Customer Reviews for

Wringer

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wringer's #1

Can a boy have a pet pigeon in a town that hates pigeons, and keep it a secret? Wringer is another phenomenal heartfelt tale by the terrific author of Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a young kid named Palmer who dreads his 10th birthday. Everything is perfect in P...
Can a boy have a pet pigeon in a town that hates pigeons, and keep it a secret? Wringer is another phenomenal heartfelt tale by the terrific author of Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a young kid named Palmer who dreads his 10th birthday. Everything is perfect in Palmer's world until one day an unexpected visitor is at his windowsill. Then his life changes for ever. His friends turn on him. His enemy's turn to friends. This amazing, twisting novel is a absolute must read.
The author, Jerry Spenelli, had great descriptions. When describing Palmer's room or describing a character, he told us about it in such great detail. In one chapter it described bean's yellow, green and red multicolored teeth. In another chapter he described palmer's room with the white bird poop on the floor, the stack of knocked over comics, and a clumsy bird on his desk. One time the author described a dead muskrat in a frozen spaghetti container and the stench of it when heated up and the look on Mrs. Druzik face when she saw it. I liked the way I could clearly understand who, where or when the events happened and I could picture it.
I liked the friendships in this story in this story between Nipper and Palmer. Although Palmer was a boy and Nipper was a pigeon in a town that hated pigeons their friendship was strong and they protected each other. Nipper came back to Palmer's window no matter what happened, because he trusted that Palmer would protect him. Nipper was almost blown to pieces at Family Fest during Pigeon Day, but Palmer jumped in front of the shooter. Almost everyone would not have a pigeon flying around in their room in a town that is the capitol of pigeons haters and publicize it on a day where you kill them.
Jerry Spenelli used great detail and made great unique and interesting friendships. He made what a normal author would describe about a park into an amusement park and two complete different animals to seem like there one. This is one of the greatest tales in Jerry Spenelli's collection, you must read this book.

Darth Vader,
Chewbacca and Yoda are awsome
I'm not a hacker

posted by 1268613 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

good book

The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compass...
The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compassion that happens every year at the park. A lot of people gather and ages 10-15 year olds shoot pigeons. You must talk a safety class before u can enter the compassion.
I like this book because I can relate to the main idea of the story. My favor charter was "snots" aka palmer. I liked him because he was not like the others. My favorite part of this story was when the pigeon stats coming to palmer's window. I learn that just because every one else is doing does not mean you have to.
I liked this book because it had a nice ending and he did not fall in to peer presser. I wood engorge 11-15 year olds to read this book.

posted by kalieka on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wringer's #1

    Can a boy have a pet pigeon in a town that hates pigeons, and keep it a secret? Wringer is another phenomenal heartfelt tale by the terrific author of Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a young kid named Palmer who dreads his 10th birthday. Everything is perfect in Palmer's world until one day an unexpected visitor is at his windowsill. Then his life changes for ever. His friends turn on him. His enemy's turn to friends. This amazing, twisting novel is a absolute must read.
    The author, Jerry Spenelli, had great descriptions. When describing Palmer's room or describing a character, he told us about it in such great detail. In one chapter it described bean's yellow, green and red multicolored teeth. In another chapter he described palmer's room with the white bird poop on the floor, the stack of knocked over comics, and a clumsy bird on his desk. One time the author described a dead muskrat in a frozen spaghetti container and the stench of it when heated up and the look on Mrs. Druzik face when she saw it. I liked the way I could clearly understand who, where or when the events happened and I could picture it.
    I liked the friendships in this story in this story between Nipper and Palmer. Although Palmer was a boy and Nipper was a pigeon in a town that hated pigeons their friendship was strong and they protected each other. Nipper came back to Palmer's window no matter what happened, because he trusted that Palmer would protect him. Nipper was almost blown to pieces at Family Fest during Pigeon Day, but Palmer jumped in front of the shooter. Almost everyone would not have a pigeon flying around in their room in a town that is the capitol of pigeons haters and publicize it on a day where you kill them.
    Jerry Spenelli used great detail and made great unique and interesting friendships. He made what a normal author would describe about a park into an amusement park and two complete different animals to seem like there one. This is one of the greatest tales in Jerry Spenelli's collection, you must read this book.

    Darth Vader,
    Chewbacca and Yoda are awsome
    I'm not a hacker

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    good book

    The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
    The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compassion that happens every year at the park. A lot of people gather and ages 10-15 year olds shoot pigeons. You must talk a safety class before u can enter the compassion.
    I like this book because I can relate to the main idea of the story. My favor charter was "snots" aka palmer. I liked him because he was not like the others. My favorite part of this story was when the pigeon stats coming to palmer's window. I learn that just because every one else is doing does not mean you have to.
    I liked this book because it had a nice ending and he did not fall in to peer presser. I wood engorge 11-15 year olds to read this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!

    This book is amazing i reccomend this book to anyone, in fact i reccomend jerry spinelli to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Wringer was a great book! It made me have different emotions in every chapter! I was reading this in fourth grade and loved it! I would reccomend this book to anyone!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The most amazing- WRINGER!

