BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Writing: A User's Manual: A practical guide to planning, starting and finishing a novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    The Anomaly Prologue

    Searchlights flash in the musty darkness. The cold concrete walls reverberate with cries of "Xavier! Xavier where are you?" I am not afraid; they will not find me. I am smarter than them, I am smarter than most people. That's what I heard the scientists tell the old woman back at the Care Facility. They must have forgotten my "superhuman" senses (courtesy of The Human Genom (HUGE) Project. Memories from the past eight years torment me, expanding until they swallow me in their Stygian depths. - Joshua Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Ahniltian

    This is sorrta copied off of where young justice left of . There are not countinueing it . Wahh . "Savage had just shook hands with analatiin" . Aqualad rembered . Miss Matian kythed to Superboy . Meet me at my uncles house tonight . Superboy nodded . Nightwing snapped at him but Superboy didnt notice . He was to busy thinking of how great it would be . Artimis sat cylrying iver the death if her husband Wally . Meghan floated over to her . She wiced at something . Artmis had said I dont need the comfort of a mtian . Aretimis was sorry idmentyly . Nightwing yelled Ni ones listeing . Barbra stood up . Exept for batgirl . Come on . Be gentle . Wondergirl and Dick we kissing . Nifhtwing said Ahem . They broke apart embarssed . Nightwing quit and left . Everyone went on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    To candycrazy

    Ur story was good, but your copywriting Erin Hunter. Ur story is basically a cross between Bluestars Prophecy and the Power of Three series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    S.K.

    Thanksh. ^~^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    The Night part one

    I studied the area around me. My cobalt blue eyes quickly adjusting to the moonless night. A sigh escaped my lips. 'No danger. Good.' I thought to myself. I put the silver and ebony dagger away and stood passing unseen into a small building by the name of The Nights Own it was said o be mainly for werewolves and vampyres. I shuddered, I jumped as hands clasped my shoulders. My hand went towards my weapon as I turned.
    <P>"Dimitri! You scared me half to death." I shouted as he grinned. He shrugged running a han through slightly messy hair.
    <P>"Well uh... Happy Halloween my love." He replied meekly. I laughed and lightly kissed him as we sat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    The Statue

    Noone knew what it was supposed to be. Noone knew where it came from. At exactly 12:00 AM, Jan. 2, 2013, an odd statue did appear. AND EVERYONE DIED? The end ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    To creater of contest

    Helpful tip. Its spelled writing not writEing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    The Blood Mark

    I sat in the quiet moor, thinking. Today was the shepping, the day where one girl's and one boy's name are drawn to compete in the Blood Marks.
    It was the year 2701, and the government decided on EVERYTHING, from how many children a couple could have, to how much food someone could have in their house.
    We lived in a territory that stories say was used to be called Europe.
    This Europe is now called Guatemala, and we live under a cruel dictator.
    "Hey Abby." My friend, Joseph, said coming up from behind me. "You worried about the Shepping?" "I'm worried before every Shepping." "Well, our names have obviously not been picked," Joseph said. "I miss Tara," I sighed. Tara, my older cousin, was in the Blood Mark two years ago, and didn't win. "Yeah. I miss my older bro." "You know what time it is?" I asked. The government's reasonless rules prevent girls from wearing watches. "1:00." "We gotta go!" I cried, standing up and running home. "The Shepping starts at 3."
    I stood in the street in my best dress. Nervous.
    "Welcome to the 10th annual Shepping. The Blood Marks, as I shall remind everyone, are the punishment forced upon the commoners as a sign of dominince." A light haired lady in a suit started. "I am Janice Seirs, the official territory 9 Shepping drawer. The Blood Mark is a series of games where two different children fight to the death. The weapons that are available are daggers and bows and arrows. Now, the boys drawing first." Ms. Seirs announced, standing behind a bowl with the label "boys". "And the boy is... Harry Leivield." A tall, blonde haired 15 year old walked up to the front. "And now girls." She closed her eyes, and plunged her hand into the bowl. "And the girl is," I held my breath, "Abby Terintion." I walked up to the front. "These are territory 9's competitors." Two guards walked up to me and Harry. They dragged us of to a shiny black car and pushed us in.
    I walked into the stadium, my bow and arrow in hand. It was my first compitition. A girl with straight caramel colored hair walked in the other side. We shook hands, then went to oppisite ends. "The rules are: the match can only last to up to 12 hours. The one who kills the other wins." I closed my eyes, and shot my arrow. I kept shooting until I heard a cry, and saw her dead. One round, done. 9 more to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Prophecy of the Silver Dragon. Part one

    It was the year 4978, and the goverment was corrupt, led by a drunkard and woman chaser. Everything was being banned, even food. My closest friend, Yanrio, was sick of being hungry all the time, and not being warm. Coal, oil, gas, and wood had all been banned, but the president, or king as he was called, was using it to light his own houses. So when Yanrio had told me to meet him at 12 at night in the town garden, l was curious and went. So here l was, crouched down behind a statue of the previous president, and waiting in the dark. It was summer, so the night was warmish, and l was able to stay comfortable. As l waited, l had time to reflect on a few things. Yanrio was 19, about five years older then me, but we still got along. We were teased alot, because we were basically inseperable, and because l was a girl, and he a boy. But we paid this teasing no mind, and had some exciting adventures. Our parents didn't care about our friendship, as long as we stayed out of serious criminal activities. We lived next door to each other, and either spent the day at his house or mine. School had been banned, so there were thousands of teens and children swarming the streets. I was jolted out of my thinking as Yanrio arrived and tugged my arm. "You're here, good," he whispered, pulling me along behind him to the bushs. "What is this all about?" i asked, following. "I found a way to break into the storehouses and get what we need! Look!" He held out his hand, and in the palm there lay a chunk of coal. I gasped. "You seriously broke into the warehouses?!" I hissed. Yanrio nodded. "There is a trap door in the back of the warehouse, in the abandoned part," he replied, tucking the coal into his pocket. "You idiot! Don't you know that the Silver Dragon is the one who's gonna break into the warehouses! Not you!" Yanrio looked stony. "Maybe l AM the Dragon," he said quietly. (If anyone likes this, l'll post the rest of it at another book. ~lnkheart.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    STORY

