Customer Reviews for

The Wreckers

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Great book

    This book was awesome, it was action packed and I definitly recommend this book to adventure lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    B Good book

    This was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not what i would like toread to my kids.

    Oh my

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    this novel called the wreckers is a real good book. i did not wont to stop reaing it. The charcters in this novel are reily good. they sound like they would live on a lsland. my favorite character was john. john is reily brave. he has to save his dad from a legless man. the auther dose a great job creating and discrabing the characters and you fill like you are there. The author dose a good job to keep you reading. I did not wont to put this book down. My favorit part was when john was attacked by the legless man named stumps. the authore makes it seem like you are there on the island. I would recommend this book to any one that asked me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed reading the book The Wreckers because through out the book there were always places I didn't want to put the book down. The characters in this book were interesting because they all had different traits to them and they all had things about them that wern't always good. For example,theres a character in the book named Stumps in the book and he has no legs. Another character in the book is Eli. He has no tounge, and Uncle Simon has anger issues. Some of these things are bizarre. I did not have a favorite character in this book. The author was able to hold my thought through out the whole book because in every chapter there would be some sort of action or something that would make me not want to put the book down. Also Ian Lawrence had an ending suspense in his chapters. I would recomend this book to a friend because of the setting, the plot, and how there is action through out the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    An Epic Adventure

    The book Wreckers by Iain Lawerence is an epic adventure of a young boy named Kevin. He is a Cabin boy on a trade ship heading for Europe. Kevin will have to over come mental and physical challenges to survive once the ships crashes on an island. Which at first was thought to be a disserted island is actually inhabited by scavengers. Kevin realizes that he must make the choice of a life time that could save him and the rest of the shipmate¿s .Kevin learns to become one with nature and how to fight to a fellow ship mate that was in the army. He also falls in love .This is a book of adventure, love, and compassion. What I thought was amazing about this book was the adventure, it made wonder the whole way through the book what was going to happen. What I also thought was great about this book was how it revolved around Kevin and Kevin only. Something that I didn¿t like about this book was it goes to slow the author should have sped things up a bit. Another this was it didn¿t flow as well it switched seems too often and said little detail about each seen. I would recommend this book to someone around the age of fourteen. Also this is a book that I feel girls and boys would enjoy because the adventure and the romance. Also I wouldn¿t suggest this to someone who wants this book to read for a project, because it gets pretty confusing at times and you might get lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Do not touch: highly electrifying.

    The best book I've ever read. Period. The writer doesn't give you a single potty break. I love it. My dad loves it. My freind loves it. Need I say more? And by the way some other reviewer was saying something about kids being 'stuffed into lockers' and 'bullied'. I think he/she was writing a review for some other book. This is set in the 17th century, and there are no bulies or lockers. Just plenty of bad guys and people in chains is all. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    FANTASTIC!!

    This book was very exciting and suspenseful. I couldn't put it down! I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes thrilling, exciting books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    terrible

    this story was one of the worst books ive read. they didnt explain and it was very confusing. dont read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    This is an exciting Novel

    Would you like to read an exciting novel? I think The Wrecker is a very good novel for everybody especially adults. I think this because the kids in the book get bullied the same way the kids in real life get bullied and maybe parents would realize what their child goes through everyday. Some examples of the bulling that goes on are kids getting swirly¿s they also get their lunch money taken away from them so they can¿t eat lunch. They also get stuffed in their locker every passing time. I encourage you to read this novel because every page you read is filled with excitement. Almost every page has some sort of bulling to the innocent children. What they do everyday after their lunch time is they hit the girls in the arm and they hit the guys in the stomach. Then they all get a swirly. Are you a bully? Well one of the kids in the novel didn¿t think he was a bully because when he talked to the people they talked to him because they were scared of him. That child¿s friend helped him see it through and he became a straight A plus student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    AMAZING

    The Wreckers is exciting and it keeps you on the edge of your seat!You never want to put it down.It is one of the best books thst I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    it was ok

    The book was a bit boring, and it didn't explain things well at all. I've read books that are much better. However this one disappointed me a lot. I thought it would be more suspenseful, but it wasn't. It was like this happened....in conclusion this happened. But they made an entire book about it! I would highly disreccomend anyone who wants a book to write a book report on it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Amazing

    This book was outstandingly entertaining. John Spencer has to take more risks then ever imagined. Even has to kill a man, if you could call him that. It's greatly written and is just a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    What a GREAT Book for all ages!

    I loved this book! It was exciting and unpredictable. It also had an awsome ending. Not only is it a great book but it keept me occupied throughout the novel. I really thought this was the greatest book I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    the wreckers: a catcher

    A very thrilling book with lots of adventure and cliff hangers. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. It starts and ends great. Enjoyable book for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    One of the Best

    The Wreckers, by Iain Lawrence is one of the best books I have ever read. The Wreckers is about a ship that crashes along the coast of England. People living in this town need supplies and other things from the ship, therefore go to great extents to make it crash. One boy off the boat (John) lives, but it is hard for him to surive. I liked it mostly because of the theme the author uses. John shows courage when he looks for someone he thinks may be alive from the wreck, and helps the person survive. The Wreckers is much like The Circlemaker by Maxine Rose Schur because it also shows a boy with great courage. The Wreckers is on the Illinois Rebecca Caudill list for 2003. I hope you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    12 year old from Gilroy Ca. March 13, 2002

    This is one of the best books I have ever read! My mom even kept bugging me to put the book down when I would read with a flashlight under the covers. This book will keep the reader on the edge of the seat at all times. I can't wait to read 'The Smugglers'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    What a great book!

    The wreckers begins with 14 year-old John Spencer when he is with his father on the ship THE ISLE OF THE SKYE. Then the they ship wreck off the coast of Cornwall. John thinks his father is dead so he trys to find help. You will find out a lot more when you read this wonderful and suspensful book by Iain Lawrence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    Fabulous!

    A spectacular thriller and mystery with all the elements of a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2000

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    This is an awesome book. You grow to like the characters, even if they might seem evil. This book has all kinds of plot turns and twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2