    Boom! The pigeon falls to the ground. The wringer runs out grabs it by the throat, and wrings it. As it takes its last breath, the orange eyes slowly close. This Newberry Honor book Wringer, was. Is humorous, serious, and a heartwarming story. It was written by the famous author Jerry Spinelli. He thought of a unique way to show what a true friendship is about. How a boy and a pigeon become so close, that he changes his friends. His life, and reveals on of his biggest secrets. All to protect a pigeon. Don't skip out on this truly amazing story, once you read the first page you won't want to put the book down.
    One thing I really liked about Wringer was the amazing connection between Palmer and Nipper, his pigeon. I liked how Palmer took Nipper in like he was his brother. Even though everyone in Palmer's town hated pigeons, he cared for him and made sure nothing bad ever happened to him. Palmer made disguises, ditched his friends, and got in trouble, so no one would find out about Nipper. When things happen Palmer realizes that he has to do whats best for the pigeon, not whats best for him. No matter what it is.
    This book had interesting and unique things about it. One of the things that caught my attention was the Treatment. For a 10 year old boy it's the true test for a wringer, but for Palmer it was just pure pain. One of Palmer's friends really wanted the treatment, he hunted down the guy who gave the Treatment on his 10th birthday until he found him. I didn't understand why this Treatment was so important, but it made the story more interesting.
    This book was spectacular! I wish there was a sequel. It was interesting, unique, and I never wanted to put the book down. Jerry Spinelli has written many stories, but none like Wringer. I wanted to keep on reading and predict about the cliff hangers that he left me. That's what made it a two thumbs up, kind of book! That you have to read.

    m0m0x81

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book

    This is a epic great book! I am reading this book with my class too. Even though,i do like birds,I think shooting and wringing pegioens is NOT cool. But I love this book. And I think you should recmonend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    School Book!!

    My teacher made my class read this and so far it is sooooo good!!!! But there was some sad parts and funny parts!!! I live this book can not wait to finish!!!!"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    One for all to read

    Wringer was a very good book. It is about a boy named Palmer and his tenth birthday party that is coming up. I think Jerry Spinelli did a great job on the book and I hope he keeps on making more for the rest of his life. They are very interesting and I will read them all. This book is one everyone should read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Meaningful

    Very powerful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Love it

    I am reading this book in school and it has approximatly 40 chapters and i am on chapter 15. Lolz

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Good book

    We read this book in class and it was a good book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    To the people who hate it

    You guys are such idiots. My teacher is reading it to my cass and i and every time there is a... umm i guess very interseting part he would stop and we would all say NO!!!!!! And he would go on. Who ever does not like the book you are crazy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    The best.

    To those who said this book is dumb because it made you cry or "disgusting", it can't be dumb, if a book has the power to make you cry it must be good and all of the things in this book have a meaning. To the person reading this, it is not a waste of money if you like the author, most of his books are written in his style and his style is "odd". If you can get past the title and the grotesque parts you will see the book is about the boy, Palmer, and his life, not pigeons...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Hi

    Best book ever

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Question

    Question: if i get this on my nook for eight dollars i have to pay my mom back since her credit card is on here. Is it worth eight dollars??? Thanks!!! -clg040102

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Awesome

    I disagree this book is more like realissstic fiction with a little twist of historical diction not fantasy but u peeps who didnt read this bookk should awesome book even if u really love animqls it pretty awesome!!
    U

    Love N03!! Th0mp$0n

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Love!!!!

    Good story line really sad

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Wringer is ok but do not know what happend

    I think it was good but I had no clue what was going on.I would not recommend this to someone becuase it hurts my head to think whats going on!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Wringer

    Wringer by Jerry Spinelli was a book I was very dissapointed in. I was generous in giving the book two stars. The Newbery Honor may have been the only thing keeping me from giving the book only one star. The book did not appeal to me at all and I doubt it would to any of my teenage peers. As a teenager, reading about being accepted in the 9 year-old crew while owning a pet pigeon is not very interesting. The story is about Palmer not wnting to become a wringer at the Family Fest. Ten year-olds can become wringers at the Family Fest in August. During the pigeon shooting contest the wringers go out and wring the necks of the suffering (not yet dead) pigeons. Since Palmer was little he did not like the pigeon shooting contest. His friends, however, have wanted to be wringers for as long as they can remember. Those friends are far from the most admirable of children. Many times Palmer describes Beans (the leader) as the kid with every color of the rainbow on at least one tooth in his mouth. Mutto and Henry are a part of the pack as well. Fitting in seems hard for Palmer, but his troubles compound when he adopts a pet pigeon, Nipper. He shares Nipper with Dorothy Gruzik, perhaps the only nice person in the book who slowly becomes Palmer's best friend. How will Palmer get out of his jam? Who cares?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Anoynomous

    I love this book so much! My teacher read this book and.we loved! We said read it again, read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9