BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Writing Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both...
Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both happiness and disaster. Various pieces of writing presented by the different members create another textual layer, alongside the clever dialogue and an alternating point of view. The final events spiral out from one another, forcing us to examine the boundaries between life and art, as well as the consequences of ambition. I highly recommend this as a summer read.

posted by KLOKO on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline...
The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline. Everyone in the book discussion I was in had very strong feelings and very different feelings about scenes and characters in the book. This all makes a good book.

posted by pen21 on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both happiness and disaster. Various pieces of writing presented by the different members create another textual layer, alongside the clever dialogue and an alternating point of view. The final events spiral out from one another, forcing us to examine the boundaries between life and art, as well as the consequences of ambition. I highly recommend this as a summer read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Excellent Read

    This book is a must for all avid readers. The writing style alone is enough to endorse this book. I look forward to many more stories from this author!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    A summer beach read.

    This book about a group of writers was an interesting read. Some of them you may hate, and others you will love. The preface was immediately engaging, but the story had less to do with that than an examination of the relationships, and how we all deal with them.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Writers' Circle

    This story of passion, ambition and betrayal within a exclusive writers group was an absorbing summer read. I'm giving it to my best friend for her birthday.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This compelling novel delivers more than it promises. It's not only a window into the secret, behind-the-scenes world of writers but an exploration of how groups function and what can happen when one member betrays another. I stayed up all night to finish this novel and haven't stopped thinking about it since.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Terrific Book

    Corinne Demas has written an engrossing novel about ambitions, mores, jealousies and passions as seen through the eyes of the six members of The Leopardi Circle, a New England writing group and those close to them.

    The most fascinating member is enigmatic, selfish, seductive Gillian, an already famous poet who is being considered for a Pulitzer Prize. Bernard, who turns out a well-received historical biography once every ten years, is the oldest member of the group. Quick of tongue, he is able to shred the writing of the group's two other men, telling Nancy, the newest member, that Chris, a successful thriller writer, is "hopelessly seeking literary approval." It takes even fewer words for Bernard to dismiss Adam, the group's youngest member who has been working on his first novel for years. "He doesn't signify," Bernard says to Nancy, a medical writer who is working on a novel based on her father's early life. Rounding off the group is Virginia, a well-known historian and Bernard's first wife, the group's peace maker and most supportive member.
    These are real people, well-developed characters that hold the reader's attention and will linger in the mind. I've worked with a Gillian, not a poet but a conniving and duplicitous colleague, and I've been on committees with a Virginia, gifted at consensus-building.
    Love, hate, marriage, birth, death, infidelity, betrayal -- Corinne Demas smoothly weaves the complicated strands of her characters' lives into an absorbing novel that sustains the reader's interest throughout.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The PERFECT Circle is THE WRITING CIRCLE!

    Discovering Corinne Demas first through her fabulous memoir, ELEVEN STORIES HIGH, and then being charmed with her poetry and many children's books, such as TWO CHRISTMAS MICE, Corinne Demas never fails to please her readers. THE WRITING CIRCLE is no exception. Drawing from her own experience in writers' groups, teaching her craft,and writing so many wonderful books,Corinne Demas gives readers a fascinating look at the literary world that "outsiders" are normally not privy to.

    THE WRITING CIRCLE leads readers through an interesting character study of a group of writers and from there expands to include their families and shows how their complex personal lives intertwine to produce complications,romance,mystery, and betrayal. Set in western Massachusetts,Demas's familiar home base,the narrative is told using a different point of view in each chapter,alternating between the various characters. I found this to be the perfect way to follow the story by looking at all sides of the issues and intricacies of the characters. The Leopardi Circle is the name of the writing group that meets to share parts of their current work, be it fiction, poetry, or non-fiction. The purpose being to gain constructive feedback that might improve each writer's work.

    The main character,Nancy Markopolis, is the newest member of the group and is tentative at first as she listens to the more experienced writers, but she soon overcomes that as she learns more about each member. Hers is a novel of fiction which is drawn from an early memory of her beloved father and is based on his early life and in a way,pays homage to him. Her personal life is in a good place right now and little does she suspect what this new association will do to tear her dreams to shreds.

    Researching George Frideric Handel,is Bernard,an overweight, unrestrained biographer who actually introduces Nancy to the group. Bernard is so wrapped up in himself that he is rather oblivious to the complicated emotions and feelings of other around him. Bernard's ex-wife,Virginia,is a novelist and the comforting maternal figure of the group. She is always there to offer sympathy and compassion to the group when friction occurs.

