Customer Reviews for

A Wrinkle in Time: 50th Anniversary Edition (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(926)

4 Star

(252)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

my favorite :)

this book is soo good. its such a heartwarming story and i just LOVE the ending. i can read this book over and over again for sure

posted by esuh on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I thought I'd love this book. Everyone I've talked to has said how much they loved it. But I just didn't like it. Charles Wallace first of all, is a terrible name. I only liked Mrs, Whatsit, Who, and Which. The rest of the characters were barely tolerable.

I wish I ...
I thought I'd love this book. Everyone I've talked to has said how much they loved it. But I just didn't like it. Charles Wallace first of all, is a terrible name. I only liked Mrs, Whatsit, Who, and Which. The rest of the characters were barely tolerable.

I wish I had read this when I was younger, I think I may have enjoyed it more.

posted by KimberlyT on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1465 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite :)

    this book is soo good. its such a heartwarming story and i just LOVE the ending. i can read this book over and over again for sure

    48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    MY SUPER BORING REVIEW ABOUT A SUPER AWESOME BOOK

    A Wrinkle in Time<BR/>Madeline L'engle<BR/>Bantam Doubleday Dell Books for Young Readers<BR/>science-fiction<BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/> Forever the mystery has hung against the earth and the minds of humans; are we alone? Or in some distant galaxy, are there life forms that are like us? In Madeline's L'engle's astonishing book, A Wrinkle In Time, Meg, Calvin, and Charles collide with the answer as they try to save their father. After more than a year after his disappearance, Meg and Charles Wallace still feel a knot in their hearts if their father's name is mentioned. The kids meet three strange ladies with the names Mrs. Who, Mrs. Whatsit , and Mrs. Which, each shows them the evil darkness of the world and gives each kid a gift holding the potential to change that evil and darkness as well as to save Meg's father. Mrs. Whatsit take them through space where they meet people who can barely walk without perfection and rhythm, people who are basically clones of each other, doing the same thing at the same time. How is this possible? Before they realize it, the old ladies vanish as if they were never there to start with, leaving the kids alone on a planet like Earth. In a series of odd events, Charles Wallace becomes hypnotized. The thoughts of Meg switch from her father to her little brother, who is losing control of his body. Suddenly Meg must revert the bind in which Charles Wallace is constricted to, in which her own imperfections are the only things she has, and a brain is the only thing between her and Charles. Maybe her imperfections can stop her brother from being lost forever. <BR/><BR/> Meg views herself as ugly, with her large round glasses, mouse brown hair, and metal braces stuck to her teeth, she is a shy middle schooler always besieged and beset by the principal. Later as you read on, you will realize that Meg is more heroic than what's on the outside. Her features blur her personality. She is always teased because of her brother who everyone thinks is ¿stupid¿ and ¿unable to speak.¿ But these are all lies; the real Charles Wallace is a very young and intelligent boy who always knows what his mother and sister are doing. His bravery and fearlessness lead him to a lot of trouble such as falling into the control of another brain, making him do things he wouldn't normally do. Luckily, Calvin who is a 15 year old boy smothered with freckles, red hair, and a softness for Meg, was given the gift of communication. He may be able to grasp Charles from ¿It¿ who I vaguely referenced in the first paragraph as an ugly brain. ¿It¿ controls humans to make their actions all superficially the same... with some nasty twists and touches. When these characters coalesce, strange things happen.<BR/><BR/> I highly recommend this Newberry award winning book. It is an authentic science-fiction novel cut and sliced into a nice little package. Those who've enjoyed learning about aliens will love reading this book. And those who are interested in time and space, you will love it even more (who can resist science-fiction?) It has it's own section about science at the end. Truly, this is a delightful page turner. It encourages honesty and readers will truly understand what love is (not the mushy type!) L'engle's book is a book that should be in every kid's collection of stories for it is a ¿kid classic.¿ Though readers will blow the pages away, the memory of this book will never leave their minds and brains. And speaking of brains...

    33 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    A "must read" for every young adult (and young at heart)!

    This classic tale of Meg and her brother Charles Wallace has been in my subconscious ever since I read it when I was a child. The themes of good versus evil, the hero being a young misfit girl who I could readily identify with, all gave me hope that I would one day be someone who could make a difference (although I didn't see how). This book is more than just a book - it is a message that "everything is going to be all right" without sugarcoating the evil that lurks outside and without hiding the fact that you, the next generation, is what has to fight it. A MUST READ for every YA reader. If it wasn't on my Nook, I'd sleep with it under my pillow.

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    A Wrinkle in Time

    I purchased this book for my granddaughter to read. She and I took turns reading the book to one another. We found it most delightful. We were able to vocalize the various parts and it was great fun. Great reading for all ages.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    This was one of my FAVORITE books as a child!

    This book was one of my favorites as a child and I re-read it as an adult as well as reading all of the companion books (A Wind in the Door, Swiftly Tilting Planet, etc.) I loved them both as a child and an adult. The characters show a whole range of personalities and struggles as well as character traits such as bravery and kindness.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter Who?

