Customer Reviews for

Write That Book Already!: The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Writing Instructions for Beginners and Veterans

    Write That BOOK Already
    The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now
    Sam Barry and Kathi Kamen Goldmark ©2010
    Adams Media
    ISBN 978-1-60550-147-5 (p-book)
    ISBN 978-1-4495-0710-6 (e-book)
    Includes Appendix I :Beloved Books of Famous Author
    Appendix II The Life Cycle of a Book
    Appendix III Glossary of Publishing Terminology


    With wit and clarity, the authors discuss the realities of writing and publishing. They are honest about the difficulties, but also encourage writers to persevere. They know that to be a writer you must read, read, read, learn effective methods and practice, practice, practice.

    Known as the Author Enablers, Barry and Kamen explore an editors life, how books are chosen for publication and, marketing and publicity demands. They write about the pros and cons of self publishing and editing as well as other important basic issues.

    A particularly helpful book for beginning writers, more experienced authors can also learn new information from Write That BOOK Already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    A nice overview for someone unfamiliar with the writing/publishing process.

    In many ways, a lot of writing books offer the same advise. And while I don't think this stands out from that formula, it's a nice overview of the whole process and a reality-check-lite for the curious and beginner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    okay

    it seemed to drag out but it was okay

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Owls of gretiel

    Owls of gretiel by Dylan

    Killey the graet horned owl watched as the Vunnders and Garths foght. Garths were wining 1,000 owls to 500 owls.
    Finally after many fighting the mighty Garths won. Killey went down to congradlate. Thanks said Liter from the flame colony.
    So how will we destroy the Sanjares? Asked faller an owlet.
    Well will come from behind and- no time for strtgiy. Boomed Ratear. The king of the garths. Liter go back to the flame colony O.K. 7 days later... Narthy get to the flame colony get all the help we can get. Said Ratear BOOM!!!!!!!! HALEY sir Haleys dead no i am Sanjares no clang Killey had killed the evil Sanjares. The end.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    A Plate of Cold, Sweet Revenge

    A Plate of Cold, Sweet Revenge
    by L&K


    The air was filled with the sound of mourning. My fallen brother's dead body lay in the middle of the clearing, while the other members of the Tribe of Flying Eagles circled around him, as if trying to speak with Silver King one last time. But Silver King would never move again.
    Anger burned within me—an unquenchable fire that was devouring my heart, urging me onward to take up arms, to track down my brother's killer, to plunge my spear down their throat and to fling their body aside in triumph...
    "Running Deer!" a voice suddenly said, breaking through my thoughts. I looked up, startled, to see my best friend staring at me anxiously. Fallen Petal frowned, worry shining in her dark eyes. She wore a beautiful robe made of fox skins, and her sleek black hair was pinned up, as usual, while I always wore mine down.
    "Are you going to place a gift in Silver King's grave?" Fallen Petal asked me. It was tradition of our Tribe to place momentos in honor of the dead in their final resting place, which they would hopefully use when their Spirit had traveled on to the Endless Forest.
    "There's only one thing I will lay beside my brother," I said in a low tone, my voice masked with malice. Hatred shone in my eyes as I added in the same deadly tone, "A blade with the blood of Silver King's murderer."
    Fallen Petal gasped, her eyes wide with shock. "Running Deer, you wouldn't. Not more death!!"
    I glared at her, and replied as I stood up, "Murderers deserve to die. I will not rest until I have avenged Silver King." Ignoring Fallen Petal's protests, I stormed off to find my horse, Sayriea, and my owl.
    I came to my hut—which Silver King, my younger sister Saeywyg, our mother Golden Stream, our father Brouvyk, and I had shared—and found Sayriea waiting there. Her beautiful gray coat shone in the sunlight, and I smiled as the mare fondly nickered a greeting.
    "Running Deer—" Fallen Petal said, as I pulled on a glove over my right arm I had woven out of leather and foxhide.
    "You can't do this!!" Ignoring her, I shouldered my bow made of a fallen oak branch, and my quiver of stone-tipped arrows. I grabbed My spear, and turned to look for my owl.
    "What would Golden Stream think? Brouvyk? Yellow Hawk?" I whistled, a my brown horned owl, Bronze Feather, flew over and rested upon my gloved hand. The horned owl screed a hello, and I smiled to myself. Fallen Petal was making a fuss over nothing—Golden Stream and Brouvyk would be proud that Silver King's murderer was dead—at my hands. Even our Tribe leader, Yellow Hawk, would be proud.
    I got onto Sayriea, and turned to finally face Fallen Petal. A single tear was falling down her cheek.
    "Don't be sad," I said. "I will bring you the body of Silver King's murderer. You will see."
    "Silver King wouldn't want this!" Fallen Petal argued, her voice turning angry. "You know he wouldn't!! You sure this isn't about trying to impress someone?!"
    I froze at her comment. "This isn't about impressing Flying Wolf," I thought firmly. "This is about avenging Silver King."
    "You can't stop me," I said aloud. "They must pay."
    Without waiting for a response, I lunged Sayriea into action, and the gray mare sped off, Bronze Feather following. I didn't turn to look back as we galloped into the woods.
    I WILL find Silver King's murderer.
    There's no turning back now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Winners

    (Sorry i hvent been on my nook died and i couldnt find my charger.) 1st: A plate of cold, sweet revenge. 2nd: Owls of greitel. 3rd: jaysoar was gonna write a story but he would of gotten someplace. Ok next contest at 'writing fever'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    great book

    Great advice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1