    In the two single males,we find Adam,the youngest of the group,and one that Virginia has taken under her wing. Adam is a melancholy and naive character suffering from unrequited love. Chris is the author of successful thrillers. He restrains himself as he tries to maintain his relationship with his two young sons that are being played as pawns by his self-centered wife in a custody battle.

    Finally, there is the poet, Gillian, a possible Pulitzer Prize candidate, who is the famous writer in the group, and whom everyone values for her work. However, some have had other relationships with Gillian while another yearns for more. Gillian's condescending personality and inexhaustible egotism drives the group mad as well as steers the plot toward disaster.

    THE WRITING CIRCLE draws the reader into the lives of the characters, and twists and turn just enough to make one suspect where things are heading only to be shocked by such a startling and stunning conclusion. Corinne Demas totally had me for the entire novel and then absolutely knocked me off my feet with the ending. DO NOT look at the last page, PLEASE, as the pleasurable build up to the climax of the book is a journey you will take, in my opinion, in one sitting, as you are so drawn in and you can't put down THE WRITING

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    A Literary Study of Group Dynamics

    We're all members of various groups. The Writing Circle is a well written, literary study of a closed group, its members and other persons impacted by the group when one group member betrays another member. The book provides a very thought provoking character study. Its details have lingered with me in the 6+ weeks since I finished it. Although I only infrequently re-read books, this is one which I will most likely re-read in order to capture all the nuances that suddenly clicked together for me at the end.

    I highly recommend this book & look forward to reading Ms. Demas' work in the future.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Corinne Dumas entered my heart and mind

    When I first received The Writing Circle I believed it was going to be a typical story with a typical plotline, it didn't take too long before I realized this was not a normal novel , two days passed and I had developed an addiction to this book. The way the author achieves to transmit characters and their personalities and still manage to have a perfect storyline is something that only a small group ever manage to do.
    I was impressed by the way the story develops and I recommend it for one of those night readings when you are already relaxed and ready to go to bed The writing circle will definitely make you enjoy your life and your friends. If you like stories that remind you of who you are, the way your life is going , and pretty much every day living, the writing circle is the best choice!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Great read!

    Fluidly and vividly drawn, The Writers' Circle explores the dangerous liaisons and collisions between a group of talented writers who share more than just their poetry and prose. Subtly but provocatively, Demas reveals the porous moral boundaries between life and art, and intentional and unintentional consequences. A great read that provides much food for thought as it comes to a stunning conclusion.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    An Insider's View of a Writing Circle

    Experiencing this insider's view of an elite writing circle feels like a forbidden pleasure. Its fascinating to follow the private lives of its members, especially that of the alluring, brilliant and ambitious poetess, Jillian - an unforgettable character.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought provoking. Good story for discussion

    What if you were asked to become a member of a unique cast of writers and you were a little on the hesitant side? that's exactly where Nancy finds herself, but the story isn't just about the writers it expands on to each of their lives, loves, disappointments and indiscretions. Yes they are human and definitely not all angels but one character in particular is villianous. Find out who..

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Complex and Thought Provoking

    The Writing Circle gives the reader a glimpse into the lives of six writers in the Leopardi Circle. The book examines the relationships of the writers and their respective life choices. How does the past influence the future? Can the characters move past their own self-absorbing behavior and come to the aide of a fellow writer?

    I enjoyed the complexity of the relationships and found myself wanting to learn more about each of the characters and their development or lack there of. The characters, especially Gillian, have stayed with me long after I finished the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Good Read.

    This is only the second book I've read for the First Look, but I enjoyed reading it as much as the previous selection. Like Nancy, who knows exactly where her father will end up at the end of her story, so Corinne Demas makes sure at the beginning of the novel that the reader draws the necessary conclusions and knows exactly where her story is going as well. However, the outcome of the story is not as important as the journey Demas takes the reader on to get there. It is a journey of friendship, discovery, and betrayal. It is a journey of seeking retribution and it makes for a very interesting read. The outcome of the story is not as important as the journey, and in some ways the ending seems to be lacking, but Corinne Demas's debut novel is a good read nonetheless.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Beautifully Written

