Customer Reviews for

Write Great Fiction - Plot & Structure

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    Great Book to use when planning your story!

    I've read plenty of books on plotting and this one by James Scott Bell is the best. You will refer to this again and again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    In a class by itself

    ´╗┐Over the years, I¿ve acquired a sizeable number of books on writing. Most were read, then passed along. Some remain on my bookshelf, to be consulted when needed and loaned out to those I trust to return them. And then there are the select few I keep all to myself. Plot & Structure is one of those. James Scott Bell leads the reader through the intricacies of plotting in a clear, easy-to-follow style that is as inspiring as it is informative. Buy a copy, read the material and work through the exercises. If you plan to loan it out, buy two. Whatever you do, keep a copy for yourself. You¿ll refer to it again and again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Very good book!!!!

    I'm a new full-time wirter starting out as i'm working on a graphic novel, along with How To Write Killer fiction, this book will be the cornerstone of my ever growing library of knowledge and research, I've done all the exercises and implimentedn the LOCK system, this book is on point and you should RUN not walk to get this book!!!!!!! P.S. always keep yourself inspired and give youself time to grow....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    If you can only buy one writing book ...

    Can¿t afford a pricey writer¿s conference? Do family responsibilities keep you from traveling? No problem. James Scott Bell¿s latest book is the perfect solution. Like a week-long writing course, Bell covers it all in easy-to-read chapters. From the Top 20 Ways to Get Hundreds of Plot Ideas to Stretching the Tension, I¿d recommend Plot & Structure to beginning writers for its soup-to-nuts approach, but it¿s also a must-read for veterans. The advice is timeless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Practical guide for Any Writer--Beginner to Multi-published

    Bell's PLOT AND STRUCTURE has been added to my collection of books that I consult when I'm planning a new book or series. I have just used it and will again and again. I love his use of acronyms like LOCK approach to plotting. L=Lead, O=Objective C=Confrontation and K=Knockout--intriguing, no? And useful, yes!!! Plot and Structure takes on the old is it the characters or the plot that makes a story interesting and tells the truth--its both-together--impacting each other. I also enjoyed his wide variety of examples from current and classic fiction. Well done. I highly recommend this to any writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Excellent Writing Resource!

    I'm not partial to many writing books, they are bogged down in facts, and not that helpful. This is an excellent exception. Mr. Bell has the ability to break down plot into understandable steps, and he gives new writers hope -- and seasoned professionals tips to take their writing to the next level. Excellent resource, you won't regret this one, and you won't be lending it out, you'll tell writer friends to 'get their own!' Kristin Billerbeck, author of 'What a Girl Wants'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    The Holy Grail for Fiction Writers

    After ten years of college, decades in the business, and workshops too numerous to mention, I have finally encountered what I was certain would never exist ¿ an entertaining and eminently readable book that can actually teach the craft of writing a good commercial novel. James Scott Bell¿s Plot and Structure, from Writers Digest Books, does clearly and coherently what most fiction how-tos do not ¿ moves beyond the bricks-and-mortar of language to the blueprint of compelling and saleable plot. And what makes this even better is the book¿s upbeat tone, its tugging and insistent you can-can-do-this style; I defy you to read the first twenty pages without feeling compelled to write a novel. This book has earned a permanent recommendation in my workshop reading lists; I have never read a better how-to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    A New Fan

    As a novelist who tends to write by the ¿seat of my pants,¿ I approached Jim Bell¿s, Plot & Structure,with fear and trembling and was pleasantly surprised to find it one of the most practical and readable how-to-books I've ever read. Nothing about this book is difficult to understand. Stimulating, entertaining, and chock full of great ideas, I expect it to become a favorite, well-worn companion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4