Customer Reviews for

Wringer

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wringer's #1

Can a boy have a pet pigeon in a town that hates pigeons, and keep it a secret? Wringer is another phenomenal heartfelt tale by the terrific author of Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a young kid named Palmer who dreads his 10th birthday. Everything is perfect in P...
Can a boy have a pet pigeon in a town that hates pigeons, and keep it a secret? Wringer is another phenomenal heartfelt tale by the terrific author of Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a young kid named Palmer who dreads his 10th birthday. Everything is perfect in Palmer's world until one day an unexpected visitor is at his windowsill. Then his life changes for ever. His friends turn on him. His enemy's turn to friends. This amazing, twisting novel is a absolute must read.
The author, Jerry Spenelli, had great descriptions. When describing Palmer's room or describing a character, he told us about it in such great detail. In one chapter it described bean's yellow, green and red multicolored teeth. In another chapter he described palmer's room with the white bird poop on the floor, the stack of knocked over comics, and a clumsy bird on his desk. One time the author described a dead muskrat in a frozen spaghetti container and the stench of it when heated up and the look on Mrs. Druzik face when she saw it. I liked the way I could clearly understand who, where or when the events happened and I could picture it.
I liked the friendships in this story in this story between Nipper and Palmer. Although Palmer was a boy and Nipper was a pigeon in a town that hated pigeons their friendship was strong and they protected each other. Nipper came back to Palmer's window no matter what happened, because he trusted that Palmer would protect him. Nipper was almost blown to pieces at Family Fest during Pigeon Day, but Palmer jumped in front of the shooter. Almost everyone would not have a pigeon flying around in their room in a town that is the capitol of pigeons haters and publicize it on a day where you kill them.
Jerry Spenelli used great detail and made great unique and interesting friendships. He made what a normal author would describe about a park into an amusement park and two complete different animals to seem like there one. This is one of the greatest tales in Jerry Spenelli's collection, you must read this book.

Darth Vader,
Chewbacca and Yoda are awsome
I'm not a hacker

posted by 1268613 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

good book

The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compass...
The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compassion that happens every year at the park. A lot of people gather and ages 10-15 year olds shoot pigeons. You must talk a safety class before u can enter the compassion.
I like this book because I can relate to the main idea of the story. My favor charter was "snots" aka palmer. I liked him because he was not like the others. My favorite part of this story was when the pigeon stats coming to palmer's window. I learn that just because every one else is doing does not mean you have to.
I liked this book because it had a nice ending and he did not fall in to peer presser. I wood engorge 11-15 year olds to read this book.

posted by kalieka on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    good book

    The name of the book that I am writing about is The Wringer. This book is by Jerry Spinelli. This book is a fanicey book. I picked this book because the back of the book sound good to me.
    The Wringer is about a boy named palmer who dose not want to join a compassion that happens every year at the park. A lot of people gather and ages 10-15 year olds shoot pigeons. You must talk a safety class before u can enter the compassion.
    I like this book because I can relate to the main idea of the story. My favor charter was "snots" aka palmer. I liked him because he was not like the others. My favorite part of this story was when the pigeon stats coming to palmer's window. I learn that just because every one else is doing does not mean you have to.
    I liked this book because it had a nice ending and he did not fall in to peer presser. I wood engorge 11-15 year olds to read this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Wringer is ok but do not know what happend

    I think it was good but I had no clue what was going on.I would not recommend this to someone becuase it hurts my head to think whats going on!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Reading This for school...

    Its alright compared to the other choices I had. Its a little more different then I thought it would be. And the names are ridiculous, well, they're supposed to be. I don't think I'd recommened this book to anyone though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Not worth it

    This book is great but it ia both dumb and wierd at the same time!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    If you like weird and freaky things!!!!