    I had the opportunity to read The Writing Circle with the First Looks Book Club. In TWC, we follow Nancy into the Leopardi Circle and meet the writers there, learning an unusual assorment of intimate details about their lives, and watching their personal lives intertwine, impacting one another in ways reaching farther than one would expect. Demas writes beautifully as she reveals these characters to us bit by bit, layer by layer, pulling us toward a stunning, emotional conclusion. I found that the characters and the moral questions raised remained with me long after putting the book down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Writing Circle by Corinne Demas

    This is the story of the six members of the Leopardi Circle, a group of writers who get together to read and critique their work. As in any group, some members are more supportive than others and one is absolutely horrible. The author effectively explores the topics of loyalty, jealousy and friendship and the repercussions of greed and self-centeredness. The prologue of the book really drew me into the novel and kept me reading to find out how the threads of the story come together. The story is told through the eyes of each of the characters, and while some readers might be thrown by the shift in perspective from chapter to chapter, I thought it allowed the reader to get more from each of the characters than you would from a straight third of first person narrative. I enjoyed the plot and pacing of the novel, however, there was no big surprise for me at the end of the book. The one big dissapointment for me with this book is the ending. I do not think there was any closure to the novel at all. We know what happens, but we don't know the consequences of that action. Also, there were several secondary storylines throughout the novel that are not resolved. For me, the book was an enjoyable read, beautifully written, but more closure or an epilogue would have made it better for me. I would recommend this book, but would caution that the ending may not give you the closure you would expect to find. I would also recommend this as a book club selection as there are lots of great discussion topics throughout the novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Writing Circle

    "The Writing Circle", by Corinne Demas is a journey down a path which has many hidden twists and turns. When you first begin to read this novel, you are introduced to a cast of characters which in many instances, would not be together except for their love of the written word. Each is a writer/author and each is dedicated to their own personal writing styles.
    You will also find that in many cases, these characters show traits of infidelity as well as unscrupulous tendencies towards each other and towards those around them. This group has formed a Writing Circle, which meets on Sunday evenings to discuss their current writing ventures for critiques and encouragement from the group, however there is at least one member who is there to further her own agenda. That person is Gillian a well known poet. She is also a stepmother to Paul a troubled young man, now living with his father and stepmother (Gillian). He appears to have no friends and is torn between wanting to stay with his father and moving back with his mother.
    The main character, at least in my opinion is Nancy, a writer of novels. She is now writing a novel, which may be based on her father, but is probably a fictional work. There are also a number of other characters involved with the story and each has their own hang up and desires dealing with their occupations and preoccupations.
    Needless to say, Demas, takes the reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions as well as many twists and turns. Just when you think you have the plot figured out, another turns throws you into a dizzying spin.

    Bravo to Corinne Demas for a wonderful suspenseful novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted more....

    The Writing Circle is the story of a group of authors in a small New England town, their friends and families, and how they interact with each other.

    The author does an excellent job of brining her characters to life and getting the reader to care about them.

    However the surprising ending left me wanting to read more and wondering about the fate of some of them.

    Overall I enjoyed the book and heartily recommend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Writing Circle

    The Leopardi Circle is comprised of Bernard, Virginia, Gillian, Adam and Chris, but they are down one member. Nancy is invited to join the group and quickly finds she hasn't been properly prepared for their discussions. As they meet, different members come prepared to read their work. These snippets of writing invite the reader to understand the person behind the pen. How will each take the literary criticism sent their way? Issues of fidelity, trust, and confidence fill the book, as Ms. Demas tells us of her character's lives and loves. The reader will meet other family members and see how they truly interact with others away from the circle. What happens when they find that someone can't be trusted? How does the book's beginning tie into its ending?

    I was privileged to receive a copy of this book through Barnes and Noble's First Look program. This is the first e-book we have discussed, and I had fun reading it on my Nook. The beginning drew me as the characters and story took shape, with the story building to a climax that surprised and saddened me. I recommend this book to individuals and groups alike. There is much to discuss here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Talented Writer

    I was fortunate to read The Writing Circle with The First Look bookclub from Barnes and Noble's website. First of all, I would like to say that Corrine Demas is a very talented author. Writing Circle has a lot of characters and she does well with their character development. I find that I am still thinking about the characters even though I read the book over a month ago. The first part of the book is her introduction to all the characters and the Leopardi Writing Circle. It's in the 2nd part of the book where the story takes off and you are taken on a ride watching the characters play out their roles. If you enjoy reading a book about friendship and betrayal with characters you love and love to hate, then I would suggest reading The Writing Cirlce. I am looking forward to reading more of Corrine's books. Her writing style is supurb!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6