can't wait to read The Spy (Bell Series #3).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15