    Please read mine at 'Red Sunshine' all res!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Erikas story

    My story is at 'happy horses' res one part two is coming tonight at result three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The Story of My Life :::::::::Chapter Two:::::::::

    The crackling sound became louder as whatever-it-was came closer & closer to where Clark & i were standing. As we looked 'round to see where "it" would come out from, i saw a shadow moving & pointed it out to Clark. He used his X-ray vision to see who it. I watched his experession to see if i could figure out who it was. I saw Clark's face pale. "Who is it?" I asked worriedly. "Johan." He replied. I felt all the blood drain from my face. "Is he the one who set up that ring of kryptonite & then froze you?" I asked fearfully. "Yes." He replied grimly. I shuddered, wondering, 'if he could overpower Clark, what could he do to BOTH of us?' I was yanked out of my thoughts as a large branch snapped loudly & Johan stepped into view. "Well, well, well. Looks like the cat caught two mice at play while he was away." He sneered. He stepped closer to me & touched my arm. I shivered & he gripped my arm tightly. "I missed you Shauna." Clark's eyes were blazing furiously. "Don't you touch her." He said angrily. He grabbed Johan's hand to pull it off my arm. "Hu-uh-uh." He said, taking a chunk of kryptonite from his pocket. Instantly Clark & i became weaker. He held it in Clark's face, causing Clark to fall to his knees. Johan then turned to me with it, knocking me flat on my back. Then, to my immense anger, he pulled out a rod made completely of kryptonite & began beating Clark with it. I whispered a special word & became invisible. When i was a good distance away but still within stone throwing range, i found a nice big rock & threw it straight at his head. It hit him right square at the base of his neck. But what happened next was somthing that would haunt me for years to come. As soon as te rock hit Johan's neck, his head bent at an akward angle & he fell to the ground, dead. I ran up to Clark, gasping & stopping short as i neared the kryptonite rod. I somehow managed to kick it a fair distance away from us. I turned to Clark. "You okay?" I asked, concerned. It was needless concern because with the kryptonite out of range, his body was healing itself like it usually did. "Yeah, i'm fine. You?" He replied. "Never better." I joked, pointing to Johan's lifeless body. "What say we get back to civilization, Smallville, Kansas & your farm, huh? Sound good?" "It sounds like a great idea." He grabbed my hand & we sped off. %END OF CHAPTER TWO%P.S. I forgot to mention, Clark's eyes are dark green, not blue. Sorry about the mistake. *%& S.B.*%&

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    The auther

    Review for prolouge of last night series: I like it! It was way too short though! Make it seven pages! Its sounds interesting! Review for chapter one: it is awesome! I liked mostly everything except missing puntuation markings and words spelled wrong like prophecy. Its p r o p h e c y with out spaces and not p r o f i c e or what ever you spelled it like. Great story! The auther(Stonestar)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    The Last Light - Chapter 1

    It was six moons since Fawnpelt heard the profice. Three kits were born Flamekit Rabbitkit and Snowkit. "Flamekit, Flamekit open your eyes we want to go out side but we cant until your ready," complaind Rabbitkit. "Hush Rabbitkit she'll open her eyes when shes ready," meowed her mother Silvertail. "Well she'll never become a warrior if she doesent open them soon," Snowkit said. Warrior! For the first time she stretched open her eyes. 'Wow the nursrey is huge' thought Flamekit. "Come on lets explore now," Rabbitkit said excitedly. "Where are you three going," their mothers voice stoped them. "Outside," Flamekit said turning around to see her mother. "You've opened your eyes so i gess u can go but stay together," Silverpelt meowed. "Ok," they all said and they raced out the nursrey. Flamekits eyes widened as she saw the camp there were warriors everywhere. "Where are Stonekit and Dewkit," Flamekit asked remembering the other kits names. "Right behind you," a voice said. Flamekit spun around she was surprised at how much bigger the other kits were. "Does your mother know your here," asked Stonekit. "Of course she knows," Rabbitkit snaped. "Do you want us to show you around," asked Dewkit. "No we want to explore by our selfs," Snowkit said and with that they walked away. "Look at that," Flamekit said pointing at a cave coverd in lichen "its a den." They walked twored the den. "Its the leaders den," said a cat near them. "Oh does that mean we cant go in side," asked Rabbitkit disapointly. "Im afrade so oh by the way im Fawnpelt the medicine cat," she said. "Oh well bye," Flamekit said. Then somthing caught her eye. It was a tunnle cover in brambles. She walked twored the tunnle wondering what it was. Then out of nowhere a huge fox jumped out. (Plz rate in u like it ill rite more - Candycrazy)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1