    Wringer by Jerry Spinelli, three star ratting, good book if you like weird or freaky stuff. Wringer is about a boy named Palmer who lives in a town that un-welcomes pigions. Wringing is a sport in this town. At age 10 a boy can become an offical wringer. Palmer has his 9th brithday first and he gets the treatment. The treatment is a tradition. You get punched in the arm 9 times or 8 times how ever old you are. You do this on your birthday. But only if you are a boy. Girls are lucky in this town, except for 'fishface' she is a girl named Dorthey. The boys, Beans, Mutto, Henry and Palmer tease 'fishface.' Palmer's mother wants Palmer to be best friends with Dorthey. This kind of happens, near the end when Palmers 10 brithday is in 3 months. He needs advice from Dorthey. He doesn't want to be a Wringer but he says its not an option. His dad was the best wringer in 1989. Palmer loves pigions. He has one named Nipper and he loves him he doesn't want him to go. He gets scared because one day Beans sees nipper. Palmer 'snots' is what beans calls him is afraid. He tells Dorthey about his feelings about not wanting to be a wringer. Dorthey just tells him don't be one just don't do it. Palmer says your not a boy it is easy for you to say. Find out what happens on Palmers 10th birthday and what happens to nipper(his pigion). Also find out what happens on The Family Fest day. In this weird book about pigions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Wringer

    The title of my book is Wringer. The author is Jerry Spinelli. This is a story about a boy who dosen't want to become a wringer.His name is Palmer LaRue. You see, every year in this little town there is a Pigeon Day during the annual Family Fest. Pigeon Day is where men pay a fee to have a chance to shoot at 10-20 pigeons as they are released from boxes.The money raised goes to mantain the community park. Now a wringer is a 10 year old boy who runs out on the shooting field,on pigeon Day, and wrings the necks of pigeons that have been shot but are still alive. Palmer is 9 years old and he hangs out with 3 boys that can't wait to be wringers. But Palmer can't imagine why anyone would want to hurt such beautiful creature. He dreads his 10th birthday. He dosent want to tell his friends that he likes pigeons because then they will hate him and he is just now starting to fit in. Now on top of all this he comes home one day to find a pigeon on his window sil. He lets it into his room and starts to feed it. He names it Nipper and soon it becomes his pet that he loves very much. Now Palmer really dosen't want to become a wringer and he fears that Nipper will be caught for the annual Pigeon Day. But in all of this he has one friend that understands him, Dorothy Gruzik. Now i can't say anymore but i think it has a great ending. Now personally i really didn't care for this book very much. I gave it 3 stars because i thought it had a pretty good story behind it but i didn't like the idea of killing all those pigeons.I can understand why Palmer didn't want to become a wringer. I hope you will read this book and find out for youself if you will enjoy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    The Story Of 5000 Pigeons

    Wringer was written by Jerry Spinelli. I would give this book 3 stars. Wringer is a story in which some of the most important characters are actually pigeons. Palmer LaRue lives in a town that has a Family Fest every year. There are rides, games, food and friends. But the most important event of all is Pigeon Day. Pigeon Day is the day that 5000 pigeons, that have been captured, are realeased and shot one by one. Palmer doesn't want to be a wringer. A wringer is someone who picks up the dead birds and wrings their necks to put them out of misery. He doesn't want to do that, but the thought haunts him. It was just his luck that a pigeon starts showing up at his house everyday. Palmer takes it in as his pet. But he cannot tell is 3 new best friends because they would surely kill it, or would they? They get extremely suspicious after the bird lands on Palmer's head one afternoon while he was hanging out with the guys. But that isn't the only problem that lies ahead for Palmer. What can he do with is pet pigeon? Especially since Pigeon Day is coming up! Personally, I didn't care for this book because I'm one of those people who wouldn't harm a fly. I didn't like that they shot 5000 pigeons every year and for no reason. But if that doesn't bother you then you should read this book. I hope you enjoy it more than I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Heart Wringer

    Its about a boy named Plamer who just wants to fit in with the boys. Its about to be Palmer's 10th birthday and he has to wring the necks of pigeons but he is to scared to. The boys make fun of him for not doing it. Later he finds a pigeon and names it Nipper. He nips his ear a lot. This story is a strong willed tale that wont let you put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Funny and interesting book!

    I thought that Wringer was a pretty good book because, the author really let the reader connect with Palmer especially, when Palmer expressed his feelings about wanting to fit in but didn't like what he has to do. Wring a pigeon's neck. In this particular book the author's strengths were describing the atmosphere surrounding Palmer and describing Palmer's feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    An okay book

    Wringer is an okay book it's about a boy named Palmer and his pigeon, Nipper. He has to keep his pigeon secret because Beans his friend likes to wring pigeons necks. Finally he has to tell Beans, Mutto and Henry. To find what happens read Wringer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1