    Just kidding; I still like Harry Potter. But Madeleine L'Engle is definately supieror when it comes to character development. Meg - the protagonist - is really likeable, and I also enjoy the evident closeness displayed between her and her brother Charles Wallace. I rmember reading this just barely out of Elementary - I loved it! I'm 20 now and have read it twice more since then and still enjoy it. Great for all ages and a perfect 5 stars!

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    10 stars!!!!!!!!!

    I have read the entire series. It is so creative, well paced, adventurous, and absolutly AMAZING! Please buy it! You will be enthralled with it!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    In my personal opinion...

    This book is truely unique, I must say. Reading the other reviews, I see it aint everyone's cup 'o tea. And that's completely acceptable! People have different tastes and intrests and I respect that. You cant judge this book by its covor, nor can you take one's word for it. This book took me to Meg's house and the planet Uri in surprising, beautiful detail.
    , its 100% Kid friendly, (For the moms reading this that are looking for appropriate books for their children to read)
    and very good Christain qualities. I wont give any of the bool away, but if you have your spiritual eyes open you can see those quallities right away. In other words, I personally loved it and I reccomend that one would at least give it a chance.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I thought I'd love this book. Everyone I've talked to has said how much they loved it. But I just didn't like it. Charles Wallace first of all, is a terrible name. I only liked Mrs, Whatsit, Who, and Which. The rest of the characters were barely tolerable.

    I wish I had read this when I was younger, I think I may have enjoyed it more.

    14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    This was WORST book I have EVER read and I'm writing this review

    This was WORST book I have EVER read and I'm writing this review to make sure YOU don't waste your time reading this horrible book! It has the worst &quot;plot&quot; (if you could call it that) I've ever and will ever read, and the characters are the most ridiculous 1-dimensional people I've ever read about! You know why I hate it? A) It's horrible. B) It's ending is horrible, because Meg &quot;saves the universe with her ability to love&quot; BORING! and C), It's supposed &quot;cliff hanger&quot; just made sure I would never read the next books unless I'm planning to push myself into such depression I feel no need to live. DON'T READ IT!

    12 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Don't waste your time reading this book!

    In "A Wrinkle in Time", supposedly fatherless Meg, younger brother genius Charles Wallace, and popular, basketball playing Calvin set out on a journey to find Mr.Murray, Charles Wallace and Meg's father. They fist stop at a dreamlike planet that is like a spring paradise, but they leave quickly. The children are brought to the planet Camazotz by the tessering, or teleporting through the fifth dimension, of Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which. The Mrs. W's are unable to go on Camazotz because of the evil there. Meg, Charles Wallace and Calvin are left there. In an attempt to free Meg's father from the evil IT, Charles is taken over by IT. Meg must use her ability to love to destroy IT and save mankind. In the end, the story takes an unexpected twist that leads into the rest of the series.

    "A Wrinkle in Time" was a horrible book. The storyline was mediocre, and I had to force myself to read it to the end. The end was completely underwhelming, and the "epic" cliffhanger just made sure I didn't finish the series. The characters didn't have much depth, and the end wasn't anything I hadn't already read 20 times. Please don't waste your time reading "A Wrinkle in Time". I gave it 1 star for a reason.

    9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Question

    I read the sample
    Should i get it?

    8 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Pretty Good.....

    This book was on my summer reading list. I thought it was okay. But at times, it would get a little strange.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    THE ABSOLUTE WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!!!!

    This book was completly terrible!To me it was pointless and kind of stupid. I don't recomend anyone to read this book. I have read very many books but this is the only book I couldn't finish reading!

    7 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    F

    I give this book a major F!!!!! I do NOT recomend this book tp anyone! L'engle should not have put such a confusing story plot, i was confused from the first page to the last! I like to write little stories myself, but they are not confusing like this one was. A two year old could have written a better story plot. And the Mrs. W's? Who understood those people? And the 'IT'? What's with that? My folks say it's five stars, but I DISAGREE!!! I could barely understand every sentence the author threw at me! I am totally in agreement with all the other one star raters. This book was NOT GOOD!!!

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    good for all ages

    I read "A Wrinkle in Time" first when i was in grade school...i loved it then..Now, almost 30 years later barnes&noble has a new edition on nook..bought it..still love it as much now as i did when i was a kid!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Important, Amazing Book should be required reading.

    4th grade and up, all should read it, then re-read it every 10 years so you don't forget the importance of imagination in our lives to help us find new and better ways to use our gifts to serve others and create our own lives.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    I read the book back when

    I loved the book when I read it. But its not a book that sticks in your mind. I watched the movie and I remember more but before the movie I only remember the basic and the parts that the kids in my class highlighted.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Christian parents beware

    My son brought the book home as required reading and it looked like a great read. And so it is! A very interesting, well spun story. However, the author purposely dethrones Jesus as the Son of God by mentioning him as a mere man just like other great men who have lived on this earth. We need to be careful to know what our children are being 'taught' even in fun and intriguing literature.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    A Waste of Time

    I read this book for a school assignment in sixth grade, and found it very confusing and hard to follow. I'm all for fantasy, but when it's this far-fetched and complex, it gets a bit ridiculous. I may have enjoyed it more had I been reading for pleasure, but we had to answer stance questions, and it was extremely difficult to pull answers out of the text. If you aren't in the mood to interpret, I wouldn't recommend this book.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1465 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74